We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great vacation spot!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wyndham Reef Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East End
Certificate of Excellence
Bonney Lake, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great vacation spot!”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

We just returned from a wonderful week at The Reef. Our room was on the 3rd floor as requested and very clean. Beautiful view - just like the pictures! We loved the uncrowded beach, the daily activity schedule and the bar/restaurant where you can literally eat on the beach with your feet in the sand, just steps from the surf. The staff here and at the White Sands Water Sports were helpful in planning outings. The 7:00 Stingray boat trip is a MUST - don't go later in the day when the hoards arrive! We were disappointed in the snorkeling right on site - much better at other spots around the island and on the White Sands snorkeling trip. Only other con is the small bathroom. It worked OK for the 2 of us, but for a room that can accommodate 4, it is way too small and would be very inconvenient since the shower, toilet and sink are all in one tiny room with very little counter space. Kitchen is spacious and well stocked with basic cookware. All in all, it was a wonderful anniversary getaway. We would stay here again in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Love the 3rd floor for the best views of the turquoise ocean! If you want quiet, ask for one far fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barb S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmilyR_TheReef, Manager at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Barb S,

Thank you for your review on theReef Resort in Grand Cayman. We are very happy to read that you had a fantastic vacation, that you found our services and amenities well suited for your needs and overall that you really enjoyed your stay. A special thank you for mentioning the White Sand Water Sports team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Greetings from your friends at theReef.

Emily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,606 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    820
    527
    173
    58
    28
See reviews for
483
783
39
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (535)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Staten island ny
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014

I just returned from the reef where I got married. We got married on the beach and it was perfect. I do not have any complaints! Linda, the wedding planner was excellent and we did not have to worry about a thing! She made our day wonderful and relaxing! A perfect day in our book!

The all inclusive deal was definitely worth it as well! The food was really good and so were the drinks! At times service was a little slow at the bar but just remember they are on island time!

Cathy, Diana and Tyris at the concierge were also excellent! They helped to book our large party of 35 with any activities we wanted and helped us figure out our flight situations.

I had an amazing time at the reef relaxing and getting married. It could not have gone any better! Thank you all!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Carinagiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmilyR_TheReef, Manager at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Carinagiles,

Thank you for your review on theReef Resort and again our Congratulations on your wedding. We are very happy that we were able to create lasting memories and ensure you had the perfect wedding day. A special thanks for mentioning our colleagues who went the extra mile to ensure everything was organised for you and your guests.

Once again congratulations and we hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.

Greetings from your friends at theReef Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Booked as a timeshare exchange, we came all excited for this 1st time trip to GC! We knew we are on the other side of the island, so car rental is a must!

First impressions - great beachfront property! We stayed for a week and like others have said, it was adequate - rooms, staff did great. Houskeeping on tues and thurs, just to get new towels. There's not much we can do about the beach being un-swimmable. And food and drinks at the resort was a given. We cooked most days and ate out for dinner.

They lost out on the amenities as everything was being charged.

WIFI -Some people don't care for internet access but this is the first time I had to pay for wifi. Being out on the farther end of the island, it would help alot for driving directions, And all of my reservations I needed to check through emails, I was bummed to have to pay $12 per day! (There was an option to pay $40 a week) By midweek, I learned that the Google maps app had built in GPS, it was helpful to our daily trips to georgetown (where the roads are super confusing if read off a generic map) and to my favorite swimming hideout Rum point (just 15-20 minutes away!)

Overall, we got by! Got tourist information through the flyers, and by asking around and because I had a few leads through tripAdvisor before we arrived. (Whew) Really plan ahead which ones you would really love to try. The East side has ALOT to offer as far as food - Eagle Rays Dive bar and Grill, Tukka, Capt Herman's for local fish fry, Over the Edge on the way to Rum Point! And yes, they have a nearby small supermarket to get you through the night. If you can hold off on the bigger Foster's by the airport!

Props for efforts to liven up the place with BBQ Mondays, Karaoke Nights, and Outdoor Movie nights, especially there's really nothing much to do at night! Staff were very helpful and polite.

But none of this was enough to dislike Grand Cayman! Their beaches were free! Hop off to check out the Blowholes? Hangout with sting-rays? Catch a starfish and pet the turtles! Local fish fry is to die for! (Capt Herman's fritters!! Tukka!) We will be back but switch out and skip the car rental at the 7 mile beach area next time!

Room Tip: 1st floor rooms are better as far as access to beach, but upper rooms offer great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Krizia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmilyR_TheReef, Manager at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Krizia F,

Thank you for your review of our property and in general your stay in Grand Cayman.

We are glad you were able to discover the island by experience the many beaches and its wonders from turtles, to starfish and our loving stingrays. At the same time we are sorry to hear that you felt our property to be too quiet, we are known for the peace and quiet so our guests can relax and unwind but do appreciate your feedback on our activities as feedback like yours will only help us improve our services and amenities.

Many thanks & greetings from Grand Cayman,

Emily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, Connecticut
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2014

This resort is adequate, but we did not find it to be consistent with the excellent reviews it gets. To begin with, we had called after making our reservation to request a ground floor room which they agreed to. Upon arrival, they had put us in a 2nd floor "upgrade" which was not what we needed. Restaurant is expensive with the slowest service imaginable for very average food. Opt for others that are in the area - Tukka and The Lighthouse instead. Forgot to make up our room one day and all we got when we called the front desk was a pile of fresh towels an hour later - no offer to make up the bed or clean the room. The hot tub is useless - most of the jets don't work or are too weak to move the water at all. Most disappointing was the snorkeling that they claim is right off the beach. As avid, seasoned snorkelers, we found all that is there are patches of sea grass with a few fish. Maybe ok for a beginner, but hardly real snorkeling. Entry from the beach is challenging doe to a very rocky bottom. Much nicer beach up the road at Rum Point. Concierge pushed attending a sales presentation on buying a time share immediately upon arrival, then again the next day even though we were not interested. No free wifi even in the lobby. And the worst was that we were awakened two mornings by hammering or construction sounds in an adjacent unit, both days at around 8:15 am! We would not return to this resort.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pat R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmilyR_TheReef, Manager at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Pat R,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. Please accept my deepest apology for the experience you had due to the noise from the adjacent unit. I apologize for the inconvenience and I'm sorry that it negatively affected your stay. I also apologize that the room upgrade was not satisfactory and that the service you received from our staff fell below your expectations.

We thank you again for your feedback as this can only help us improve and make things better. We are preparing to go through a renovation and we continue to train our staff to make sure we deliver high quality service. I do hope that you give us another chance to change your impression. I am confident that if you returned you would have a more memorable and pleasurable experience.

Best regards,

Emily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

My family of 5 and I stayed at The Reef over the 4th of July weekend. We had a lovely time. The 2 bedroom condo provided ample room for the 5 of us, and we probably could have gotten away with just using the 1 bedroom as the living room has 2 twin murphy beds, however the extra space is always nice.
The balcony on our 3rd floor rooms was awesome and also ample.
The beach is large, secluded, and has walk out snorkeling. You'll want to swim out as soon as possible as it's rocky, maybe bring water shoes.
The food was average and pricey. Fortunately there is a grocery across the street and the kitchen was well equipped.
The heart of this resort is the bar. It's very social and we had a great, if unexpected, time.

After having primarily vacationed in Southeast Asia for the past several years this environment was rather shocking. It's very expensive. The cab ride from one side of the island to the other was US $150, for a family of 5. Food is expensive. Activities are expensive. There is not much to do other than the main attractions (which are all located on the other side of the island) snorkeling, and diving. After 5 days at The Reef, and Grand Cayman I was done.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Liz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmilyR_TheReef, Manager at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Liz A,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on TripAdvisor about theReef Resort. We are very pleased to read that you had a lovely vacation with your family and enjoyed your time with us discovering the underwater world by snorkeling, enjoying the nice views, walks on the beach and the atmosphere at our bar.

Greetings from your friends at theReef Resort!

Emily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freehold
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

My husband and I went to the Grand Caymans for the first time June 21st. When you deposit your week and put in for a trade, you never really know what you are going to get. Well, we were more than happy with the Reef. The location is awesome. Private, peaceful. The rooms are clean. Everyone at the resort was very nice.The beach bar is really nice, good food, good drinks. The beach is beautiful there. And the snorkling right there is awesome. Our main timeshare is Bluebeards beach club in St.Thomas and we loved staying at the Reef as much as Bluebeards. We put it up there with that. We loved the Caymans more than St.Martin,Punta Cana, Bahamas. The snorkling there, and I mean all over the Island was great. Our timeshare is Wyndham and we found out while we were there, that the Reef partnered with Wyndham. That made us so excited. We truely are looking to going back to the Reef. It was a wonderful,Blessed week there. Hope you give it a chance. When some people and even other reviews would say how expensive it is to go there. Well, just budget yourself right and it works out just fine. We had a full kitchen, so we did some meals in. nIt was one of the best vacations my husband and I did.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms. All the rooms are oceanfront. AWESOME !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ShelleyG1018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmilyR_TheReef, Manager at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear ShelleyG1018,

Many thanks for your review on theReef Resort. We are so happy to hear that you had a great experience and received excellent service from all of our team members. We are also very glad you were able to take advantage of the private, peaceful beach with exceptional snorkeling just in front of our resort.

We hope it's not too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Emily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

I finally have a moment to review the Reef Resort. Our trip was the week of May 24-31, 2014. My wife and I celebrated our 20th Anniversary with a trip the Cayman Islands. I am so glad that we picked the Reef Resort on the East end of the Island. Check in was easy and staffers were very accommodating. All the rooms were facing the water. It was quiet and beautiful. We stayed in a one bedroom suite. Perfect for our needs. It had a full kitchen living room w/ hide-away beds, dining area and separate bedroom with king size bed. All very clean and updated. We had the bottom floor which was very convenient not having to take the stairs or the elevator. There is 3 levels. The common areas...pool beach walkways...etc were kept up and maintained everyday. There was never a problem getting a lounge chair or a spot at one of the two pools. The beach bar serves all different kinds of drinks and also has food.

They do have entertainment and something going on every night. Our favorite thing to do was to walk to the dock and lok at the fish...even saw a sea turtle or two. We also did a jet excursion which was awesome. The Jet skis and other rental are located on the the property.

Just a note about the beach: Most of the beach is made up of coral and is great for snorkeling. there are parts that you can go in without swim shoes but I would wear them. I personally liked the beach there.

The food at the Resort was good. I am glad that we did not do the all-inclusive. Only because there are so many great restaurants in the area. There is a food and a liquor store right across the road along with a gift shop and an Italian restaurant ( which was very good).

I do recommend renting a car. Even though you drive on the left (England) you get use to it pretty fast and the price for cars are relatively cheap as compared to taxis and shuttles. We never went to seven mile Beach we stayed mainly on the East end. There was plenty to do within 20 min of this resort.

Looking at all the reviews for this resort I think they are pretty accurate.

Room Tip: I would choose a ground floor room....There isn't much difference in view from the 2nd and 3rd f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jman62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmilyR_TheReef, Manager at Wyndham Reef Resort, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear jman62,

Thank you for your review of theReef Resort, for sharing your experience and opinion which we highly value. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and found our location and amenities well-suited for your needs.

It sounds like you had a great time and we hope to welcome you back soon in the near future.

Greetings from your friends at theReef Resort!

Emily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East End
19.1 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
303 reviews
19.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,302 reviews
18.8 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
598 reviews
19.2 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5,051 reviews
19.0 mi away
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mi...
#7 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Reef Resort

Property: Wyndham Reef Resort
Address: 2221 Queens Highway, PO Box 30865 | Colliers, East End KY1-1800, Grand Cayman (Formerly The Reef Resort, A Wyndham Affiliate)
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > East End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Reef Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Reef Resort is the only ALL BEACHFRONT, ALL SUITE RESORT WITH AN ALL-INCLUSIVE PROGRAM ON GRAND CAYMAN. The white sands of Grand Cayman are your welcome mat and the crystal clear waters are your playground. Since all of our suites are right on the beach, you'll enjoy exploring, playing, snorkeling and diving, or soaking in the beauty just steps outside your door. This East End getaway, far from the crowds, provides a truly serene tropical escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, BookIt.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reef Hotel Grand Cayman
Reef Hotel Grand Cayman
Reef Resort Grand Cayman
Wyndham Reef Resort Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing