We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place for a beach loving family.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wyndham Reef Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in East End
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 5, 2011

Wow! Beautiful ocean and beach! Relaxing atmosphere without a care in the world. I felt very safe with two 'tween' age kids and a young teenage girl. No casinos, drunks, and other typical tourist stuff here. You come here to relax and play in the pools and ocean. Food and service is unobtrusive. If you want to be catered to and pampered go to the Ritz, if you want to be left alone and served only when YOU ask, then this is the place! I cannot wait to go back again. I hope the gaudy development of 7 mile never reaches this part of the island. I also hope that people that love seven mile, cruise ships, wild nightlife and shopping...stay at seven mile. Leave this place to ocean and beach lovers!

Room Tip: Rooms sleep a family of five comfortably.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,706)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,249 - 1,255 of 1,706 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2011

Just returned from a 6 night stay at The Reef. Was nervous about some of the reviews, but ended up having the time of our lives. Beautiful views, relaxing atmosphere, great staff. Cathy at the Concierge desk was terrific. Always willing to help and gave us great advice. We did the All Inclusive plan. Since the Cayman Islands are very, very expensive, I highly recommend the AI plan. Found the food to be very good. Drinks were terrific. Barefoot Man was a lot of fun. Rooms were beautiful. The view of the ocean was breathtaking from the minute you walked in the door. The White Sands guys were always friendly and helpful. The 2 stop snorkel trip was terrific. Most of the wait staff is great. A shout out to Boris and Mikey.The Reef is on the quiet end of the island. After the hustle and bustle of our daily livesie, it was so nice to relax at the Reef. My only complaint is the rocks at the edge of the water. It was very difficult to get into the water. Especially with snorkel fins. Water shoes are a must. If you have children who are too young to snorkel, this may not be the place for you because of the rocks. Timeshare tour was fine. Not high pressure at all. We learned a great deal about the island. Rum Point was nice, but very touristy. We went when a Carnival Cruise ship was in port, so it was very crowded. We rented a car and were glad we did. Pay attention to whether prices are listed in U.S. or CI. You only get 80 cents on the dollar in CI Cant wait to return to The Reef

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MoMo915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2011

This is the first time my family and I went to Cayman Islands and we had a fantastic vacation primarily because of this resort. It was peaceful and away from the noise of the city so if you are looking for a relaxing time this is the place. If you want shiops and restaurants then 7 mile beach may be more to your preference. However, this hotel was great on all measures. Every room has a view of the beach which is fantastic. The staff are very friends and the food at the bar was reasonably priced and great quality. There is also a supermnarket right beside it to allow you to cook whatever you like. If you have the need for a coffe and donut there is a Dunkin Donuts as well...but not exactly the cheapest place. One tip is not to use us$ at the store or donut shop,. Exchange it at the front desk to cayman $ because they give you a MUCH better exchange rate. Failing that, use a credit card since even the card company rate is better.

Also, whether you snorkel or not, I would recommend that you take an excursion on the White Sands tours that runs from their sits. It's about $50 for a 2-3 hour trip and it was abosulutely fantastic. The guys running it are extremely friendly and they cater to all levels (we were beginners).

The only negative I can think about this place is that it is about 45 minute drive from the airport and $100 cab ride. However, that's well worth the price of peace and quiet on your vacation. All we did was sit on the beach, snorkel, swim and reead books. If that is the type of vacation you want then the Reef is the place. Also, the fact that the beach is 1/2 km makes it impossible to ever feel busy. The people who sat on their beach chairs next to us were 100 feet away so everyone had plenty of space.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the centre building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anwar1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2011

Recently my husband & I stayed at the Reef Resort & after reading the reviews I felt I had to put my two cents in. If I stress one thing, it's DO YOUR RESEARCH, the Reef is about 45 min from town on a very quiet part of the island, if that's not your thing, then go to the Seven Mile Beach area where all the traffic & shops are.
While checking out the Reef's web site, I found they offer shuttles to & from the airport (not free) so I contacted the concierge via a form on the web-site, as I had a few other questions too, what I got in response, was a helpful person at the other end who answered all my questions about transfers (we decided to rent a car, glad we did) driving, attractions, spa, snorkeling & more and she sent pictures of the resort that she took "so I would have something to look forward to" her name was Cathy, use her!!!
She signed us up for the sales presentation before we even arrived so the boat to see the Stingrays was free & wouldn't be full & aside from having to wait 15 min while the guy took a smoke (I almost left) it was painless & what we got (Stingray City trip) was worth our time, great boat, lots of fish & the rays are amazing, a "must do".
The rooms are very nice & do face the ocean as promised, housekeeping does a good job as they are clean. The wait & bar staff were reasonably good, Tony was always smiling as were Nick & Mikey, but the curly haired english girl wasn't always helpfull, and seemed annoyed & some of the other older ladies who seemed more interested in sitting on a bar stool than actually helping anyone. Front desk tries, but they too seemed annoyed & unhappy & while they did what was asked, they never smiled, Suzanne was nice though. Maintence was good, but during the day they were slow.
The grounds were nice, pools good, food not bad, but very boring, the continental buffett could use a face lift as it had no variety. Concierge girls & guy were always very friendly, Cathy always knew our names & they were very helpfull with the exception of one skinny girl with long black hair, she was rude to us.
The activities were good from what we saw (we walked past the tie dyeing & it looked popular) & I'm too old for Yoga, but the Welcome Party & orientation were fun & we learned a lot & danced to some good local music, we never bothered with the Barefeet Man but they say he's good. Water sports guys cool, chatted with them a bit but didn't get a chance to take a trip, but they looked like fun.
Overall, this is a good resort, we'll be back in the next year or two depending on airfares, the rooms are clean, the beach is nice, the food was good but boring, & most of the staff were friendly & glad to see you. The place is a hotel & a time share & we were asked to take a tour, but once we said we signed up ahead of time, they backed off. The tour was easy (except having to wait while he smoked) & we're considering it. Front desk was competent, so were maintenence & housekeeping.
Do your reaseach, get discounts from the concierge, make friends with your waiter & bartender, & enjoy what this resort has to offer, you'll be back!

Room Tip: ask ahead of time for
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank silverandblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2011

We have been looking for our speical place and found it here. Great, well-maintained , clean, accompdations. No need to put towels on beach chairs as there are plenty of charis for all. Lots of activities available on the site including, scuba diving, snorkling, swimming with stingrays, tennis, bike riuding, children's activities, nighlly activities including bands with singers and even dancing.

Room Tip: All rooms VERY similar. All have great ocean views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DVDBMDRILEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2011

We're just back from two weeks at The Reef. Although it was a hasty change in plans from Sharm El Sheikh, we couldn't have picked a better place for the family. The accommodation was excellent, the concierge team couldn't have tried harder, and the staff (from front desk to housekeeping) were pleasant and accommodating. The East End location worked well during the holidays, we rented a car from the concierge to travel to Rum Point, also to George Town and the West End.
We booked several dive and snorkel trips directly through the concierge, and they had electronic access to the Red Sail booking system when we needed to make any changes. We can't wait to go back next year!

Room Tip: BA Holidays provided really great room access
See more room tips
Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
Thank Cormacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2011

We stayed for 5 nights at the Reef for a Destination Wedding. We read many of the reviews before going and had a good idea of what to expect. The staff was attentive and fun. Being on the East side of the island makes for a truely relaxing vacation! The food was good at the bar for lunch and the Barefoot Man dinner was good as well. If you want some really amazing food, try Tukka only 5 minutes away. They will even come and pick you up to dine there. Incredible Australian/Caribbean food at Tukka, highly recommend. The beaches were a little rocky so we brought water shoes, the pools and beach chairs were never full. We highly recommend the Reef and we plan on going back soon.

Room Tip: check website 4 deals, early bird/free upgrades
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank blondiestef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East End
19.1 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
511 reviews
19.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,370 reviews
18.8 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#7 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Compass Point Dive Resort
19.2 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5,386 reviews
19 mi away
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mi...
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Reef Resort

Address: 2221 Queens Highway, PO Box 30865 | Colliers, East End KY1-1800, Grand Cayman (Formerly The Reef Resort, A Wyndham Affiliate)
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > East End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in East End
Price Range: $235 - $672 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Reef Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Reef Resort is the only ALL BEACHFRONT, ALL SUITE RESORT WITH AN ALL-INCLUSIVE PROGRAM ON GRAND CAYMAN. The white sands of Grand Cayman are your welcome mat and the crystal clear waters are your playground. Since all of our suites are right on the beach, you'll enjoy exploring, playing, snorkeling and diving, or soaking in the beauty just steps outside your door. This East End getaway, far from the crowds, provides a truly serene tropical escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Wyndham Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reef Hotel Grand Cayman
Reef Hotel Grand Cayman
Reef Resort Grand Cayman
Wyndham Reef Resort Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing