We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but needs work. ”

SeaBreeze Fish & Shell
Ranked #28 of 3,208 Restaurants in Cape Town
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $25
Description: SeaBreeze brings a fresh take on a traditional seafood restaurant, celebrating Cape Town's rich seafood heritage. Find us at 213 Bree Street
Restaurant details
Description: SeaBreeze brings a fresh take on a traditional seafood restaurant, celebrating Cape Town's rich seafood heritage. Find us at 213 Bree Street
Reviewed February 5, 2019 via mobile

It is always good to find a new restaurant
When ever we visit Cape Town.
SeaBreeze is a welcome addition.
The menu changes daily which we loved
But the use of ingredients lacked a little.
To us it seemed that the heavier flavoured fish such as dorado ( mahi mahi ) and swordfish came with the lighter side dishes. Ie salad cuscus lentils etc. The lighter more delicate fish suck as yellowtail, kingklip or mussels came as a curry with very little change on both visits. Just seemed the fish changed rather than the whole dish.
The chef, being British has great use of veggies which you rarely see on a menu in Cape Town.
The chef did produce a great Moules marinière after asking if it was possible
To have this dish without curry.
That’s the mark of a great chef.
The restaurant itself is very uncomfortable. The seating around the edge is to short in the seat and the back of you is a cushion attached to the wall which forces you to lean forward.
If you look you will notice most people
Fidgeting. The table are of a very bad design, again uncomfortable as you have very little room for your legs. Again if you look around. You will see the guys trying to get a grasp of how to sit and the ladies sitting side-saddle.
All being said. The food is great. Waiters are very friendly, not sure about the T-shirt’s as a uniform as if gives a cheep fish and chip shop impression.
Chef is great. Very inventive but to us,
Very little change to be had from most restaurants in Cape Town.
Let’s hope he will find his own identity
As this could be the new star of Cape Town cuisine.

Date of visit: January 2019
1  Thank 794JoeG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony H, General Manager at SeaBreeze Fish & Shell, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2019

Good Day,

Thank you for taking the time to post your informative review. I have passed the feedback on to our head Chef and restaurant owner Alex.

Please advise when you visited as we have not had Dorado or Yellowtail on the menu for a while and we do not serve lentils or couscous with the Dorado dish, but rather a beautiful herb pesto, baby carrots, sautéed potatoes and chorizo. Our Kingklip is not served with curry, but rather a carrot puree, Baby Marrows, Broccolini, and a grapefruit vinaigrette. The mussels in Cape Malay curry sauce are one of our signature dishes and the flavour combination is intended to be unique and normally received exceptional feedback.

Regarding the comments on tables and uniforms, this is something we are currently busy addressing and hope to have resolution soon.


Regards,
Tony Hartmann
General Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (307)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

74 - 78 of 307 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2019 via mobile

My first visit left me unsatisfied - my CT friends go there quite often. This night they were not on top form. It was particularly noisy, making conversation practically impossible. Our unanimous conclusion was that new fish item on the menu, orange roughy, should be taken off asap, except perhaps for the ancient and toothless who could just suck the disconcertingly soft flesh off the many fine bones. To their credit, the veggies were beautifully prepared and tasty, but the staff need to upgrade their knowledge of the menu.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank hannetjiee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony H, General Manager at SeaBreeze Fish & Shell, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2019

Good Day,

I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your Orange Roughy. I have passed the feedback on to the chef. This was the first time it has made an appearance on our menu. Overall guest sentiment was good, but we have taken your comments to heart and will look at ways of improving the dish should it make a future appearance.

Regards,
Tony Hartmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2019

I found an recommend for this restaurant in an in-flight magazine and really glad I took a note of the name. Very friendly atmosphere in a safe location of Cape Town. The food was SO good! Highly recommend.

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Jonathan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony H, General Manager at SeaBreeze Fish & Shell, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2019

Good Day Jonathan,

Thank you for taking down our details and choosing to have dinner with us. Delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. I have passed your compliments on to our team. If you are still in Cape Town for a while, we look forward to seeing you again before you depart!

Regards,
Tony Hartmann
General Manager
+27 81 506 1437
tony@seabreezecapetown.co.za

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2019

The seafood at this place is to die for. Had lots of different oysters served different ways and be sure not to leave before you had the Cheesecake. It is an experience on its own!

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Guest B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony H, General Manager at SeaBreeze Fish & Shell, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2019

Good Day,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your meal and have passed your compliments on to the team. Our cheesecake is memorable, that I most certainly agree with! Hope to see you back soon for another slice!


Regards,
Tony Hartmann
General Manager
+27 81 506 1437
tony@seabreezecapetown.co.za

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2019 via mobile

The best food that I had until now in Cape Town.
The food was delicious and everything was fresh.
Congratulations to the Chef and to Devine that he knows what it means hospitality.
Well Done!

Date of visit: January 2019
3  Thank Bou811978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony H, General Manager at SeaBreeze Fish & Shell, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2019

Good Day,

Happy to hear that you enjoyed your meal. I will pass your compliments on to our kitchen team as well as Devine. I am sure they will be delighted with the feedback.

Regards,
Tony Hartmann
General Manager
+27 81 506 1437
tony@seabreezecapetown.co.za

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SeaBreeze Fish & Shell also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to SeaBreeze Fish & Shell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing