We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but perfectly formed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mondi-Holiday Seeblickhotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Grundlsee
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Our studio overlooking the lake was small but perfectly formed for a relaxing holiday. As others have said the upgrade to lake view is worth the extra 35 euros. The kitchenette has ONLY 2 electric rings and a fridge so you need to be inventive to self cater, but there are plenty of glasses and dishes to use. We watched Strudel being made and then sampled it fresh from the oven, lovely!The indoor pool would get crowded in winter but in June there were plenty of sun loungers to use both inside and out. The pool is not supervised and some families ignore the No jumping, running and Balls which does spoil the relaxing atmosphere for others. Excellent base to explore the other lakes but this is one of the most beautiful.

Room Tip: The apartments are in blocks, so higher up the hill you are further away from the lake.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MDS1558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mondigrundlsee, Hotel at Mondi-Holiday Seeblickhotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2014

Thank you very much for your detailled feedback. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your room facing the lake, the apple strudel baking with our manager and our location for discovering the surrounding.
Kind regards from Grundlsee
Your MONDI-Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (249)
There are newer reviews for Mondi-Holiday Seeblickhotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

64 - 70 of 249 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2014

The setting of the hotel on a little hill overlooking the lake and the mountains is heavenly and worth the money by itself. Having said this it seems that the Hotel is relying a bit too much on the gorgeous views and setting; inside, the rooms could do with a facelift. The carpet was old and smelly and the bathroom sets you straight back to the 80s. We also found a strong smell of dog disturbing which might have to do with the fact that almost all units of the complex are either pet friendly and/or smoker rooms. Nothing wrong with this, but it should be mentioned to guests since we really were a bit disgusted by the thought that a wet dog might have slept in here the night before..maybe with smoking owners.The Breakfast buffet, which we considered once a real highlight, is unfortunately also going downhill fast; the salmon was uneatable, the sausage and ham selection consists obviously of very cheap and low quality products. The bread and eggs etc. are still very fine though.WIFI was not working properly this time, for 2 Euro per hour a bit annoying. To end with a good note: the spa and sauna area is very nice and relaxing and again the views should let you forget all the little flaws in paradise.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank northeasterner40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mondigrundlsee, Hotel at Mondi-Holiday Seeblickhotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2014

Hello from Grundlsee,
thank you for taking time for a feedback.
Your MONDI-team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stayed here for a week during February and paid an upgrade fee to have a studio overlooking the stunningly beautiful lake which was well worth it.

The room itself was clean and tidy with a partial kitchen and a large balcony. The kitchen was adequately equipped; however there was no microwave which we would have found useful. The hotel appeared to have good facilities with a pool and a sauna (additional charge for sauna); however we didn't use these as we chose to get out and about to explore the local area. There are a couple of really great ski resorts close by that can be easily reached by car, but if skiing isn't your thing there are plenty of other lovely places to visit.

Highly recommended and we would defiantly visit again.

Room Tip: You can call ahead to reserve a room with a Lake View (upgrade fee applies!)
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mondigrundlsee, Hotel at Mondi-Holiday Seeblickhotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Hello from Grundlsee,
thank you for your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

This hotel is situated amid mountains with an extraordinarily beautiful view over the lake; very relaxing.
The people are friendly and helpful.
Rooms are nice, well equipped and bigger than usual.
You will probably need a car to make best use of your stay. There is plenty of nature sights and attractions in the vicinity, but not easy to reach without a car.
The place is worth a visit at any season, but in winter the weather conditions may occasionally complicate to access it or to get around. In sommer, there may occasionally be extended periods of wet conditions - if you are from Britain, you will feel at home ...

The bottom line: clearly a recommendation.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view over the lake.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FreMiFra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mondigrundlsee, Hotel at Mondi-Holiday Seeblickhotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

Thank you for your detailed reply.
Your MONDI-Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

First as all the advertising photos in the hotel website (booking.com) should reflect to the fact. Actually, the apartments were run-down, need renovation. The breakfast was not so many chooses and packed with self-service guesses. A hotel staff was kind for us to check-out one day earlier. One positive point is the stunning view at the lake.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chayadhana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mondigrundlsee, Hotel at Mondi-Holiday Seeblickhotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

Thank you very much for your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We had a great room only spoilt by noisey neighbours the resort moved us into the main building. The new room had stunning views very spacious. We could not fault the speed at which the resort rectified our problem. We had a great holiday and would return

Room Tip: If you experience any problems speak to reception who were extremely helpful. If you can pay extra f...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mondigrundlsee, Hotel at Mondi-Holiday Seeblickhotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Thank you very much for your feedback!
Your MONDI-Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

A quality resort with all the usual features; pool, sauna, massage etc. We were there for 6 days, four of which it was raining. Made little difference since the view was always different each day and lots to do.

We had a studio which was larger than a normal hotel room and had a mini kitchen.it also has a view of the lake and the nearby mountains which you saw every morning - beautiful. The was a sort of washroom available but it was often fully utilised.


Very good restaurant on site with a different buffet each day, the Rustige Ankor at the end of the lake being another favourite. In the nearby town was the finest Kur cafe you will find; we "cured" ourselves to health each day with breakfast for 6 euros.. It was like a folk lore scene with everyone either wearing lederhosen or dirndles; it was fantastic and on the last day during breakfast there was a mini orchestra playing at 10 am including a harpist.

Places to visit are Hallstadt, a fantastic little town, Bad Ischl, the home of the Austrian Emperor and also the place when the first World war started ie between Serbia and Austria plus the nearby salt mines.

Room Tip: A view of the lake is best but these usually cost an extra 35 Euros.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ronn52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mondigrundlsee, Hotel at Mondi-Holiday Seeblickhotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Hello from Grundlsee,
thank you very much for taking the time for a feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grundlsee
2.2 mi away
SPA Hotel Erzherzog Johann
SPA Hotel Erzherzog Johann
#2 of 2 in Bad Aussee
233 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Seevilla
Hotel Seevilla
#1 of 3 in Altaussee
148 reviews
9.2 mi away
Heritage Hotel Hallstatt
Heritage Hotel Hallstatt
#2 of 4 in Hallstatt
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
G'sund & Natur Hotel DIE WASNERIN
8.2 mi away
Resort Obertraun
Resort Obertraun
#2 of 4 in Obertraun
135 reviews
9.2 mi away
Seehotel Gruener Baum
Seehotel Gruener Baum
#1 of 4 in Hallstatt
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mondi-Holiday Seeblickhotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mondi-Holiday Seeblickhotel

Address: Archkogl 31, Grundlsee 8993, Austria
Location: Austria > Styria > Grundlsee
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Grundlsee
Price Range: $157 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mondi-Holiday Seeblickhotel 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The MONDI-HOLIDAY Seeblickhotel Grundlsee is situated in an ideal spot - on a hill at the head of Lake Grundlsee. Guests can enjoy the breathtaking view of the Lake and the surrounding mountains.Possibilities for sport- , adventure, ski - and leisure activities, a restaurant and spacious panorama wellness area await you; this is a fantastic holiday residence no matter what the season. Welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Mondi-Holiday Seeblickhotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mondi-Holiday Grundlsee Hotel Grundlsee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing