We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel Frontera.”
Review of Hotel Frontera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Frontera
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ocotal
Nelson, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Hotel Frontera.”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed 5 nights at La Frontera this summer. Room was clean,spacious,hot water,wifi. Very friendly staff. This is a truly wonderful place.Clean swimming pool. When we come back to Nicaragua we will surely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    12
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
8
2
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Goes, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

You wouldn't recognize Hotel Frontera that easy, it is a little bit at the back of the Panamericana. The general areas like reception, restaurant, pool, bar, rooftop terrace are excellent and first class constructions, tasteful. The pool is huge for Nicaraguan hotel standards. The breakfast is not included in the rate but of good quality. The rooms are just okay and overpriced for old furniture, noisy aircon (90USD rack rate, 76USD with discount). If the rooms would be renovated, this hotel would get a rating of 5 and be a perfect place for a few days to dos ome tours in the region of Las Segovias.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JohnLindhout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

The rooms are clean, the people are friendly, you get a hot shower, and they provide free wifi. It looks like they're doing some renovations/expansion so I'm looking forward to going back. If you want a great (and very sweet) cup of coffee, walk across the street in the morning to the little walk-up shop right across the street. They also have great pastelitos.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CoffeeBuyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We stayed here during our recent visit to the Somoto Canyon. We had a wonderful time. The staff were very friendly. Excellent value for our money! :)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LigiaMV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2011

Friendly staff, nice swimming pool, free wifi; yet $90 a night for a triple bedroom, not including breakfast, is well over-priced. By comparison, in Managua, we payed $80 a night and got a much more comfortable room and breakfast was included.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dupa_1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2010

We stayed three nights at La Frontera and enjoyed every minute. It's address is 'Contiguous to the Shell Ramos,' but this is a bit misleading as the gas station does not apppear to be a Shell station (at least, there were no Shell logos visible). It's at the northern edge of Ocotal, on the east side of the Panamerican Higthway, at a traffic light. Ocotal is a small town so althought the hotel is on the edge of town, it's still an easy walk to Central Park and the shops and street markets.

All the office staff and waiters were very pleasant and courteous and the food was good (especially a fish dish that I ordered the first night, which came sizzling on the platter!). Breakfast was extra (the only place we stayed where this was the case) and there was no shampoo or conditioner (again, a little unusual), but these are very minor criticisms, far outweighrd by our overall experience.

Views from our porch were spectacular and I enjoyed watching the comings and goings on the dirt road below. A little girl looked up and gave me the widest smile I've seen in my life! The pool was large compared to any other budget-priced hotel I've stayed at, and it was cleaned daily.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BellyDancingRocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2010

I stayed at Hotel Frontera for several days. My room was spacious, cleaned daily, great hot water shower, and fast uninterrupted WiFi. The office staff was very supportive and helpful. They arranged a coffee plantation tour and were very helpful with directions around the pretty little town of Ocotal. The kitchen staff were very understanding about my vegan diet and went to great lengths to prepare special dishes, which were excellent. The semi-enclosed court yard, with moderate size pool, was very relaxing and the pool refreshing on some really warm days. If traveling with auto, the hotel has enclosed parking and 24 hour security. I can't say enough good things about this place.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mbuzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocotal
0.0 mi away
Hotel Campestre El Pantano
0.0 mi away
Hotel Los Arcos
Hotel Los Arcos
#1 of 6 in Esteli
157 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Don Vito
Hotel Don Vito
#4 of 6 in Esteli
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Frontera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Frontera

Property: Hotel Frontera
Address: Km. 226 Panamerican Highway, adjacent to Shell Ramos, Ocotal, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Nueva Segovia Department > Ocotal
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ocotal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Frontera is located in the city of Ocotal, 226 km from the capital city of Managua in the province of Nueva Segovia and just 25 miles from "Las Manos" border with Honduras. The mountains of this region, pleasant climate and warm reception of our staff will make your visit to Nueva Segovia memorable. We look forward to your visit! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Frontera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Frontera Nicaragua/Ocotal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing