We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ohh la la !!! I want to go back !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Domaine des Gauliers
Ranked #1 of 2 Chavagnes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Québec, Canada
1 review
“Ohh la la !!! I want to go back !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2012

A friend and I (from Quebec) stayed at the Domaine des Gauliers for 3 days in February 2012 and what I can tell you is that you don't have to be in the Louvre museum to find treasures. There is one, close to the city of Angers, in the Loire Valley, that deserves to be discovered. Set in the French countryside, surrounded by vineyards, the Domaine des Gauliers is simply fabulous! The rooms are immaculate, the grounds are inviting, and the bread, croissants, and pain au chocolat delivered daily by a local bakery are mouth-watering. But most importantly, the hosts Denis & Vincent were very friendly and so helpful in making our stay memorable. Following their suggestions we greatly enjoyed a winetasting at the winery next to their property and ate a wonderful French meal in a small 20-seat contemporary restaurant set in the middle of vineyards a few minutes away by car.

Our stay at the Domaine des Gauliers helped us get a sense that we were not simply observing but actually experiencing French culture. I want to go back !

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luc C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GAULIERS, Propriétaire at Domaine des Gauliers, responded to this review, February 17, 2012
Please, come back anytime.... mi casa es su casa ! We are looking forward to receiving you one more time in our property. Thank you for your comments. Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
53
19
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2012

As we drove in the property, we had a overwelming sense of peace and quiet, overlooking this vast domaine surrounded by acres of vineyards. A heartly welcome by our hosts, Denis, an Vincent, where attentive to all our needs during our stay. The decor is exquisite, every detail was conceived with a special touch. The rooms were spacious and functional. Impeccably clean, everything was sought out to perfection.
The food was sublime. Denis an Vincent are incredible chefs and we had opportunity to explore the regional cuisine paired with the the wonderful wines of Anjou
I would recommend le Domaine des Gauliers who are looking for a warm place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laure S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GAULIERS, Gérant at Domaine des Gauliers, responded to this review, February 16, 2012
Thank you Laure for all these nice comments.... It was a real pleasure to welcome you on last thanksgiving in our property and we remind you that you are very welcome anytime at LE DOMAINE DES GAULIERS.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2011

We rented the "gite" for 4 adults and one child (19 months) this past February. Our stay was just perfect. The gite has everything you need and more! The kitchen is very well equiped for cooking. The rooms are extreemly clean and you feel like you are in a nice hotel. Each room has its own bathroom with a shower and bathtub (which are all high quality and new).

The property is beautiful, though we didn't get to take advantage of the swimming pool, I would definitely come back to be able to use it during the summer!

The owner was very welcoming, hospitable and provided nice tips and things to do in the region.

I can't recommended the Domaine des Gauliers enough! Don't hesitate booking here. It will exceed your expectations.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anneb1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GAULIERS, Propriétaire at Domaine des Gauliers, responded to this review, April 23, 2011
Thank you for choosing our domaine for your stay in Anjou... We were very pleased to welcome you and wish we could meet you soon....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chavagnes
8.3 mi away
Rocaminori Hotel
Rocaminori Hotel
#1 of 1 in Louresse-Rochemenier
5.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
9.4 mi away
Loire et Sens
Loire et Sens
#1 of 1 in Juigne-sur-Loire
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
14.5 mi away
Hotel 21 Foch
Hotel 21 Foch
#1 of 33 in Angers
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
Chateau De Verrieres
Chateau De Verrieres
#6 of 24 in Saumur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
17.6 mi away
Chateau de l'Epinay
Chateau de l'Epinay
#1 of 3 in Saint-Georges-sur-Loire
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
8.4 mi away
Les Delices de la Roche
Les Delices de la Roche
#1 of 2 in Louresse-Rochemenier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domaine des Gauliers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine des Gauliers

Property: Domaine des Gauliers
Address: Lieu Dit les Gauliers, 49380 Chavagnes, France
Location: France > Pays de la Loire > Maine et Loire > Chavagnes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Chavagnes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located between Angers and Saumur, le DOMAINE DES GAULIERS welcomes you in Anjou, in the heart of Coteaux du Layon's vineyards, just a step away from the Loire valley and its world famous castles.Our manor with its cellar is the centerpiece of a former winery and overlooks the picturesque villages of Chavagnes les Eaux and its sourrounding vineyard. A outdoor heated swimming pool (from may to september), a playground for children and bike rental to explore the local vineyards are on your disposal. We suggest you to stay in one of our 3 guest house rooms, abord on our romantic gypsy caravan and in one of ours entirely renovated six or eight person deluxe holiday cottages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Domaine des Gauliers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing