We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicaraguan Nights: Puerta Del Cielo Resort is the place to wind down and get down.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hacienda Puerta Del Cielo Eco Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Masatepe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Biloxi, Mississippi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nicaraguan Nights: Puerta Del Cielo Resort is the place to wind down and get down.”
Reviewed May 22, 2010

You gotta go. It is safe. Very safe. And so beautiful and remote and peaceful and romantic.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LisaWrites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    19
    5
    5
    2
See reviews for
24
226
20
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2010

"I chose to stay at Hacienda Puerta Del Cielo Eco Spa via word of mouth, and on that note I was so delighted and can't begin to express the hidden gem I've discovered! This Eco Lodge is so magically spirtual! A peaceful retreat to just relax, sun bath, swim in the river pool, or receive a massage you'll never forget! The chef cusine and services is over the top along with unique rooms & cottages with views of the lake and birds of paradise at play. You can even see the active volcano smoking every morning.

Nicaraguan people are very friendly, the country is incredibly safe and inexpensive. If your out on the town, a couple can have a nice steak dinner and a bottle of wine for $20. Plus, there are so many things to see and do in Nicaragua that your schedule can be as full as you like or totally empty for relaxation.

Things to do in Nicaragua include: exploring Granada (The oldest city in all of the America's) and Leon or hiking volcanoes and national parks, fresh water and salt water fishing, world class surfing, zip lining from tree top to tree top, relaxing on the beach, eating fabulous native foods and so many more options! Or just enjoy your stay and surroundings off the beaten path at Hacienda Puerta Del Cielo Eco Spa.

I can't wait to return."

Susan (Suki) L. Finnerty
Boston, MA

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sukido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2010

Traveled to Hacienda Puerta del Cielo after hearing about a new hotel in this area of Nicaragua which has no quality tourism establishments. Went with a girlfriend with a plan of "relaxing" in mind. We had a geat time -- exploring the area during the dayt (very close to the volcano and to the town of Granada) and relaxing in the pool and restaurant that night. The hotel is first class - great furniture, finishes and the staff very attentive. The next day we decided to hang out all day in the pool (swim up bar included) and enjoy the scenery (view of lake and volcano). Great food, great time -- definitely worth the visit. Nicaragua needs more of these quality, luxury hotels!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cbergviajera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Springs, Mississippi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2010

Aside from total relaxation there are lot's of sights to see and natural beauty to take in. Can't wait to go back, a real adventure!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JUANERNESTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2010

Waking up in Puerta del Cielo is an experience unto itself. Perched on the rim of an extinct volcano and surrounded on three sides by glass doors is a breathtaking panoramic view of birds of prey circling within a backdrop of Masaya Volcanic National Park. I could have stayed all day in one of the hammocks on the open veranda and enjoyed the mountains, the various moods of the not so distant volcano and the expansive lake below, but glad I did not because there is a ludicrous number of stunning things to see and experience in the vicinity.

Some of my favorites were touring the active volcanic crater with churning molten lava (In case of rock expulsions, take refuge under your car!!), the gorgeous cloud forest, the ancient beautiful city of Granada, and touring by boat the 365 islands created from a massive volcanic eruption. We are within the 'ring of fire' after all. Returning to Puerta del Cielo in the evenings to cocktails and conversation with other guests and another wonderful meal prepared by the lodges amicable chef, this place is aptly named gateway to the sky if not heaven. Completely awesome!"

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gallivants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 23, 2010

"Coming to Nicaragua for the first time, I had very little idea what to expect, and yet my expectations were exceeded beyond belief. Puerta del Cielo was the perfect base for exploring the country, from the charming surrounding towns to the spectacular nature preserves. After a long day of touring, it was so nice to come back to the resort, cool off and nap poolside, then enjoy a gourmet dinner. In sum, my experience was the perfect blend of an authentic Nicaraguan experience with all the comforts of home."

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christinalh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Masatepe
15.7 mi away
Jicaro Island Ecolodge Granada
Jicaro Island Ecolodge Granada
#1 of 4 in Isletas de Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
6.1 mi away
Pacaya Lodge & Spa
Pacaya Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Catarina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
11.6 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#4 of 44 in Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Hotel y Restaurante Hacienda San Pedro
12.0 mi away
Los Patios Hotel
Los Patios Hotel
#3 of 44 in Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
14.9 mi away
Isleta El Espino
Isleta El Espino
#2 of 4 in Isletas de Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Puerta Del Cielo Eco Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Puerta Del Cielo Eco Spa

Property: Hacienda Puerta Del Cielo Eco Spa
Address: Camino de los Bueyes, Nimboja #2 | Masaya, Masatepe, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Masaya Department > Masatepe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Masatepe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hacienda Puerta Del Cielo Eco Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a green mountainside paradise in beautiful, sun-kissed Nicaragua. "Hacienda Puerta del Cielo Ecolodge & Spa" borders a protected national rainforest, teeming with colorful flora and fauna. Imagine yourself relaxing in a tropical pool overlooking a peaceful lagoon or meditating in a breezy hammock on your own private veranda. Explore the natural environment of our exclusive -adults only- boutique hotel and enjoy Ecotourism in luxury! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hacienda Puerta Del Cielo Eco Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Puerta Del Cielo Eco Hotel Masatepe
Hacienda Puerta Del Cielo Eco Spa Nicaragua/Masatepe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing