We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (393)
Filter reviews
393 results
Traveler rating
357
22
6
6
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
357
22
6
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshacienda puerta del cielomasaya volcanoother guestsactive volcanothe owneroutdoor showerzip liningtour guideevery mealbeautiful countryhoneymoon suiteeco lodgeoff the beaten pathdirt roadone of a kindnatural beautynational park
Filter
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 393 reviews
Reviewed October 15, 2016

This lodge is in a very remote area but the views and peace and quiet make it worth the back roads drive.....The views across the jungle, over Lagoon Masaya and of Volcano Masaya are unparalleled. We enjoyed our 3 night stay and the staff were all friendly and helpful. We did a couple outings which were fun but as someone else mentioned....overpriced. We enjoyed the very relaxing atmosphere.....lounging, reading, swimming are the order of the day. Night falls early so evenings are quiet which was fine with us ....Besides massages being available this cannot be considered a spa. I do feel that the owners could bring this place up a notch in terms of providing a bit more to do on the property as given the remoteness and lack of amenities one can only stay for a few days. A little more polish and what is already a beautiful spot could be even more incredible.

Room Tip: From what I could tell all casitas have a great view.
  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank IVYTRAVELS7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2016

We took a chance with a Hacienda outside of a city or beach location and felt we struck gold. Everything was well thought out. The paper products, i.e. napkins, kleenex and T.P. were all excellent American quality and size. No scrimping there. The in-room amenities were plentiful and, so not to attract mosquitoes, had no fragrance. The lotion was rich, and of high quality. The "casitas" were colourfully painted with great attention to detail and well maintained. We never encountered a crawling bug in the casita.
The meals were served with a magnificent view of an active volcano. During one of the excursions that was offered I can now say that I have looked into the fire of an active volcano.
Last but not least, the staff was absolutely lovely. All were engaging and eager to work on their English. Our driver/guide, Ariel, drove with a steady hand and great care. We were always delivered safe and sound to our destination.
Thank you to all of the employees of Hacienda Puerta Del Cielo.

  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Heidi O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2016 via mobile

Started a backpacking trip with some luxury and pampering at the Hacienda! Rooms were beautiful and always clean, food was excellent, and owner JC and his staff were beyond accommodating. The arranged trips were a nice break from lounging in the eternity pool with drinks in hand, and we also ventured out on our own a few times to the towns nearby. Traditional dancers came to perform one night and benefit a local school (tons of fun). We left with so many new friends and wonderful memories!

Stayed: March 2016, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Rhiroko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2016

What more could you ask for? From the moment I spoke with the owners JC and then Linda about making reservations at HPDC I knew we were going to have a momentous Vacation. And our stay @ HPDC was truly utterly amazing. We traveled to this beautiful country in August, and this place was a rare find. From the moment we were greeted at the airport by Ariel, until our departure, a week later, we were pampered beyond measure. The views were breathtaking and the place was meticulous! The food was delicious and plentiful. The staff were eager to please and very accommodating, and we spent many nights at the bar enjoying their company. Linda the owner was tremendous at planning our excursions, allowing us to enjoy adventures but also giving us plenty of relaxation time. We also had the privilege of meeting JC, who gave us great incite about Nicaragua! Unfortunately every vacation has to end, and we were very sad to leave this beautiful place and our newly extended family! We definitely want to visit again! ( Their website is exactly what the place looks like!! And I would be happy to answer any questions!)

Room Tip: All rooms are equally beautiful.
  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Sandra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2016

We loved our stay at Hacienda Puerta del Cielo! The views of a nature preserve from the pool area are stunning, you can see the glow of an active volcano at night and the staff go out of their way to make you feel like family.

We did several of the excursions offered by la Hacienda. We particularly enjoyed zip lining through a cloud forest and our time on the beach in San Juan del Sur, but if relaxing by the pool with a strong drink is more your style, this is still the place for you.

The level of hospitality demonstrated by the owners and staff here is unbeatable. We would spend hours at the bar chatting with several members of the staff and at the end of our trip, we were genuinely sad to be leaving our new friends.

I cannot say enough about how great our stay was. From the food and drinks to the daily activities to just relaxing by the pool taking in the incredible scenery, any expectations we had for our trip were met and surpassed by this amazing hotel.

Room Tip: The honeymoon suite opens right to the pool.
  • Stayed: June 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Russ T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews