We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Puerta del Cielo truly is a gate to heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hacienda Puerta Del Cielo Eco Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Masatepe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We spent three amazing nights at this wonderful small hotel high above Laguna Masaya with views of the Masaya volcano smoking in the distance. The hotel is located several miles outside of the small town of Masaya on a very small rough unmarked road. I would highly recommend having the hotel pick you up at the airport. Not only are the roads not marked, but the last few miles are very rough and require a 4 wheel drive. The tours offered by the hotel are all excellent. Not only do they take you to some of the highlights of the area, but both Lionel and JC offer a perspective that you won't get while touring on your own. Not only can they provide translation if needed, but they can convey their personal experience during the Revolution that you may not read about in any book. JC went out of his way to make sure we were taken care of. For example, when I suggested a mirror above the sink for shaving, he had one installed the next day.
The setting and layout of the resort is incredible. We enjoyed a casita toward the end of the property that was quiet and peaceful. There is a hammock and two chairs on the porch to relax and read a book at the end of the day. There is air conditioning if you need to use it at night. The only slight annoyance was the sound of fireworks from the town of Masaya that seemed to bleed over many days after the New Years holiday. We discovered that in Masaya, they like to celebrate many holidays with fireworks.
Each night there was an appetizer at 5:30 and dinner around 7pm. Generally there is only one dish served each night. If you have any dietary restrictions, it is important to let JC know so that they can accommodate you. All of the meals were very well prepared by a local chef and served family style. We loved the trip to Mombacho Volcano. It included a coffee tour, hiking to an incredible viewpoint of Lake Nicaragua and a zipline tour with over 10 platforms. They added on a quick tour of the Pueblos Blancos where they showed us how they make pottery. The amount of manual labor that is involved in making one pot from beginning to end is amazing. Hacienda Puerta Del Cielo is a special place that was conceived and created by a man that loves detail and loves this country. If you stay here, you too will find out why there is much to love about Nicaragua.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdg1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (364)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

177 - 183 of 364 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2014

I stayed at Hacienda Puerta del Cielo for one week at the beginning of January. It really is a little slice of paradise. The owner, JC, and his staff are fantastic and treat all their guests like family. There is no request you can make that they will not attempt to accommodate. The private casitas with glass doors opening onto decks furnished with hammocks are awesome and from everywhere on the property guests have a fabulous view of the Laguna Masaya below and the volcano spewing smoke in the distance. The meals at the Hacienda are fabulous - tasty and presented beautifully on the plate. The resort is small and intimate and at dinner time guests are usually seated together so that they can get to know each other.

I took several of the tours available from the Hacienda - one to the charming city of Granada with a boat ride to the Isletas, and one to the Volcano Masaya, where we were able to peer into "the mouth of hell " and then later shop at the Masaya market. On the Thursday evening JC offered to take guests and staff into Masaya to watch some dancing and on the Friday evening a local dance troupe performed traditional folklorique dances for guests at the Hacienda. I ended my week with a relaxing message on the deck of my casita. Saying good-bye at the end of my vacation was like leaving home. I will definitely be back next year.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maureen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

The hotel is set on a ridge with stunning views across a lagoon to the forested slopes of a dramatic (but not active!) volcano. It is located at the end of an exciting drive along a difficult off-road track, adding to the sense of remoteness and tranquility.
The welcome when we arrived could not have been warmer, even though it was Late at night we were served with refreshing cocktails while we completed check in formalities. Throughout our stay the staff and owners offered impeccable service, advice and attention. The food ( 3 meals a day and afternoon Snacks at 5pm all included!) were without exception freshly prepared from local ingredients and were delicious.
The cabins are spacious, well appointed and with private sitting area complete with hammock and deck chairs. There is a very pleasant swimming pool and bar/dining area with beautiful views across the valley. On Some evenings local dance groups entertain guests and the hotel organise an extensive and flexible programme of excursions accompanied by a very knowledgeable and helpful guide ( Lionel). They will also organise transfers for you.Lionel and the owner ( J C) were extremely attentive throughout. Both are Nicaraguan and speak excellent English . JC has developed the hotel with a very strong philosophy about ensuring that tourism has real benefits for local people and economy and his delightful staff all come from the local area.He is also very keen to promote regional culture.
Nicaragua is a wonderful place to visit and this hotel should definitely be on your itinerary. It certainly ranks amongst the very best of our fairly extensive travelling experiences .

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaveT8282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We stayed at the Hacienda Puerta Del Cielo from January 6th through the 10th and I can't remember a better vacation experience. The accommodations rank among the best of any hotels I've stayed at, the service is 5 star, and the food and drinks are excellent. The folks making things run, JC and Lionel are at the heart of the experience fostering a uniquely quaint atmosphere where many meaningful relationships are built in a very short time. Great conversations were had by all.

I also recommend going on the tours offered by the Hotel, you will really get the VIP treatment.
If you have been comparison shopping, please don't make a mistake by trying to save a few pennies somewhere else. You've come all this way so rest easy that you will get a great value and so much more out of Puerta Del Cielo.

Room Tip: Purchase the honeymoon suite, even if it's not your honeymoon! It's a bargain with your own...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Loved the location once I got over the one lane road into the Hacienda. Whew. Surrounded by nature perched above a lovely lake with a volcano in view. Very pretty.
But.
We didn't get the warm friendly feeling from our hosts. Maybe because we arrived in our own vehicle? Both times we arrived the gate was locked and one of us climbed over it and hiked up to the hacienda to convince someone to come open it. Not really sure why it's locked as we were told they are the only hotel on the road and most local people are walking. The other guests were friendly and we had many nice conversations.
Dinner was served to everyone at 7:30 - there is no menu (meal times and content are posted by the bar). Appetizer, main plate, and dessert. No memorable flavors and portions were small. Breakfast was available for a period of time - we were generally last - and there was no choice. The bar - was busy - lots of drinking. Appetizers were available one night but I bit into a potato and got a toothpick section spiked into the roof of my mouth.
At breakfast we were asked to settle our bill right away because the owner was leaving but we were welcome to use our room longer. We packed up and left. Luckily the gate was open.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank KM_Borowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

I recently had the opportunity to stay at the Hacienda Puerta Del Cielo resort while researching the area for a possible small group tour. I feel fortunate to have found this resort.

From the moment I was picked up at Managua Airport to my departure 7 days later, the service was exceptional.

This exclusive resort is Eco-friendly, perched on a hill with a stunning view of the volcano and lagoon.

The accommodations, in private casitas, are large and boast a private deck equipped with chairs and a hammock.

The meals which are included were tasty, well prepared, and well presented. Many were native dishes giving the guests the opportunity to sample local foods.

The tours offered were excellent - trips to see the volcano up close, visits to local artisan shops and markets - were well planned and executed.

The owner and his well trained staff could not be more helpful and attentive. No matter the request, they did their best to accommodate.

Because of this very positive experience I will be organizing a small group tour at the resort.

Stayed: January 2014
Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We just returned from a five day stay at the Hacienda Puerta Del Cielo Eco Spa and it was completely amazing. The owner, JC, is a charming, hospitable man who is eager to share his love for Nicaragua with guests. He has created a gorgeous ecolodge with an attentive and efficient staff and delicious food. Lionel, our other host, was incredibly knowledgeable, friendly, and fun and an excellent guide for the excursions we took.

The Hacienda has breathtaking views and we spent a great deal of time on the deck of our casita and in the pool and hammock area taking them in. Our casita was spacious, tastefully decorated, and included a wonderful outdoor shower as well as a deck with chairs and a hammock. The casitas are perfect little cottage-like structures that provide plenty of privacy. We also had really fabulous massages while we were at the Hacienda and they took place on the deck of our casita, which was lovely.

The hosts do a great deal to foster a warm, welcoming, and inviting atmosphere and we greatly enjoyed the time we spent at meals and at the bar with the other guests. We were also lucky enough to share the Hacienda with a group of very fun and interesting guests and this greatly added to our experience.

We went on two excursions--one to Granada and the other to the Masaya Volcano. I recommend both wholeheartedly and Lionel was a perfect guide.While it is possible to rent a car and do these excursions on your own, the road leading to and from the Hacienda is basically an extremely bumpy dirt trail and you might find that traveling in the Hacienda's vehicles is the best way to go. Additionally, Lionel added so much to the experience that I know it would not have been as enriching without him.

The staff, as I said earlier, is attentive and efficient and one really feels as though you are a guest in someone's home as opposed to staying at a hotel. One night JC and Lionel even took us to a festival in a nearby town which allowed us to really experience a slice of Nicaraguan life that is not usually available to tourists. And all the while we were there, JC, Lionel, and some of the other staff members, guided us, kept our group together and ensured that we had a wonderful time.

The food was delicious and we enjoyed every meal we ate at the Hacienda. They also serve an appetizer at 5pm which makes for a very nice pre-dinner social time in the outdoor bar/restaurant area. Ask for the Jamaica Juice at breakfast which was delicious and also feel free to ask them to experiment with local ingredients in your mixed drinks. While we were there one of the guests asked for rum with papaya juice and coconut cream and this became one of the most popular drinks of the week.

We fell in love with Nicaragua during our visit and seeing it through the eyes of JC and Lionel played a very big part in this. We were looking for a relaxing vacation with a bit of pampering but we were also eager to explore and partake in an adventure or two. We were able to fulfill all of these desires at the Hacienda. This place is a hidden gem in the Nicaraguan countryside. It far, far exceeded our expectations.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cecelia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Masatepe
15.7 mi away
Jicaro Island Ecolodge Granada
Jicaro Island Ecolodge Granada
#1 of 4 in Isletas de Granada
340 reviews
6.1 mi away
Pacaya Lodge & Spa
Pacaya Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Catarina
118 reviews
11.6 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#2 of 45 in Granada
1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
Real InterContinental Managua at Metrocentro Mall
14.9 mi away
Isleta El Espino Ecolodge
Isleta El Espino Ecolodge
#2 of 4 in Isletas de Granada
96 reviews
14.0 mi away
Barcelo Managua
Barcelo Managua
#9 of 50 in Managua
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Puerta Del Cielo Eco Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Puerta Del Cielo Eco Spa

Address: Camino de los Bueyes, Nimboja #2 | Masaya, Masatepe 42600, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Masaya Department > Masatepe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Masatepe
Price Range: $333 - $539 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hacienda Puerta Del Cielo Eco Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a green mountainside paradise in beautiful, sun-kissed Nicaragua. "Hacienda Puerta del Cielo Ecolodge & Spa" borders a protected national rainforest, teeming with colorful flora and fauna. Imagine yourself relaxing in a tropical pool overlooking a peaceful lagoon or meditating in a breezy hammock on your own private veranda. Explore the natural environment of our exclusive -adults only- boutique hotel and enjoy Ecotourism in luxury! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Hacienda Puerta Del Cielo Eco Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Puerta Del Cielo Eco Hotel Masatepe
Hacienda Puerta Del Cielo Eco Spa Nicaragua/Masatepe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing