We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Piece of Heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hacienda Puerta Del Cielo Eco Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Masatepe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Little Piece of Heaven”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

My husband and I recently had the opportunity to stay at the Hacienda Puerta Del Cielo Eco Spa and Lodge. What an absolutely amazing place! Located approximately an hour away from the airport in a remote location, we had the most relaxing time. Luis made arrangements for us to visit 2-volcanoes, tour a few cities, one which included a carriage ride through Grenada, visit beautiful churches and dine at some lovely restaurants. While back at the resort, our room was tastefully decorated, and extremely clean. The food was fabulous as well. Luis, Benjamin, Ariel, Oscar, Jasimi and Carla were so professional and friendly. Ariel acted as our guide on one of the volcano tours. He was so informative and knowledgeable. What a joy to spend the day with. We really could not have stayed at a better place, and will gladly return. Nicaragua has a lot to see and do, and as Luis promised, we grew to love it! Exceptional place and I highly recommend a vacation here!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeKeYum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    19
    5
    5
    2
See reviews for
25
227
21
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Merrillville, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

Staff is great. They care of your every need, all u have to do is ask. Resort is quiet and relaxing. There is enough room to be alone or mingle with other guests. Will definitely return to Nicaragua and hacienda.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Mount, NC
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

It's time for American's to change their thoughts on traveling to Nicaragua. Just an hour from the airport and less than that to many cultural attractions. Luis and JC have created (personally I might add) the perfect getaway location. The resort itself is beautifully designed and well maintained. The views of the volcano and lake are spectacular. The rooms and common areas have really cool murals painted by a local artist. The fact that only 10 - 12 quests can stay at one time makes for a lot of personal attention from the staff who gladly fulfill all requests. Lots of guests have written about the food, so I won't belabor the point other than to say it's fresh, local and delicious! We had the luck of staying there while Martin and Claudia (visitors themselves to the country, who were backpacking through Latin Amercia) were working there. Hearing their stories about their travels was truly a unique experience. The day trips Luis recommended were set up perfectly to give us a true cultural experience. Granada, Lake Nicaragua and San Juan de Oriente are must sees.

Room Tip: Definitely choose the Casa Linda (Honeymoon Suite) if its available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RMNCTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

I recently returned from a week at the Hacienda (hi bunbun81!!!), and can attest to the reviews being accurate.

This is a gorgeous property in a remote region, with an incredible view - especially from the pool. Well maintained and chic, the casitas are clean, comfortable, and private. Having traveled in the hottest, driest month (April), the vegetation was a bit brown but then, the weather was absolutely perfect. Hot during the day - did I mention the spectacular pool?? - and a pleasant temperature in the evening (I needed no AC). Always a breeze, zero mosquitoes. Not a hint of rain.

The owner Luis takes great effort to ensure guests are well taken care of. The staff are lovely - Ariel was especially hospitable - and do all they can to meet your needs. Expect a personalized experience, count on being pampered.

I was a solo female traveler and felt absolutely safe and comfortable at all times at the hotel and in my daily excursions. Luis really was an impeccable host and went above and beyond on numerous occasions.

Tip: bunbun81's report on the driving situation is accurate. I arrived in Nicaragua at night and didn't feel comfortable renting a car. I wish I had scheduled my flight differently so as to arrive in the daytime and rent a vehicle. The remoteness of the resort was fantastic, and just what I needed to relax, but there are also many sights and activities that are within pleasant driving distance. I relied on the host Luis for transportation but will consider renting a 4x4 next time.

Room Tip: Worth the extra dough to get a casita versus just a room. The outdoor shower and deck/veranda area a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kissthebandit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

I can confidently say that there is nowhere on earth like this place. What a stunning experience:

Our charming, kind, & patient host Luis met us at the airport and drove us to a restaurant near the Hacienda, where we had our first taste of what our lives would be like for the next week...we sat, stunned, two pasty Northerners suddenly waking up to paradise...a beautiful meal, a sweet breeze in the hot sun, and some delicious Nicaraguan beer set the tone for the rest of our vacation.

We arrived at the Hacienda, where the staff immediately introduced themselves to us by name and showed us to our casita (Casa Linda). That first day, we just soaked in the almost unreal beauty of the landscape, the views, and the Hacienda itself. The landscape is lashed with brightly-colored tropical flowers which frame the beautiful mountain range in the distance and - of course - the volcano, a constant magnificent presence. The design, materials, and colors used in the building of the Hacienda are arranged so that everywhere one looks, there is a pleasure-reaction.

The staff at the Hacienda are, in a word, priceless. Warm, engaging, funny, sweet, endlessly helpful and courteous. Ariel, Nohemi, Ruth, Scarlet, Joseima, Carla, Benjamin...they all felt like dear friends by the end of our stay, and tears were shed when we said goodbye. And let us not forget Pancho, the resident dog!!

My husband and I both had an outstanding massage, and a reflexology session that was beyond wonderful. We highly recommend the spa services.

We took several tours, and all were perfectly arranged, adventurous, fun, and worth every penny and then some. We were able to explore Masatepe, Masaya, Laguna de Apoyo, the Mombacho cloud forest and Granada...all unforgettable experiences. When an unexpected small fire caused the Masaya volcano to be temporarily closed to visitors, Luis immediately planned an alternate tour for us that day, going WAY above and beyond the call of duty to keep us happy & engaged.

The food - every single meal was a complete delight. Each day we thought the food could not possibly get better, and we were proven wrong. I am generally a picky eater, and yet I ate every morsel put in front of me...Scarlet is a gifted cook, and Benjamin shines in the kitchen as well.

Being at Hacienda Puerta Del Cielo feels like falling in love - your senses are heightened, beauty and adventure are everywhere, even just waking up in the morning is pure joy...there is magic in the air at the Hacienda, and we will carry it in our hearts forever.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JTKelly77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed 6 nights at the end of March, beginning of April and like everyone says, we wish we could've stayed longer! The hacienda was even better then I would've imagined (and I had read all the great reviews on Trip Advisor so I was expecting a lot!). We have never stayed in an eco-lodge that was so comfortable, had such wonderful meals, and with such personalized service from the staff and from Luis. We took the tours offered from the lodge in an air-conditioned van and enjoyed each and every adventure. We also lazed about the spotless pool, or in the hammocks, surrounded by nature and beautiful views. We were pleased to be awoken each morning by numerous birds singing and especially by the Nicaraguan National bird, the Turquoise-browed Mot-Mot. A pair of them flitted back and forth right outside our window each morning and evening, so if you're into bird-watching try to stay in the Casa Bella. We can't recommend this beautiful hacienda enough and will hopefully get another opportunity to come back. Thanks to everyone- especially Luis- for making our trip a wonderful one! S&S

Room Tip: I recommend Casa Bella- it's on the end so has the most privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 225SueS225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We just got back from a fantastic 4 night stay at the Hacienda. The location and the views were amazing. April is supposedly the hottest month in Nicaragua, but there is almost always a pleasant breeze at the Hacienda that makes for some very nice lounging in the hammocks. Also, if like me you attract mosquitos wherever you go, there are very very few mosquitos there, so you can enjoy sunning and swimming without worrying about getting bitten. The service was excellent and the food was delicious and plentiful. I have a fairly delicate digestive system that is usually upset on trips, but I ate everything (I cleaned the plate for almost every meal), and had no problems. Bottled water and beer are relatively inexpensive (between $1 and $3).

Some additional tips if you are driving yourself from the airport:

They are not kidding when they say you need 4 wheel drive. The roads between the town of Masatepe and the Hacienda are steep and unpaved, and you will probably have to maneuver around people, horses, oxen, etc, with little space to spare. Make sure you have a cell phone so you can call Luis when you get to Masatepe. You can buy a cheap cell phone for $20 (plus the cost of minutes) at one of the kiosks at the airport, or we were told that you can rent one from the rental car company for $5/day. GPS will get you to the town of Masatepe but it will not get you to the Hacienda. FYI there are no street name signs anywhere between the airport and Hacienda, so GPS is very helpful to have.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bunbun81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Masatepe
6.1 mi away
Pacaya Lodge & Spa
Pacaya Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Catarina
101 reviews
15.7 mi away
Jicaro Island Ecolodge Granada
Jicaro Island Ecolodge Granada
#2 of 4 in Isletas de Granada
330 reviews
11.6 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#3 of 43 in Granada
1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Isleta El Espino Ecolodge
Isleta El Espino Ecolodge
#1 of 4 in Isletas de Granada
90 reviews
2.8 mi away
Madera's Inn
Madera's Inn
#3 of 5 in Masaya
61 reviews
12.0 mi away
Los Patios Hotel
Los Patios Hotel
#6 of 43 in Granada
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Puerta Del Cielo Eco Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Puerta Del Cielo Eco Spa

Property: Hacienda Puerta Del Cielo Eco Spa
Address: Camino de los Bueyes, Nimboja #2 | Masaya, Masatepe 42600, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Masaya Department > Masatepe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Masatepe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hacienda Puerta Del Cielo Eco Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a green mountainside paradise in beautiful, sun-kissed Nicaragua. "Hacienda Puerta del Cielo Ecolodge & Spa" borders a protected national rainforest, teeming with colorful flora and fauna. Imagine yourself relaxing in a tropical pool overlooking a peaceful lagoon or meditating in a breezy hammock on your own private veranda. Explore the natural environment of our exclusive -adults only- boutique hotel and enjoy Ecotourism in luxury! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Hacienda Puerta Del Cielo Eco Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Puerta Del Cielo Eco Hotel Masatepe
Hacienda Puerta Del Cielo Eco Spa Nicaragua/Masatepe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing