We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (393)
Filter reviews
393 results
Traveler rating
357
22
6
6
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
357
22
6
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hacienda puerta del cielo masaya volcano other guests active volcano the owner outdoor shower zip lining tour guide every meal beautiful country honeymoon suite eco lodge off the beaten path dirt road one of a kind natural beauty national park
Filter
Updating list...
282 - 287 of 393 reviews
Reviewed April 16, 2012

The Hotel was the most expensive one in our 2-weeks trip through Nicaragua. It did not, however, offer the best experience - actually, it was the worst. I would say it was okay overall, but given the extraordinary price, I have to rate it a bad deal:

First off, it was very hard to find, some taxis didn't know the route and others just plainly refused to take the difficult, shabby and steep road. Be prepared to get ripped off for the fare too or pay extra for a hotel-organized transport.
Once we arrived, the Hotel was closed because they never got our reservation (they lost it, as we later found out). Staff has been helpful and friendly, though, opened up the place and offered an upgrade. Which, as they later told us, costed extra - of course. The breakfast was very underwhelming and well beyond western or even nicaraguan standards. Now the good points: the view was magnificient, the scenery and hotel is very quiet (no TV, but no WLAN either as promised), you can really relax there. The moonlight dinner (with or without candle) is very romantic and nice.

Just beware: prices are - as always in Nicaragua - excl. tax and service fees (app. 20 %) and tours from the hotel are 5 times overpriced (no kidding: vulcano day tour is 90 USD per person...we organized it ourselves with buses and taxis and paid around 15 bucks). If you don't have a car, you are stuck there during the night...you can't even walk somewhere. I recommend spending one night in Granada instead...you can do much more tours (including vulcano masaya and laguna de apoyo) from there for much less money and are not totally isolated. Unless, of course, that is what you want ... :)

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank lenigraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jcespinosa, Owner at Hacienda Puerta Del Cielo Eco Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2012

Dear Lenigraz:

As the owner of Hacienda Puerta del Cielo, I would like to extend my heartfelt apologies if your stay at our Eco Lodge did not meet your expectations. It is our primary goal to present our Guests with the best experience in sustainable tourism that Nicaragua has to offer. We pride ourselves in the ability to consistently provide our Guests with a once-in-a-lifetime experience, comfortable accommodations, excellent service, as well as, delicious and plentiful Nicaraguan inspired meals during their stay at Hacienda Puerta del Cielo. The concrete testament to this fact can be discovered upon reading the 75 Trip Advisor reviews we have previously received: 69 Guests have awarded us with Excellent Ratings and 6 Guests with Very Good Ratings. Yours is the only negative review we have received in the 2 years since we have opened our doors.

There would be no point in my attempting to change your opinion of our little piece of paradise, however, I would like to point out that we did not lose your reservation. We did not receive your reservation information until after your arrival. This was an omission on the part of your booking agent. We did contact them and they said that they corrected the problem.

I am sorry if you were inconvenienced by the difficult access to our Resort. However, it is our intent to prevent unknown persons from entering the grounds without a reservation. We are a very private and secluded Resort, which houses 10 staff members and a maximum of 12 Guests at one time. For the safety and privacy of our Guests, our gates remain closed and locked at all times.

Yes, we are in a remote location. We consider our location to be the most beautiful aspect of our Eco-Lodge. It would be impossible to enjoy our "Magnificent View," as you wrote, without venturing off of the beaten track. In an effort to provide our Guests with a comfortable, personalized, and stress-free experience, we send a "Welcome Letter" with every reservation, which provides general information, directions, and requests food and drink preferences for each Guest. We always recommend that Guests contact us before arrival so that we might provide airport pick-up, or transportation from neighboring towns, or driving directions to our Resort. Again, as we never received your reservation and you did not contacted us prior to your arrival, we were not able to provide these services to you.

We are certainly not the most economical place to stay in Nicaragua. There are a myriad of hotel rooms which can be had for less. However, in exchange for a higher room rate, we offer first-class accommodations, excellent one-to-one service from our eager, well-trained, and amiable staff (as you had experienced it), hassle-free personalized excursions and cultural immersion opportunities, as well as, a breathtakingly gorgeous place to reflect and relax. The prices of our Guest Rooms and "Casitas" are clearly listed on our website, so there are no surprises to our Guests. As our Casitas are our most private and spacious accommodations, we always offer them to arriving guests when available. You were offered and accepted an upgrade to a Casita at a discounted rate.

We offer Private Excursions to our Guests as an option and a courtesy. It is not the least expensive way to travel. Most of our Guests prefer to experience Nicaragua's fascinating and varied sights in the comfort, safety and convenience of our “small” escorted tours, with an English-speaking Guide and in a new air-conditioned van. However, our Concierge is always available to provide travel tips and directions for Guests who choose to venture-out on their own. I understand that our Concierge personally drove you, to Masatepe and provided directions, recommendations, and personal safety advice to explore the Masaya Volcano complex on your own.

Finally, if there has ever been a complaint about our food, it has been to say that there is too much! Regrettably, there was an miscommunication at breakfast. Hacienda Puerta del Cielo's breakfast is served in three courses. First, our Guests are offered coffee and baked goods; Second, a fruit plate with yogurt; and Third, the main course. Unfortunately, you left the table before your main course was served. I apologize that this was not explained to you before hand.

I hope that your negative experience with us does not prevent you from returning to Nicaragua. Our pristine land of lakes and volcanoes is brimming with natural beauty, colorful history, cultural diversity and warm, engaging people. If you do plan to return, we would be glad to assist you in arranging activities and accommodations more suited to your budget.

Best Regards,

JC Espinosa
HACIENDA PUERTA DEL CIELO ECOLODGE & SPA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

I highly recommend staying at Hacienda Puerta del Cielo in Masatepe before you leave Nicaragua. Only 1.5 hour drive from Managua! Luxury meets natural beauty at this place. The food, service and amenities are all top notch. The rooms are modern, bright and clean. The staff members make you feel very welcome. The surrounding area provides one with the utmost tranquility and beauty.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank P S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at Hacienda Puerta del Cielo for 4 nights while traveling in Nicaragua. The location is a bit remote (the only negative). The price was great, the views majestic, and the property is lovely, but our biggest takeaway was the amazing hosts and staff. We were lucky enough to be staying while the owners, Juan Carlos and Linda, were there. They are unbelievably gracious hosts and having them around was fun and helpful. They were very informative about local culture and the country's history. Staying at Hacienda felt like a real bed and breakfast experience, spending a lot of time touring, relaxing and eating with the hosts and other guests.

Definitely recommend this vacation to fellow travelers!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aliwisc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

This was our first trip to Nicaragua and we were somewhat reluctant to visit this seemingly remote Eco Spa. Our two days there were an amazing experience and a wonderful introduction into the warmness of the Nicaraguan people. Our casita was well appointed and had a spectacular view of the Masatepe volcano and lake. Linda, Juan Carlos and Luis were charming and hospitable hosts. The general feeling of the Spa is casual with the option of relaxing on your private patio, sitting by the pool or hanging out around the low keyed bar with the owners and other guests. The local fruit drinks were excellent. Our meals were casual local food but very good and the staff was eager to accommodate any of our requests. There was no menu but If you have food preferences or allergies the staff will accommodate you. We met some interesting guests, had a massage on our patio and went to a folk concert in Masaya with Linda and JC. This is a lovely place to unwind and our hosts made our stay very special. Yes the road in is somewhat
interesting but after a few trips is is not so intimidating.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MegCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

This property is basically a very nice bed and breakfast. With only about half a dozen rooms you get to know everyone, guest and the owners. You are secluded, so do not expect to do more than sit under the star and relax at night. Food was pretty good and the servers are learning, drinks were cheap and there are plenty activities to do within a 30-40 minute drive. I would recommend for laid back travelers who appreciate a slower pace and relaxation.

Tip for diving there: The road there is interesting, but no problem in an SUV. When driving into Masatepe (from Managua) there will be a gas station on your left. Take your next right (I believe the building has a painted Coca-Cola sign). Keep going straight, past the church in town until you see a 3 way intersection, take a right and then your next right onto the dirt road. Drive until you see the entrance on your left (you may think "this can not possibly be the road" but keep going, this is when an SUV helps).

Additional plus for having a 4x4 SUV, you can drive yourself to the top of Mombacho.

Room Tip: If you want seclusion get a casita, as the guestrooms (with twin beds) are close to the common areas.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews