We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to return to Nicaragua and stay at the Hacienda Puerta del cielo Eco Spa!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hacienda Puerta Del Cielo Eco Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Masatepe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Can't wait to return to Nicaragua and stay at the Hacienda Puerta del cielo Eco Spa!”
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Flying in to Nicaragua, my boyfriend was ill. We were to stay at the Hacienda that night. When we called, Luis the manager was very accommodating and understanding of the situation. He moved our check in date for the next day. It was quite the drive to get there but as we got close Luis met us on the main road and drove us to the Hacienda.
All of our meals were cooked to order, the fruit juices so perfect and breakfast was divine.
Luis was an invaluable resource for places to go, how to get there and what to see.
Thank you so much for making our stay so lovely, we can't wait to come back and stay at the Hacienda!
Jessica and Bill

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Munditravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    19
    5
    5
    2
See reviews for
24
227
20
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

We absolutely loved Hacienda Puerta del Cielo. It was an amazing stay - it was an adventure getting there. My husband and I planned our honeymoon in Nicaragua to include 2 nights here and we wish it had been longer. The property is breathtaking, the bungalows are wonderful - spacious, decorated very nicely and best of all, have an outdoor shower!
We were up every morning early for bird watching, followed by a gourmet breakfast and the best coffee I've ever had in my life. Sitting in the outdoor areas, overlooking the pool, jungle and volcano, sipping coffee was my favorite part of the day. We did lots of hiking and exploring and met so many interesting people. We can't wait to get back there!

Room Tip: Ask for a bungalow. They are definitely worth the little bit of extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 5, 2012

We didn't have too many expectations when we booked our little getaway but we did have some "idea" of what it might be like since we have stayed all over in Costa Rica. We were promptly picked up the airport, highly recommended esp. if your stay will be just a week, and were quickly driven through the countryside into Masatepe. We arrived at the gates which reminded of some spaghetti western and once out of the car we were met with a bunch of smiles and a cold drink. From there on out we were totally taken care of and brought right into the Puerta Del Cielo family. The tours are quite informative, the massage was relaxing, the dinners are quite fun, the view is mesmerizing and the absolute solitude that this place embodies is simply amazing. HIGHLY recommended for people who want to get away from the city.

Thanks JC, Linda, Luis and the rest of the crew!

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice. The most private ones are all the way to the left.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank schawel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
110 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2012

We LOVED Hacienda Puerta del Cielo! We had spent 7 nights on the coast of Nicaragua and 3 nights at Hacienda. Within 15 minutes of arriving at Hacienda we wished we had flipped our trip and spent more time there than on the coast. Within 2 hours I had already inquired to what the weather would be like in November so that we could return for my birthday. It really is that nice.
It's a really small resort, I think accommodating a maximum of 12 guests. The view is breathtaking, overlooking a crater lake and a volcano in the distance. The service is outstanding. The food was absolutely delicious. It was so peaceful and quiet and very relaxing. The bar was great as well. All their drinks are made with fresh juices. The macua is a must and they make a mean mojito as well. The tours they offer were great and very affordable.
We had originally booked one of the smaller rooms, which was very nice, but we were able to upgrade to one of the cabins and it was spectacular. I would highly recommend renting one of the private cabins.
The grounds were beautiful and there was art everywhere. Just can't say enough good things. Cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: rent one of the private cabins, it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keithtdesigns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2012

The small, but luxurious property is simply stunning, as are the views of the lake, jungle, and Masaya Volcano that stretch out before you. The weather was also perfect when we visited (March) as it is hot enough during the day, but pleasantly cool at night. No humidity and no bugs at all. Its location also provides a useful base for exploring many, many other locations in the surrounding area, whether on your own or on tours organized by the resort.

The food, which is included in the price, was all very good. On our last night we had filet mignon, for example. While not included, wine, beer, and cocktails are all very reasonably priced.

In addition to the property itself, the staff were wonderful. The owners, Juan Carlos and Linda, happened to be there while we were there and were extremely friendly. We dined al fresco at one table with them and the other two guests and they regaled us with tales and advice for our trip. It was like being invited to a friend's private home for a special get together.

There was one minor issue while we were there and the staff immediately dealt with it and are all extremely friendly and attentive.

I would caution that the last 1.5km of the road is quite harrowing. If you are just traveling to this resort, I would highly recommend taking advantage of the transfers from MGA. It will save you a lot of stress. If you are driving here (or anywhere else really), I'd very much recommend getting an SUV. Our Toyota Corolla made it to the Hacienda and all around the country OK, but an SUV would have been better.

In short, I could not more highly recommend a visit to this property, It was really amazing and relaxing -- and a very good deal.

Room Tip: The two rooms are small, but there's no reason to be in them other than to sleep so we didn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoshuaJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

You have found it: the peace and beauty of an unspoilt tropical destination and the perfect place to stay to enjoy it. Here is a magical land of water, forest and volcanos. You can gaze down into the Mouth of Hell, marvel at the giant ferns in the cloud forest, let the brilliant colors and shapes of Grenada dance before your eyes, and be back in time for cocktails. Hacienda Puerto Del Cielo really does lives up to its name. It's built into built into a hillside. The views are stunning, and we loved the natural materials and openness of the rooms and public spaces. Our comfortable and spacious casita (Bella) had a wall of screened french windows opening onto a private patio overlooking the valley and volcano. Whether you wanted to be private or sociable, in the sun or in the shade, there was always a hammock or lounge chair in just the right place, and someone offering you a cool drink.
The owners Juan Carlos and Linda are quite remarkable hosts. Warm, generous and enthusiastic, they really do make you feel like a guest in their home. And the young Nicaraguan staff clearly benefit from their genorosity and mentorship too.With the result that they, too, go out of their way to look after you and practice their English. The food was fresh, simple, using local recipes and ingredients. It was all delicious, from the first big cup of fabulous local coffee in the morning to the home made dessert under the stars at night.. Try and stay at least FOUR full days - and longer if you can. That way you can enjoy all the amazing excursions and still have time to relax at the Hacienda and enjoy a massage. Thank you KLinda and JC, for a truly a truly wonderful trip and a glimpse of sustainable tourism at its best. I can't stop thinking about it or talking about it. We'll be back.

.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alison R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2012

We stayed at Hacienda Puerto Del Cielo for seven wonderful nights. I have to say it was one of my all time favorite vacation spots. The owners Juan Carlos and Linda were wonderful hosts, funny, generous with their time and knowledge and a pleasure to be around. We loved the staff and felt like we got to know some of them well. We also enjoyed getting to know the other guest who we shared meals with and went with on some trips.

The location is just spectacular, with views of the lagoon, volcano, mountains, flowers, birds and fruit tress. It is just cut off enough to feel like you’ve gotten away from everything, while being close enough to go on excursions with the staff. The star filled nights were another thing that we were able to enjoy every night because of the location.

The food and drink were far too good so go prepared to enjoy the wonderful Nicaraguan food prepared by the talented cooks there. I expressed an interested in learning to make tortillas and some Nicaraguan dishes, and voila, they made it happen and I learned to make several of the lunches.

I can’t speak highly enough of this wonderful little hidden jewel. I know that I will be returning again and bringing friends with me to share the experience.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lisargold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Masatepe
15.7 mi away
Jicaro Island Ecolodge Granada
Jicaro Island Ecolodge Granada
#1 of 4 in Isletas de Granada
329 reviews
6.1 mi away
Pacaya Lodge & Spa
Pacaya Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Catarina
95 reviews
11.6 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#4 of 43 in Granada
1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Los Patios Hotel
Los Patios Hotel
#3 of 43 in Granada
315 reviews
14.9 mi away
Isleta El Espino Ecolodge
Isleta El Espino Ecolodge
#2 of 4 in Isletas de Granada
89 reviews
11.9 mi away
Hotel Patio del Malinche
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Puerta Del Cielo Eco Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Puerta Del Cielo Eco Spa

Property: Hacienda Puerta Del Cielo Eco Spa
Address: Camino de los Bueyes, Nimboja #2 | Masaya, Masatepe 42600, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Masaya Department > Masatepe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Masatepe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hacienda Puerta Del Cielo Eco Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a green mountainside paradise in beautiful, sun-kissed Nicaragua. "Hacienda Puerta del Cielo Ecolodge & Spa" borders a protected national rainforest, teeming with colorful flora and fauna. Imagine yourself relaxing in a tropical pool overlooking a peaceful lagoon or meditating in a breezy hammock on your own private veranda. Explore the natural environment of our exclusive -adults only- boutique hotel and enjoy Ecotourism in luxury! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Hacienda Puerta Del Cielo Eco Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Puerta Del Cielo Eco Hotel Masatepe
Hacienda Puerta Del Cielo Eco Spa Nicaragua/Masatepe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing