We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant start, disappointing ending..”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stonegate
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bardown Farm Holiday Cottages
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Arriving at the farm is very exciting. The accomodations are beautiful and clean; providing pretty much all you need for a comfortable stay. The interior is well styled, with high quality linen, bedding and white goods (inc a luxory fridge/freezer). The bedrooms are very comfortable, the en-suites layed out well and to a very high standard. You can tell a lot of effort has been made when transforming the barns.
The solar heated out door pool was initially quite dirty, but after raising this this Alison, she cleaned it out and having a swim was a lovely touch to the weekend, especially as the sun shone unexpectedly.
Now Friday evening after settling in, we noticed that building works were being carried out right next to accomodation. Alison advised us this would stop by 5pm, and by 7pm it was just coming to an end. We over looked this as Alison obviosly had a huge job ongoing with rebuilding a house and we assumed then the works had stopped for the weekend.

On Saturday morning from 8 am, we were woken up by building works which went on through out the morning. We put up with it initially hoping it would end, but by midday the works were still continuing to the point we were unable to hear each other outside whilst sitting in the sunshine. I had to personally phone Alison, who initially said she would ask the builder to 'keep it down'. I was not happy with this, having not been told of any building works and having paid good money and asked her to bring the works to a holt whilst we were on holiday for the long weekend. Alison said she had been let down by the builder so was catching up, but eventually the works came to an end.

We were on a hen weekend and enjoyed an evening of fun and frollics. Whilst most of us were in bed, a few naughty ladies ended up in the pool at around 3am. Alison was very unhappy with this understandebly and came out and asked them to get out, as it was too dangerous. The girls who were already out of the pool went back to their house and went to bed. The next morning was lovely, sitting in the sunshine and relaxing - alison came over and chatted with us, with no mention of the pool incident form the night before. She offered us to take eggs from the chicken if we wished and explained we coudl feed the animals if we wished too.

Then the works started again in the afternoon (Sunday), nothing too heavy but still an annoying back ground noise.

We all visited the Old Vine pub, which was outstanding and hoped on our return the noise would have come to an end. The building works got louder and louder and the noise continued all the way through until 23:40pm, when we finally decided to call Alison, again, about these unacceptable late works as we had been wanting to go to bed. Alison's advised us that as we had asked for the works to stop the day before, they were now catching up, and she also said she felt also felt very tired form having to get up to the few who entered the pool the night before. This response came across with retaliation and a childish attitude. It was a shame as face to face Alison came across a very friendly lady, but actually was very unprofressional about the building works. Alison completely missed the point; we had booked and paid sixteen hundred pounds for a long weekend for a holiday in the country side on a farm, not on a buildiing site. There had been no mention of buidling works when booking, and she had shown no consideration that we had put up with cement mixers, cranes, drilling and banging already for three days. In fact she said she didn't think it was a problem as she said @I have just seen you all in your lounge chatting away" This was totally invasive and irrational, who in their right mind would not care about building works, at 23:40pm whilst on holiday.

Some of the group left on sunday afternoon, and Alison entered one of the houses and cleaned it before our check out time at 10am on Monday. She also entered one of the other cottages without us being there before our check out time. I felt very unhappy about this, we had hired all four cottages and paid a large amount of money for them to be ours until Monday 10am - she should not have entered any of them until after this time.

I have hired many cottgaes and houses in the past, and it's is a shame, as I would have definitely returned to these accomodations but I feel the owners need to brush up with their customer care.
It would have been more welcoming if Alison had introduced herself on our arrival, and then left us to it until Monday 10am. She should not have entered our cottages and no way should there have been building works carried out over the weekend. This to me showed greed, if works were to be carried out; the cottages should not have been let.
This was a very lovely weekend, but the surrounding noises and difficulties certainly left us feeling frustrated. I would not return.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Demelza Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (29)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 29 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2012

We stayed at Bardown Farm during the easter holidays in the Roost Cottage, the cottage is full of old charm but with all the modern equipment you need. We were greeted by Barley the farm dog, which we through sticks for from morning till night!. Our Children aged 6 and 9 throughtly enjoyed every minute of our stay, from feeding the lambs, pigs and chickens to cuddling the new puppies to the extent we nearly brought one home. Alison and family are warm and friendly and the kids were lucky enough to have six other children to play with from the other cottages, they were off exploring for the best part of two days and we could not even drag them away to visit the surronding area! We will be back next Easter.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank louise s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

We stayed as a family at Bardown Farm in August 2011 in the Calf Shed. We were the third family to stay in this cottage and the quality of the accommodation was excellent. The cottage was very comfortable and well equipped with two bedrooms and two wheelchair accessible bathrooms. The bathrooms are wet rooms, perhaps this is a personal thing but I am not fond of wet rooms as the water goes everywhere.

Whilst the accommodation was lovely, the view was not. The cottage does have a reasonable sized enclosed garden, with table, chairs and recliners, but it overlooks the back of the animal shed. Whilst I appreciate one of the charms of Bardown Farm is that it is a working farm, it is unfortunate that this luxurious cottage is situated where it is and next to the quite noisy road.

The beds in the twin bedroom were very comfortable and were electric to help those with mobility problems. Unfortunately, the kingsized bed was rock hard and very unforgiving, therefore my and my husbands sleep quality was not so good. One problem we did find in the cottage was that of noise. The TV in the lounge is hung on the wall to the second bedroom, therefore if you have children who are light sleepers TV noise can be an issue. However, there are TV's in both of the bedrooms to get around this minor problem.

The girls loved the pool, which was very warm - a positive considering the traditional English summer weather. They also enjoyed feeding the animals and the games room.

Bardown Farm is well positioned for a number of interesting day trips out around Kent and Sussex. The owners are helpful, a problem with the cottage internet connection was quickly solved.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Martin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

Have just returned (10/8/11) from an excellent week in Ewe Cottage at Bardown Farm. We were made most welcome by Alison & Colin and our welcome pack soon expelled the rigours of the M25. The cottage was well furnished to relax with all the kitchen equipment you need (dishwasher on holiday is always a must). The view, even when we were watching the rain approaching, was spectacular over the valley either from outside or from the full length windows. Our boys (14 & 8) loved both the games room and the swimming pool. We were sceptical at the thought of an outside pool, but it was so warm it was difficult for all of us to get out, it was colder outside (great British weather). It was so nice to be around the farm with pigs and ponies in the barn and sheep in the nearby fields. We also did the 40 minute walk around the fields - its useful to remember to take the map with you; it would have saved us about 20 minutes of arguing which way to go, but an easy 60 minute walk.

The location was also useful, with Eastbourne, Hastings, Rye, Battle etc in easy reach. As the farm is only a few miles from Tunbridge Wells it was easy to visit the shops, restaurants etc if that is what you want. We went for local pubs and found two in neighbouring villages (The George at Frant and The Vine at Cousley Wood) with good beer, friendly staff, children friendly and most of all good food. However for a lazy night in, the Indian takeaway/restaurant in Wadhurst was extremely good.

Would definitely recommend and hope to return soon.

The Matthews Family

Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
3  Thank matthews183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

After returning for a second time to Bardown Farm, we have found it to be even better, especially enjoying the facilities it has to offer. The children made full use of the heated outdoor pool, whilst we enjoyed having a reunion meal with the family. Many thanks to alison for such a warm welcome, and superb hospitality throughout our week.

We will definitely be back next year!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pingoo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2011

We've stayed at Bardown Farm Holliday Cottages for the last three years and will be back this year. It's the perfect place to stay if you have a family or just to relax. Facilities are great and the view is spectacular.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hobbes0481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2011

This place is geared well towards families with younger children but does not deliver the luxury accommodation promised on the website. The cottages are set in a working farm. Reading between the lines, this means messy surrounds and noise. We were woken up the first morning by building work directly outside our room. It was disappointing that we were not warned of this when we checked in.

The bed in the main bedroom was the most uncomfortable we had ever slept on and we spent all 4 nights struggling to get comfortable. This was a real shame, especially given that this accom is not cheap.

Downstairs is well appointed with a good kitchen, comfortable sofas and everything you would need.

The games room is messy, neglected and unclean. Like something from a school camping facility. We were there without children so we didn't need to use it.

Nowhere to walk on the property. We went on a walk around the field but it was littered with piles of wood, old tyres etc. This detracted from what is otherwise a good setting with views across the Weald. Garden around the units was disappointing compared to the beautiful gardens at all our other accommodation on the trip.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mangosteen99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bardown Farm Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bardown Farm Holiday Cottages

Address: Stonegate TN5 7EL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Stonegate
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Stonegate
Hotel Class:5 star — Bardown Farm Holiday Cottages 5*
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing