We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (171)
Filter reviews
171 results
Traveler rating
80
54
23
11
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
80
54
23
11
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmade us feelmy sonchillinice placea great experiencesteveclimbmendozaaconcaguaridehospitalityplazadishesscratchtransportdecembertents
Filter
Updating list...
57 - 62 of 171 reviews
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in Ayelen Hotel de Montana (very stylish!) - it was between the season (or something like that), almost empty and restaurant was closed, but Steve asked cook to come and make dinner for us late evening. Food was excellent, of course argentinian steak!
He told us where to go and what to see in Mendoza, pity we had only 2 days. But we had great 2 evenings and long talks with Steve.
I recommend this place to everybody driving by, the scenery around is stunning - and Aconcagua greeting you, nearby!
Thanks Steve.
Alicja and Jerzy from Canada

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alicja A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

This is a hotel with an excellent design. The common areas are beautiful. The rooms are simple and aging, but the new owner is renovating the property and provides some of the most attentive service that I have encountered anywhere, regardless of price. He is from London, so this is a great place for the English speaking visitors to the region. He has also hired an excellent cook. The dishes range from simple, high quality home cooking to daring and flavorful. I couldn't have been happier with my stay. As a bonus for Aconcagua climbers, Inka Expeditions has rented a space in the car park under the hotel. This makes the hotel a very convenient location for those needing to hire mule service to and from base camp.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We could think of nothing else but the hot showers and soft bed when we were on the plains of Aconcagua. The food was excellent and very reasonable wine and champagne.Steve our host was very friendly and helped us during our stay.

Room Tip: all rooms are very quiet. Could have had hairdryers in the room or for hire. My hair was wet at night for dinner.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simten_56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed there in summer on the way to Aconcagua as a group of about 20. Service was great! Food was great! Prices were right. You can tell it is a nice place that got run down, but is on the way back up. Current owner Steve, a great English bloke, has had it for a year now and is making significant improvements. Infrastructure first. There was plenty of hot water and water pressure, good plumbing, potable water from the tap, and a computer in the common space with free internet access. (no wireless,... yet?). Rooms are big and comfortable, though fairly simple (TV in room but didn't turn it on. I didn't even ask if there was cable), with a nice little balcony The kitchen turned out plenty of quality tasty food- I loved the lentil salad, and a bunch of the entrees and deserts. Beer, wine, liquor. There is a GAME ROOM with ping pong, pool etc. Friendly environment, and a wonderful international crowd.

Pray for snow so that Steve gets more business in the winter. Also, the pool is currently non-functional, but the space is great. Steve is planning on having an outdoor jacuzzi and pool functioning next year, which will make the place awesome.

Visit and engage the others around you and you won't be disappointed.

-

Room Tip: Just ask Steve
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jbschneider75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Far away from civilization and nestled in the foothills of Andes, Ayelen is home away from home. This is no luxury resort and you should not expect any in the town. But if you are looking for basic comfort, great food, cozy rooms and a sun glazed lounge with amazing views, this is the place to be. The host and new owner Steve is superb and very helpful. Should you wish any information on local affairs and tourism, Steve would give you a better and tailored download instead of any tourist office. When you get tired of eating and relaxing, the basement snooker and tennis facilities will help you get back in action.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
Thank monsoons1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews