We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Mamuna(Uspallata)(Great Value!)
$62
Booking.com
View Deal
$261
$222
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$233
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
$295
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Plaza Hotel(Los Andes)
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Hotel Los Andes(Los Andes)
$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Refugio El Nico(Los Penitentes)
Booking.com
View Deal
Hosteria Penitentes(Los Penitentes)
Agoda.com
View Deal
Reviews (171)
Filter reviews
171 results
Traveler rating
80
54
23
11
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
80
54
23
11
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe ownergreat placerooms are cleanhot watermade us feelmy sonchillia great experienceaconcagua national parksteveclimbmendozateamridehospitalityplazalife
Filter
Updating list...
62 - 67 of 171 reviews
Reviewed February 20, 2013

I frequented Ayelen as part of my Aconcagua climb during Jan/Feb 2013 with a fellow climber. The service that Steve and his team provided was second to none, and extremely supportive during a slight 'admin problem' that occurred prior to our ascent, and subsequent 'lock-in!' due to 25 landslides along Ruta 7 on return from Aconcagua. Their friendly, charming demeanour is just what the doctor ordered when unpleasant situations occur, and I cannot thank them enough for their time, problem solving and support.

The food is of an extremely high quality; good choice at breakfast (sweet as well as savoury), excellent coffee n teas; superb and variable evening menu (we must have eaten everything on that menu during our stay); filling pack lunches for day hikes, and the selection of wines on the wine menu was extensive.

The rooms are large and clean, despite being a little tired, but there are plans afoot to rectify, modernise and improve the entire hotel. The current owners have been here only one year but the turn around has been noted by locals and guides alike.

Onwards and upwards for this great hotel; a fantastic location to boot; job well done Steve and the 'crew'.

I'll have no hesitation in returning, or recommending Ayelen to friends...... BZ

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saraheturner70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

I came back to the Ayelen Hotel after my climb of Aconcagua. I needed assistance to make it in time to Santiago to catch my flight. The hotel team was extraordinarily supportive and I am very thankful!!!
Well, after almost 3 weeks of Aconcagua, the Ayelen Hotel is a real sweet spot with all you need! Plus the food and support of the staff, and especially the help of the owner, it was a great pleasure to stay at the Ayelen.
All the best!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wolfgang H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We are a family of 4 with two boys aged 9 and 7 on a gap year together and have just spent 4 days at Hotel Ayelen, a rejuvenated hotel that dominates the small village of Penitentes, just a few kilometres from the foot of Aconcagua. The new owner, Steve, now in his second season in charge, is really turning the place around and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

The clues to the hotel’s former glories were clearly fading under the previous management. Now however, investment and refurbishment continues apace. And actually you forgive any work in progress (characterised by some dated bathroom suites and maybe the odd sign of wear) because the food is excellent, the service from the team is friendly and good, and the advice and guidance from the omnipresent Steve (he really doesn’t have a twin, he just works very long hours!) means that you quickly feel informed as to how to get the most from your stay.

We certainly were not disappointed with the buffet breakfast, included in the night rate, featuring delicious egg and bacon, a selection of cereals for sweet and non-sweet teeth, fresh fruit salad (this was proper fruit salad, not the fizzy mush we have sometimes had elsewhere,) complemented by cake and fresh bread, with unlimited fresh coffee and teas.

Although not included, there are good value options for lunch and dinner. You could get a packed lunch if you are off trekking, or a late lunch of toasted sandwiches and picadas. Dinner, (which most people take, thus creating a good ambiance) is provided from a high quality menu with plenty of choices, some reasonably priced wine and a generous and inventive selection of nibbles ahead of the main event!

There is a large games room on the downstairs floor, with table tennis, table football, pool, and a volleyball court, not often you find all these facilities in one place, the boys loved it and this was well used by guests.

A unique at the Ayelen is the make-up of the guests, and the sociability that this promotes. As much as there are people just passing through to or from Chile, there are groups who are about to climb, or who have just climbed Aconcagua. Their relief and enjoyment, if the latter, is both warming and inspiring. Their anticipation, if they are about to ascend, is tangible, and you share the sense of excitement as you discuss their expedition, their hopes, their planning, perhaps their sacrifices. This atmosphere is enhanced by the climbing photos from previous expeditions dotted around the building.

Our strong impression began well ahead of our stay with Steve’s helpful and informative approach by email too. We have no hesitation in recommending the Ayelen Hotel and look forward to a return visit with some greater climbing challenges once the boys are older.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Badersontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stayed here the night before and night after our Aconcagua trip. I don't think we appreciated it before but as a place to come back to it was superb. First experience of civilisation after 2 weeks camping, there was plenty of hot water for all of us to have the worlds longest showers, clean rooms, excellent service. The food was phenomenal - great choice and great wait staff. Steve the manager was extremely accommodating and I would not hesitate to go back here. Thanks for looking after us all!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sophie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

During a recent trip to Aconcagua, our group spent a night before our climb and a night after the climb in the Ayelen Hotel in Los Penetentes.
The buildings are old and in need of repair but the excellent service, hospitality of the owner (Steve) and the great food far outweigh any negatives. We were forced to stay overnight due to a problem with the road and Steve went out of his way to accomodate us (and the hundreds of other people that flocked to the venue) and make sure that we had a good nights rest after our climb.
Well done steve and trust that youe will realise your dreams for the future of this establishment.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank neilpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews