We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (171)
Filter reviews
171 results
Traveler rating
80
54
23
11
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
80
54
23
11
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmade us feelmy sonchillinice placea great experiencesteveclimbmendozaaconcaguaridehospitalityplazadishesscratchtransportdecembertents
Filter
Updating list...
65 - 70 of 171 reviews
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stayed here the night before and night after our Aconcagua trip. I don't think we appreciated it before but as a place to come back to it was superb. First experience of civilisation after 2 weeks camping, there was plenty of hot water for all of us to have the worlds longest showers, clean rooms, excellent service. The food was phenomenal - great choice and great wait staff. Steve the manager was extremely accommodating and I would not hesitate to go back here. Thanks for looking after us all!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sophie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

During a recent trip to Aconcagua, our group spent a night before our climb and a night after the climb in the Ayelen Hotel in Los Penetentes.
The buildings are old and in need of repair but the excellent service, hospitality of the owner (Steve) and the great food far outweigh any negatives. We were forced to stay overnight due to a problem with the road and Steve went out of his way to accomodate us (and the hundreds of other people that flocked to the venue) and make sure that we had a good nights rest after our climb.
Well done steve and trust that youe will realise your dreams for the future of this establishment.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank neilpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We went to Aconcagua et we were surprised to find such a good hotel so far away of the great center of Mendoza. We had heard that the hotel had not been modified since the 60s, but the service, the cleaniness, the friendly staff, the quality of the food (wow, it beats any high end restaurant in the big city with such details in the presentation), the ambiance, all made us forget that some repairs are still needed. We heard that the new administration is investing a lot in the infracstructures: we wish them all the best. They deserve it. We recommand this hotel to anyone who wants to feel at home/and wellcomed after the big mountain!

Nous sommes alles faire de la montagne et avons ete surpris par lambiance, le service et la qualite des repas que nous avons eu. Oui, lhotel est viellot et necessite des reparations importantes. Mais lambiance conviviale, la gentillesse du staff et la qualite des repas et grosseurs des portions compensent amplement pour ces petits desagrements. Cest sur, que pour linstant, ce nest pas un hotel de luxe, mais la structure est la et la volonte aussi. Pour moi, je ne mattendais pas a cette qualite si loin de tout. Il semble que les nouveaux proprio investissent les revenus sur lhotel: je leur souhaite bon succes!Christine C

Room Tip: Any side for the rooms are good. The view is quite exquisite. Steve the co-owner with his spouse are working hard at updating all the rooms.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

An oasis in the Penitentes !!! For those of us with Aconcagua on our mind this is the last taste of civilisation or indeed the first on the way back. Either way , its a great place , good food , friendly and wine to wash the atmosphere down !!! Well done to all concerned

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank didicum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

I can't say enough about the welcoming and helpful staff - especially Steve the new owner/manager. Ayelen is in a great location to begin and end your Aconcagua experience. It also has good food and great wine. Ask for some local wine recommendations - I recommend the empanadas and the steak, medium rare.

The "lodge" style property is undergoing updates, despite growing pains the rooms provide all of the basics you need to get some rest. The common areas are a great place to socialize with fellow climbers. We didn't spend much time in the rooms apart from sleep, but spent lots of time downstairs asking questions and swapping stories with other climbing teams.

This isn't a full-service "hotel" - but provides everything you need in a unique location.

Thank you so much Steve and team!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trailrunr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews