We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New owners doing a good job”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Los Penitentes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ayelen Hotel de Montana
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Los Penitentes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Thank you Mecha for a wonderful stay! My partner and I enjoyed our time at Hotel Ayelen on our way to Aconcagua. The menu, while limited, was well-prepared though service was a bit slow. The space is a retro-cool building in the mountains--my contractor partner thinks it has great bones and will be a spectacular structure once remodeled.

Though dated, it had a lot of personality. The new owners are very responsive to guest needs. Worth a stay.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prophetoracloud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (168)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

79 - 85 of 168 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2012

This hotel recently changed ownership and is a very good (only) place to stay as one comes in to Climb Aconcagua or on their way back to Mendoza. The buses that connect Santiago, Chile and Mendoza, Argentina pass right by this hotel as it's on National Hwy 7 (Argentina side).

The restaurant offers very good food at reasonable prices. Usually, no one books this hotel directly as it's booked through a Aconcagua climb guide company. I had to book a night there and it wasn't too expensive. he rooms are pretty large and clean. The bathrooms are ok, but hot water is really tepid water. Cold is really cold. Apparently, it also cater to the local population that comes to ski the hills of Penitentes. The main ski list is right across the street.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that's not on the front of the hotel along the main road. Although the view of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunondo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2012

We stopped here before and after climbing Aconcagua and its a blessed relief from the mountains! Steve is the new patron and although I can't compare to what it was like before, I can honestly say I haven't ever experienced such service in any hotel, anywhere. From a facilities perspective it is a "work in progress" as it transitions from what was obviously fairly run down. But for staff making guests feel welcome it is 10/10. Quite simply, they make you feel like it is you that comes first, and that they will do anything to make you feel at home.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Damien988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Like most of the latest reviews say, the hotel just came under new management a few months ago and have really turned this landmark hotel of Argentina around. The new managers (an Argentine woman and a British man) are warm, friendly, responsible and accommodating. They went out of their way to make sure we had a great experience - from ice cold beer after we arrived to one of the best steaks I've eaten in Argentina (that's saying A LOT) and an exquisite dulce de leche mousse. The reception area is warm and spacious with plenty of comfy sofas with world travelers relaxing and talking over coffee or drinks. The rooms themselves are basic and modest, but clean. The warmth you feel in the hotel more than makes up for any lack in luxury. We'd stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shannon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2012

The hotel is under new management (Steve). He and his staff are working incredibly hard to turn around a great structure. I stayed with a large group of climbers and we were treated extremely welcoming. The rooms were clean and the staff put us away from the highway. The food was oustanding. Dinners were great with a good variety, steak, chicken, veggies and all the cold drinks. Breakfast was everything needed, fresh fruits to meats and cereal. Some things are still being worked on but they are coming around. I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Porter Jr C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2012

The new management (Steve) has done a tremendous job fixing up the place. I was there in 2009 and the place was falling down. Steve has put his heart into the place and its starting to show. I would recommend this hotel to my friends now. Last January (2012), I revisited the place for a couple days and could not believe the changes! It was like a new hotel!!!

The food was GREAT and the staff was dedicated to serving customers.

We has a very large group (climbing Aconcagua) and never felt like we were neglected.

Next time to go back to Argentina, I will be staying at the Hotel Ayelen!

-Troy (with C.O.T.)

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tbacon251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2012

This hotel was physically neglected for years, but the new managers are making a great effort to revive it. They cater to Aconcagua climbers, so the meals are great. A great place from which to explore this stretch of Ruta 7, one of the most spectacular roads in the world, IMHO.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Billeklund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Penitentes
12.4 mi away
Portezuelo del Viento - Mountain Hostel
4.3 mi away
Refugio El Nico
Refugio El Nico
#3 of 6 in Los Penitentes
9 reviews
0 mi away
Refugio de Montana Mundo Perdido
Refugio de Montana Mundo Perdido
#1 of 6 in Los Penitentes
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ayelen Hotel de Montana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayelen Hotel de Montana

Address: Ruta 7 Km 1212 | Mendoza, Los Penitentes 5555, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Cuyo > Province of Mendoza > Los Penitentes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Los Penitentes
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A uniquely located hotel, directly between the two entrances to the Parque Provincial Aconcagua. Under new management and a program of renovation, Hotel Ayelen is an excellent choice for relaxation, comfort, good food and great company for anyone looking to experience the high Andes. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing