We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Much improved!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ayelen Hotel de Montana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ayelen Hotel de Montana
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Los Penitentes
Certificate of Excellence
Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Much improved!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2012

The new management (Steve) has done a tremendous job fixing up the place. I was there in 2009 and the place was falling down. Steve has put his heart into the place and its starting to show. I would recommend this hotel to my friends now. Last January (2012), I revisited the place for a couple days and could not believe the changes! It was like a new hotel!!!

The food was GREAT and the staff was dedicated to serving customers.

We has a very large group (climbing Aconcagua) and never felt like we were neglected.

Next time to go back to Argentina, I will be staying at the Hotel Ayelen!

-Troy (with C.O.T.)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tbacon251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    53
    20
    11
    3
See reviews for
35
31
21
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2012

This hotel was physically neglected for years, but the new managers are making a great effort to revive it. They cater to Aconcagua climbers, so the meals are great. A great place from which to explore this stretch of Ruta 7, one of the most spectacular roads in the world, IMHO.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Billeklund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockland, Maine
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2012

We recently had the privilege of spending two nights at the Ayelen in Penitentes - one night before and one night after - our climb of Aconcagua. This resort hotel apparently has recently undergone a makeover in terms of management and space AND it is truly a wonderful hotel. Heavy timbers and a large stone fireplace give the place the look and feel of a luxury ski lodge. The food is in the stratosphere. The chef (who makes his own yogurt and granola for breakfast - fabulous) offers steak, pork, and chicken selections that are unparalleled in terms of taste and presentation. The prices are very, very reasonable. The beer is icy cold and, of course, plenty of Malbec wine too. The staff is uber friendly and helpful and the rooms - while very plain - are super clean with terrific baths. Whether you are climbing are just visiting Mendoza, make this stop in this lovely corner of the world!

Room Tip: Room 309 is terrific! Higher floor and try to get a room away from the road traffic (although this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j&jglobalcitizens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2012

We only stayed one night at the Ayelen, but this was enough to be favourably impressed by the welcome from Mecha, the new owner of this large hotel in Los Penitentes, about 5 miles from the Parque Provincial Aconcagua. Despite the need for refurbishment in some of the rooms (these are ongoing), this was more than offset by the comfortable bed, excellent breakfast, and a dinner that would please anyone (particularly hungry walkers and climbers!). Staff were friendly and helpful, and we would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lowtreck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2011

I had to spend a few days unexpectedly at the Ayelen due to altitude problems climbing nearby Aconcagua. Steve and the team at the hotel were incredibly helpful and friendly, not only providing a great welcome over Xmas eve but also making arrangements to get me home via Santiago. Though the hotel still needs some fixing up - due to several years of neglect - the team is working hard to upgrade the facility. In the meantime, the food is very good (new chef) and the facility still has great "bones", and has the feel of a comfortable ski lodge. Special thanks to the team for getting the satellite TV working - a nice touch for me after 18 days on the mountain!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2011

The staff here are really helpful and the food and service is excellent. The menu is simple and diverse and they serve up the best homemade bread I´ve had in 8 trips to Argentina. Breakfast is delicious. Although Los P is best known as a ski resort, we came here in summer and there are some really good walks from the village which provide shorter and easier alternatives to climbing Aconcagua. The hotel´s recently been taken over by a young Argentinian business woman who speaks fluent English and who has big plans for the place. It had been run into the ground by the previous manager so they´ve have had to spend a lot on getting the infrastructure - plumbing, heating/A.C. etc sorted. They´ll be renovating the rooms and communal areas next.

Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DaydreamingDragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2011

What amazing people, staff, food! Sure it needs some polishing, but EVERYONE at Ayelen was so nice, helpful, and accommodating! BEST steak in Argentina! Thank you for making our stay fun!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lu C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Penitentes
12.2 mi away
Portezuelo del Viento - Mountain Hostel
0.0 mi away
Refugio de Montana Mundo Perdido
Refugio de Montana Mundo Perdido
#2 of 6 in Los Penitentes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
4.1 mi away
Refugio El Nico
Refugio El Nico
#3 of 6 in Los Penitentes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hospedaje Desvio Las Lenas
Hospedaje Desvio Las Lenas
#2 of 4 in Las Cuevas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Ayelen Hotel de Montana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayelen Hotel de Montana

Property: Ayelen Hotel de Montana
Address: Ruta 7 Km 1212 | Mendoza, Los Penitentes 5555, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Cuyo > Province of Mendoza > Los Penitentes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Los Penitentes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A uniquely located hotel, directly between the two entrances to the Parque Provincial Aconcagua. Under new management and a program of renovation, Hotel Ayelen is an excellent choice for relaxation, comfort, good food and great company for anyone looking to experience the high Andes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Ayelen Hotel de Montana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing