We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (480)
Filter reviews
480 results
Traveler rating
238
145
66
21
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
238
145
66
21
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews infinity pool relaxing weekend the river modern hotel enjoyed my stay amazing hotel excellent breakfast stayed for nights reception staff train station douro tennis pala pinhao maintenance desk riverside
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 480 reviews
Reviewed March 31, 2019 via mobile

We stayed for 4 days on a package through travel zoo. Hotel location is idyllic with uninterrupted views over the Douro river. Restaurant food was excellent. Rooms spacious with balcony overlooking river. Staff attentive and helpful.
Hotel is a good base for walking. Also it is 15 mins walk from Pala railway station where you can get trains to Porto or up the river to pretty town of Pinhão and beyond. Michael Portillo described the line as the most picturesque in Portugal.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank M3583VEcatherines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariana_Pereira2014, Gestor de Relações com o Cliente at Douro Royal Valley Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2019

Dear M3583VEcatherines, thank you so much for taking the time to give us your opinion about your stay in our hotel Douro Royal Valley Hotel & Spa. The comments of our guests are very important to us as we work daily to provide an impeccable service.

We are very happy to know that you were pleased with the service from our staff, our food and comfort. We will pass your reviews with all our team.

We hope to welcome you again soon, for another memorable stay with us. Sincerely, Mariana Pereira - Guest Service Agent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2019 via mobile

Located on a bend of the Douro river the hotel is ideally located for exploring the Douro wine growing region. This is a relatively new hotel being some three years old and purports to be five star. Certainly the food in the restaurant lives up to this achieving the highest standard in both taste and presentation.
As we were staying out of season the modern, minimalist design sometimes gave the impression of rattling around in a shoe box as there were very few other guests.
We only had one small complaint. There is a coffee (Nespresso pod) making machine in the bedroom which I used when we first arrived. Unfortunately there were only four pods three of which were not to my taste. We came back to the room the following day after a train trip up the Douro to find the pods had not been replaced. On checking at the desk I was told that the original supply of four pods was for our entire stay. WHAT? Get your act together Royal Douro this is ridiculous. Under protest room service delivered two extra pods. This little issue is why my review is only 4*. Grumble over.
The bed is one of the most comfortable I have slept in.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank 280mell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariana_Pereira2014, Gestor de Relações com o Cliente at Douro Royal Valley Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2019

Dear 280mell,

We would like to thank you for choosing Douro Royal Valley Hotel & SPA and for your kind comments about your stay. We are very glad to know that you were pleased with our location and comfort.

Many thanks for your recommendation as well. We have taken note of your comment and will review the opportunity for improvement.

We hope to have the pleasure of receiving your visit again soon.

Kind Regards, Mariana Pereira - Guest Service Agent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2018 via mobile

For a five stars hotel, lacks of maintenance and service. We wait HOURS to dinner...rooms are quite normal and spa was crowded. Worst thing was the service, too slow and not sufficient. Best thing of the hotel is the views.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank andreiac38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariana_Pereira2014, Gestor de Relações com o Cliente at Douro Royal Valley Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2019

Dear andreiac38, we would like to thank you for choosing Douro Royal Valley Hotel & Spa and for your kind comments about our location and the views from the hotel.
The comments of our customers are very important to us as we work daily to provide an impeccable service. I will pass your reviews with all our team.
We hope to welcome you again soon for a memorable stay with us. Sincerely, Mariana Pereira - Guest Service Agent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2018

We were expecting to be in a 5 star hotel, however, it needs lots of maintenance, sauna was broken, treadmill was broken, the shower on the room we stayed had a problem where the water would run to the carpet in the corridor and carpet was stained and wet all the time, there is NO ambiance or cozy place in the hotel. A huge concrete terrace area with no plants, fire pit or anything attractive, very large reception area without a cozy place to sit down or to enjoy the terrace or view. It is a very cold hotel . The pool that is with infinity edge to the Douro River, has NO heater, ok it is a very big pool, however the hot pool in the spa you have to wear a hair swim cap which they sell it in the SPA. What is good? Room very spacious, very good breakfast, staff very polite, beautiful view of Douro River and that is all.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Patricia Lara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariana_Pereira2014, Gestor de Relações com o Cliente at Douro Royal Valley Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2019

Dear Patricia, thank you for choosing Douro Royal Valley Hotel & Spa and for taking the time to tell us about your stay with us.
We are glad to know that you enjoyed our breakfast and our staff. Nevertheless, we have taken note of your comments regarding the maintenance points. Your comments will be considered in order to improve our offer and service. Please accept our most sincere apologies for any inconveniences this may have caused.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Douro Royal Valley Hotel & Spa in the near future. Yours sincerely, Mariana Pereira - Guest Service Agent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2018 via mobile

Wonderful views, great location and service, room is large with balcony overlooking Douro river and country side.
Great place to go for a walk(8k) by the river, peaceful, no cars, lovely scenery
Breakfast is included and very tasty, dinners were great, local food and wine.
Would love to return late spring/early summer.
Good place to go Wine tasting, river cruising.
Every room has river view.
Thank You Marco for booking taxis for us.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank liudmillas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariana_Pereira2014, Gestor de Relações com o Cliente at Douro Royal Valley Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2019

Dear Liudmilla, we would like to thank you for choosing Douro Royal Valley Hotel & Spa and for your kind comments about your stay. I am very glad to read that you were pleased with our location. I will pass your reviews with all our team. We hope to welcome you again soon, for another memorable stay with us. Sincerely, Mariana Pereira – Guest Service Agent.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews