We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (62)
Filter reviews
62 results
Traveler rating
33
21
5
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
33
21
5
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews swimming pool douro river train station noise wifi
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 62 reviews
Reviewed July 4, 2017 via mobile

My husband and I enjoyed three absolutely wonderful nights at Quinta da Ermida. When we arrived, the owner showed us all around the grounds including his many fruit trees, vineyard, and even a small waterfall! The Quinta is a gorgeous old building that's been updated to be comfortable for visitors but still maintains it's wonderful rustic quality.

We stayed on the top floor in the largest room. It had a spacious bedroom and bathroom as well as a sitting room with a view of the river. It was clean and beautiful.

We enjoyed dinner all 3 nights of our stay which we loved - roasted meats, potatoes, soup, and delicious wine. The food was comforting and appropriate for the setting.

The staff was helpful and friendly, especially Gabriela. She gave us suggestions on things to do in the area and we loved them all! We went out during the day and then relaxed at the lovely pool and grounds in the late afternoon and evening.

The only minor flaw was that the wifi is pretty weak, particularly in our room (pretty much nonexistent). It was easy for us to make do without it but definitely something to be aware of.

There are no words to adequately described the beauty of the Douro Valley, especially where Quinta da Ermida is located. Strong recommendation!

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Jessica E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2017

This a beautiful old fashioned Quinta. Hard to beat the memory of having breakfast outside in the sun overlooking the Douro. Dinner was good honest homecooking with (several) bottles of the house wine. This is not five star staff converge when you pull in and cater to your every whim accommodation - thank God!! It would then be three times the price. The staff are however very helpful. The pool was nice. Overall great value.

Room tip: Drawing room upstairs is very comfortable to read and sip a glass of wine
Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank R0ckh0lm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2017

Quinta is located on the bank of Douro river in a very peaceful location. Railway station is few minutes away, but there is no disturbing noise. Fantastic garden with old exotic trees and plants is worth exploring.
People are very friendly, rooms are very nice and clean.
Location is easy to find with Garmin navigation.
Breakfast and dinner are OK-

Room tip: View on the river!
Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MatjazZ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2017 via mobile

We spent a night here in April and enjoyed our stay.
We arrived by train and decided to walk to the hotel, as we could see the roof thru the trees and it looked like it was only a short walk. The lady in the cafe at the station told us to walk back along the train line - a bit hairy as the path included a narrow crossing of the river, next to the train line. When we eventually reached the hotel the back gate was locked so we had to ring to get someone to come down and unlock the gate. Interesting experience, but perhaps better to catch a taxi if you have lots of luggage.
Interesting old building with adequate facilities including a pool.
Friendly and helpful staff and a nice dinner in their restaurant.

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank C4622HXjohnk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2016 via mobile

Like with real estate, location, location, location. And this one is perfect. Very quiet, nice views and relative central in the Western Douro region. The Quinta is historical grandeur. So expect squeaking floors, antique furniture and older bathroom equipment. There is some maintenance needed here and there (we had to fix the shower outlet) but then you do not pay that much for a very spacious room. The facilities can be best enjoyed when the weather is nice. We had a bit of bad luck from that perspective and some of the inside rooms are a bit depressing with little light coming in. Breakfast is nice as are the dinners they provide at a very reasonable price. English skills of the staff is limited but with a bit of hand and feet work (+ google translate) manageable. They produce a nice red and white wine that you can buy to take home at a very reasonable price. It is a proud family business and that is what you experience when you stay here.

Date of stay: June 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank 25JBM1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews