We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (62)
Filter reviews
63 results
Traveler rating
33
22
5
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
33
22
5
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews swimming pool douro river train station noise wifi
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 63 reviews
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Having read previous reviews, visiting Quinta da Ermida was to be the highlight of our Portuguese tour. How disappointing! True, the weather was not as good as previous reviewers obviously enjoyed but that only put more attention to the house and not the views which can be seen from any number of houses.
We had the Superior Double Room. Agreed it was large and well decorated. However, there the Superior ended.
The bed was a four poster and comfortable with monogrammed sheets and pillow cases but don't look inside the pillow cases. They must have been there since the house was built along with the chest of drawers. Once pulled out no amount of pushing could get them closed. Also, for such a big room the only seat was a rickety chair in the corner.
The bath was growing mould around the seal with the wall and the water took in excess of two minutes to get warm then it would go cold again before getting hot. The bath also sported a grubby non-slip mat.
In the public "salon" the cushions had sagged to almost non-existence.
There was a billiard table in the entrance but nothing to play with. We found dog mess in that area which stayed for two days before I pointed it out.
Apart from the first night the only time we saw the host was when we checked out where I suggested that they could have information available about the surrounding area. The reply being there is a station nearby where you can go to Porto or Regua!
This may sound a singularly bad review but there were other guests from Holland and Denmark who felt the same as us.

Date of stay: June 2014
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Our Portuguese friend recommended this place and for good reason. It was inexpensive and had beautiful grounds. Antonio was a very gracious host and in spite of being in the midst of harvest season (grapes) he took the time to see that we were very well taken care of. His property includes extensive vineyards from which we were offered generous amounts of his product (he even gave us some bottles to take home). Ask him to give you a tour of his winery -he takes great pride in his operation.

Breakfast on the terrace, overlooking the Duro, covered the table and included fruits and juices produced on site. Dinner can be arranged with enough notice, otherwise we were pointed to a very nice restaurant in nearby Resende.

The riverside pool is great, and when I got out our host had cold beers waiting. The rooms are nice and all in a very impressive old mansion. If you're looking for a modern cushy hotel this isn't it, but the rooms are clean, spacious and comfortable.

If you don't want to drive here you can fly to Porto, take the subway from the airport to the train station, and take a train to the Ermida station where Antonio will collect you.

Thank you Antonio -your place is great!

Room tip: Ask for a room facing the river. If you are traveling with a group or family you can rent and adjacent apartment/house.
Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank portagem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Quinta da Ermida hotel offers different options for accomodation, from booking rooms in the main house to renting guest houses located in their property, with up to 4 rooms. The scenary around the property is gorgeus, with a nice garden near the river, tenid court, swimming pool and private boat dock. I and my friends booked 3 rooms in this hotel to spend New Years Eve in 2012 and we were accomodated in a guest house (4 rooms) near the river, with amazing views over the Douro River. The house is an extension of the old mill, located just at the river bed, not easily accesible by car. The rooms were spacious but the bathrooms were tiny and not comfortable at all. The weather in Douro in December is cold and wet and the house is not properly conditioned; the rooms were equiped with wall-mounted heat air conditioners that could hardly warm up the room, feeling quite cold and dampy. There was not dining room, and the kitchen was very dirty. The house is rented for 200 EUR / night, which results pricy for 3 couples and based on the low standards. We also paid 15 EUR / night for an extra little bed for my son. To be fair, the host family is nice and try hard to accomodate everybody's needs, serving for example late breakfast. I would recommend this hotel for summer holidays and always ensuring you get a room in the main house, which cost around 80 EUR / night.

Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Libreta27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed yesterday via mobile
Google Translation

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews