We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An 'ome from 'ome!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pennycroft Guest House
Ranked #5 of 9 Kettlewell B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We weren't sure what to expect as we arrived and found our accommodation to be right opposite two pubs in the centre of Kettlewell.

The house appeared to be homely, pretty and clean, and the landlady was eager that we should treat the place more as a home than a bed and breakfast, which we were able to without much persuasion!

It turned out that the pubs both serve good food, and having made our choice we were glad that we could roll home back to Penny Croft, where we were greeted by a real coal fire!

We had a perfect night's sleep, and although our bedroom wasn't en suite, the bathroom in the landing was for exclusive use by our room.

The breakfast is made to order in the kitchen whilst we sat in the dining room overlooking the pretty, well maintained garden from which some of the ingredients used for breakfast were grown.

We were set for our day's walk with plenty of advice, as well as where to get provisions and a pack lunch (Kettlewell Village Store - it sells EVERYTHING!), and our only disappointment was that we weren't coming back to stay for another night!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redjasper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (119)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 119 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed in this beautiful village deep in The Yorkshire Dales regretfully for only two nights. The property is a charming cottage with just 3 rooms, we were in The Garden Room and was spacious with a comfortable bed, en-suite and nice view of the garden and Dales.
What makes The Pennycroft very special is Laurence and Lizzie, the owners. In all our years of travelling around the world, we've never experienced the hospitality offered by this amazing couple. On arrival, we were offered homemade cake and biscuits, tea or coffee. Laurence and Lizzie made themselves available for us at any time we were there to discuss things to see, where to find the best walks- anything. Although there are only 3 rooms, there was a good choice of breakfast options, all superbly cooked by Lizzie. When we sadly had to leave, it was like saying goodbye to old friends wondering when we will see them again?

Thank you so much, Laurence and Lizzie

David & Julie (4th & 5th oct)

Room Tip: The Garden Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Loved this place and the A+++++ hospitality by Liz and Lawrence. It was like a home away from home - only better! Came back after dinner at the nearby pub and the coal fire had been lit in the living room. Everyone seemed to know Liz in the village and spoke incredibly warmly of her and to top it all off - an incredibly good and hearty breakfast. Only downside is that we were only passing through and so could only stay the one night.....would have loved to have stayed a week.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John_Love_Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Just returned from a one night stay in the 'garden room'. Loved everything about this place. The room and garden were completely charming - the website photos do not do the room or garden justice. We have seldom encountered such genuine and hospitable proprietors. Every comfort had seemingly been considered. We appreciated the freshly baked cake and home baked biscuits. The little touches made it a special stay. Breakfast was great; a wonderful selection of goodies (including cereals, dried fruits, croissants, yogurts), in addition to the delicious cooked breakfast, and a little fresh fruit salad plate on each table. Very highly recommended. A big Thank you to Lizzie and Laurence for a five star service.

Room Tip: the 'garden room' was spacious with lovely decor and perfect views of the lovely cottage gar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I concur with previous reviews about the excellent accommodation, the kind and welcoming hosts and the beautiful, quiet village. Our room wasn't en-suite but our bathroom next door was just for our use. Homemade biscuits and cakes were a much-appreciated touch. The breakfast was excellent and filling but because nowhere is perfect I shall offer up one slight criticism - a vegetarian sausage should be faux-meat (e.g. Quorn, Linda McCartney or Cauldron), not vegetables such as leek and potato rolled up and fried.
Try the pub quiz next door but bring ear-plugs because the quizmaster operates at maximum volume so the pub across the road thinks it's really, really busy - it's amusing for a couple of minutes and then increasingly irritating.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JakTarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We booked as a last minute thing as we wanted to visit the Scarecrow festival in Kettlewell. After a brief Google search we came up with Pennycroft, what a stroke of luck that was.
From the first phone call to our last goodbyes both Lizzy and Laurence were fabulous. Their guest house is perfectly situated next to two pubs, both being very friendly and serving excellent food.
The room had a fantastic view of the dales and the large pretty garden. There were homemade cakes, biscuits tea, coffee and almost anything else you could ever need from the minute we walked in not to mention the custom cooked breakfast which included fresh fruit, cereal, yoghurts tea and coffee which was as good as anything we have ever had.
We loved both the guest house, the owners and the village, definitely worth visiting and we will be returning soon hopefully.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank Kevin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We travelled to various locations and hotels for the week and why did we waste our money on some of the hotels, when Pennycroft was the best experience from the whole weeks accommodation. We stayed in Eta cottage with en-suite shower room. This was a very large traditional room with comfy chair and a very large very comfortable bed (two twins made together). The large bed was what we needed as the temperature was the hottest for many years. The service could not of been friendlier (sorry useless with peoples names). We were really made to feel at home both in the main home and the garden. Cakes were baked for guests to help themselves and the breakfast was faultless. Get to breakfast first to sit in the window to watch all the birds and wild ducks came for their breakfast too. Great location and the best people/service. thank you

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarenChris_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kettlewell hotels
0.1 mi away
Zarina's Bed & Breakfast
Zarina's Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 9 in Kettlewell
97 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Kings Head Hotel
The Kings Head Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kettlewell
223 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Blue Bell Inn
The Blue Bell Inn
#2 of 9 in Kettlewell
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Race Horses Hotel
The Race Horses Hotel
#4 of 9 in Kettlewell
315 reviews
0.6 mi away
B&B Lychgate House
B&B Lychgate House
#8 of 9 in Kettlewell
7 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Cottage Tea Room B&B
The Cottage Tea Room B&B
#6 of 9 in Kettlewell
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pennycroft Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pennycroft Guest House

Address: Pennycroft Far Lane, Kettlewell, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD23 5QY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Kettlewell
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Kettlewell
Price Range: $95 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pennycroft Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pennycroft in heart of Kettlewell is the perfect base to explore The Yorkshire Dales. We offer luxury traditional rooms - double/twin or family, all with modern comfort in our homely cottage with log fire, home baking and so much more. Our Yorkshire breakfast is cooked from local produce and will set you up for the day. If it's walking, shopping or just relaxing let us take care of you - come to visit Pennycroft we look forward to meeting you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pennycroft Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pennycroft Guest House Kettlewell, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing