We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take me back to Pennycroft!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pennycroft Guest House
Ranked #5 of 9 Kettlewell B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 21, 2008

Just home from the wonderful Pennycroft guest house and I want to be back there!
What a special place it is. Our stylish,pristine, comfortable room had loads of thoughtful extras including little chocolates set upon the pile of fluffy towels, pretty flowers from the garden and all sorts of goodies to help ourselves from in the bathroom. The views from our room, over the garden and beyond were stunning.Lizzie & Laurence were so generous in their hospitality and managed to strike the perfect balance between being attentive without being intrusive. They did everything possible to help us get the most out of our stay from recommending walks & pubs to chilling our champagne and providing strawberries to enjoy with it. If you get a chance to go, take it!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ispanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (119)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 119 reviews

Reviewed May 18, 2008

This was our first visit to the Dales and we couldn't have chosen a prettier location. Pennycroft has an enviable position right in the centre of the village with the local pub and hotel within 20 yards of the front door. We were made to feel extremely welcome and we had the room in the annex of the guest house which was extremely well furnished with little luxuries that just don't exist even in larger hotels. The super king-sized bed was extremely comfortable and was matched by the super king-sized breakfasts; again little touches just make it that little bit more special. Our hosts, Lizzie and Lawrence couldn't have made us feel more welcome and we hope to visit again soon. Michael and Barbara Deans

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GarswoodWiganer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2008

on arriving at the guest house, lizzy was there to welcome us with homemade cakes and tea. our room for myself, my husband and my twin 10 year old boys were fab! with my boys having their own room attached to ours. the little extras of fluffy white towels and fruit and chocolates were welcomed.
my parents stayed in the guest house also they thoroughly enjoyed the free run of the lounge with roaring open fire.the breakfasts in the morning were not for the faint hearted! what a variety! nothing was too much trouble for lizzy and laurence. bless her she even packed up a lunch for my boys as they were singing in bolton priory. quite excited the fact that helen miran had stopped in the cottage next door whilst filming the calender girls in this villiage of kettlewell. we had a wonderfull stay with wonderfull hosts and are returning again in august.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank the_smiths09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2008

This is a gem of a B&B in the lovely village of Kettlewell.

We arrived to a warm welcome from the owners and were offered tea and a delicious home made cake whilst settling in.

Our en suite room was beautifully appointed, with TV and tea making facilities and the bed was extremely comfortable. Our room had breathtaking views up the Dale.

After a good nights sleep we were offered an ample choice for breakfast, including smoked salmon and scrambled egg. A rarity in a B & B.

We will certainly return and recommend this ' little gem ' .

Stayed: January 2008
Thank Cloud2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2007

well theres nothin bad at all to say about my stay in the guest house. the food was delicious. we had a packed lunch, which when we were walking out on the fells was really welcome! we stayed in a twin room which was very big in the annex, it even had hot water bottles, magazines and a bottle opener (can you believe it)! they where really friendly and catered to all our need and requests adivsed us where to walk, eat they certaintly knew the area. really pleased with it booked again for march!!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Little_Hannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2007

We have been visiting the Yorkshire Dales for ages and love Kettlewell village so decided to nip up for the weekend.Came into the village and just over the bridge saw the sign for Pennycroft, and luckly they had a room free.Liz the owner showed us in through the lounge - (amazing garden at the back a nice surprise to watch all the birds,ducks & phesants whilst having breakfast) to a beauitful room so we said yes!
Liz brought us tea and homemade cake while we unloaded the car-nice touch.The room really was very good standard ...very chic with nice attention to detail and little things like wine glasses & bottle opener ,hot water bottle,fresh fruit and cute tins of home made biscuits!
Dumped our bags and off walking to Buckden Pike, returned tired and cold ,but quick change nice hot shower and out to the pub for dinner in village,Came back to open fire in lounge and Liz and her husband were checking if all was OK and offered us a Sloe Gin -well that was a perfect nightcap!
Breakfast was huge and well cooked, and you didnt have to order the night before( I hate that) and good choice and no rush,they evendried our wet boots overnight we were ready to go.
It really is a jem of a place only been open a couple of months and they could'nt do enough for us without being overpowering or pushy, we booked already for Jan!! Truly home from home

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thedaleswalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Gilbert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kettlewell
0.1 mi away
Zarina's Bed & Breakfast
Zarina's Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 9 in Kettlewell
98 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Blue Bell Inn
The Blue Bell Inn
#2 of 9 in Kettlewell
209 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Kings Head Hotel
The Kings Head Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kettlewell
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Race Horses Hotel
The Race Horses Hotel
#4 of 9 in Kettlewell
317 reviews
0.6 mi away
B&B Lychgate House
B&B Lychgate House
#8 of 9 in Kettlewell
7 reviews
5.5 mi away
Ashfield House
Ashfield House
#6 of 20 in Grassington
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pennycroft Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pennycroft Guest House

Address: Pennycroft Far Lane, Kettlewell, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD23 5QY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Kettlewell
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Kettlewell
Price Range: $109 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pennycroft Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pennycroft in heart of Kettlewell is the perfect base to explore The Yorkshire Dales. We offer luxury traditional rooms - double/twin or family, all with modern comfort in our homely cottage with log fire, home baking and so much more. Our Yorkshire breakfast is cooked from local produce and will set you up for the day. If it's walking, shopping or just relaxing let us take care of you - come to visit Pennycroft we look forward to meeting you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Pennycroft Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pennycroft Guest House Kettlewell, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing