We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A lovely cottage in an ideal location for a Dales...”

Review of Renar Cottage

Renar Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Renar Cottage
First floor lounge - no dogs allowed First floor lounge - access to rear courtyard and parking space
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
64 reviews
Renar Cottage
First floor lounge - no dogs allowed
First floor lounge - access to rear courtyard and parking space
First floor lounge door with access to patio and seating area
patio and seating area
patio area with access to steps to parking space for one vehicle
First floor double bedroom
First floor bedroom as a king size
First floor bedroom as a twin room
First floor bathroom
Ground Floor bedroom
Ground Floor Kitchen
Ground Floor Kitchen seating area
Ground floor sitting room - dogs allowed in this area.
Swings at Kettlewell Childrens play area
Kettlewell Childrens play area about 5 mins from Renar Cottage
Bright and sunny day at nearby Kilnsey Cragg
Reflections in the Wharfe on the Dales Way near Kettlewell
Bridge over the River Wharfe into Kettlewell
Panoramic view of Kettlewell
Inquisitive Sheep on a hillside above Kettlewell
Winter Scene below the summit of Great Whernside
Winter scene above Kettlewell
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Kettlewell, Yorkshire Dales National Park, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 64 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ScoobyAde
Gerrards Cross, UK
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A lovely cottage in an ideal location for a Dales holiday”
Reviewed July 3, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Renar cottage is a welcoming and comfortable cottage in the beautiful peaceful village of Kettlewell.
We found the cottage very clean and well equipped. There is a lovely patio area to sit out and enjoy the evening after a good day walking as well as two lounge areas if the weather is less kind to you.
We discovered many lovely walks from Kettlewell including a climb up Great Whernside, a circular route to Hawkswick and Arncliffe (Falcon Inn) and back again. Also a highly recommended walk to Conistone Pie with constantly changing scenery. After walking you are spoilt for choice for pubs in Kettlewell for eating or just a well earned pint.
We would highly recommend Renar cottage as a great place to stay for a Yorkshire Dales holiday.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jayneelli...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great weekend at Renar cottage”
Reviewed May 12, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Gorgeous cottage in a gorgeous village. Had an amazing time in the Yorkshire Dales. Would definitely come back

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny B
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect weekend break”
Reviewed May 8, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Highly recommend this beautiful cottage. Janet has thought of everything no detail missing which made our short break stress free. Warm comfortable and situated in the beautiful village kettlewell. Will certainly be returning. Great value for a weekend break thank you.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James K
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Miss”
Reviewed May 6, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Lovely cottage in a picturesque village. A short walk to several pubs - and a lovely playground for the kids. Some really good hiking on offer from the door of the cottage.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo S
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Home from Home in beautiful Kettlewell!”
Reviewed January 7, 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This is our 2nd visit over new year with our parents and we absolutely love it. We feel so at home in the cosy upstairs lounge and the house is equipped with everything you could want and more. It's ideal if anyone in your party is elderly or disabled, too, as there is a downstairs bedroom and walk in shower, as well as the kitchen and downstairs sitting room. It's in a perfect location, a short stroll from the village shop, 3 good pubs and a couple of cosy cafes. It's also a great place if you love walking and cycling and there's a secure room especially for storing bikes and all that wet walking gear. The hosts are some of the best and they really ensure you have a great stay!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oilcanman
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Fabulous Cottage for a Christmas Holiday!”
Reviewed December 28, 2016 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My family and friends enjoyed a wonderful Christmas in this superb cottage. It had all the facilities we needed (and more) for us to enjoy our stay. The cottage was decorated up for Christmas with a tree and many other Christmas bits and bobs. The place is very warm and comfortable, with two sitting rooms, both with log fires if needed. We cooked our own Christmas dinner and all the trimmings in the well equipped kitchen. There were five of us and we were able to eat around the kitchen table quite comfortably.If there had been six of us it would have been rather a squeeze. Parking can be an issue if you have more than one car in your party, however, it's only a 6-7 minute walk to the village car park.
The village of Kettlewell, which we have visited many times before, has all you need for a few nights stay such as ours. The Racehorses and The Bluebell Inn are excellent places to eat and drink (great beer in both), although the Bluebell wasn't serving food over the Christmas period. There is also a good cafe/bistro opposite the garage, for teas, coffees, breakfasts and full meals.
Renar Cottage is a great place to stay. Thank you Janet A.!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flinny1
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A little piece of heaven”
Reviewed November 6, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Our second time at the very special Renar Cottage. Tucked away at the top of Kettlewell village. Blissfully peaceful, warm and cosy and home from home. We would highly recommend Renar for any Kettlewell stay. We stayed for two weeks this time, a thoughtful bottle of wine on arrival, ordered our shopping from Tesco for delivery and settled in within an hour! The house is spacious, clean, and has everything needed for a good break away in the Yorkshire Dales. Walks in all directions from the cottage and we stood looking at the Milky Way directly above the cottage one evening. The utility room is perfect, we needed additional fridge and freezer space so used the additional in there and forgot our rucksack for a hike so borrowed one hanging in there too! Watching the birds outside the window from the window seat was lovely. The owner Janet is a star. Very helpful, very efficient and made it possible for our parents to stay over for a couple of nights mid week - they loved it too. Like we said before, it feels like looking after someone's home, rather than feeling like a 'holiday cottage'. Amenities are great, the walk in pantry is cool for storing lots of items, the kitchen is spacious, we stayed in the ground floor lounge as we have a dog (pets not allowed upstairs) but the open fire and great heaters kept us snug on the cooler evenings. The bed is very comfortable making for a good nights sleep! Parking space for one car behind the cottage and the use of the pay and display village car park at £7.50 for 48 hours to park - our parents were pleased with this. Two bathrooms - one upstairs and one downstairs - lying in a bubble bath upstairs listening to the sound of the beck and looking across towards Great Whernside through an open window was heaven! The use of the wet room downstairs and bath/shower upstairs was great when parents stayed. The cottage is around 5 minutes walk to the village store - selling everything you need (you must try the ham from the Aga in the shop) and around 7 minutes to the two dog friendly pubs (Racehorses and Bluebell). The Kings Head is not dog friendly so haven't been in there. The community bus (Venturer) regularly passes through the village heading for Buckden and Grassington etc. Skipton around 14 miles from the village and some amazing drives on the doorstep. The scenery on the Leyburn Road are simply stunning, again moments from the cottage. Thank you Janet and Jeremy for sharing Renar - our honeymoon was perfect and we're already booked again to head back in February next year! Thank you. \o/

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The warmth and cosy homeliness of the cottage.
Liked least: Leaving!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;