We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy hotel/pub with great food!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Race Horses Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Kettlewell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I ate here last year and it was even better on this visit. A must have is the steak and ale pudding - very tasty! Keith (the owner) is a friendly guy and you'll feel very welcome by his staff. Right in the heart of pretty Kettlewell, it's ideal for a hearty meal or a cosy nights stay after a long day of walking in the gorgeous Yorkshire Dales.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Jo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (315)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

205 - 211 of 315 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

This is our third visit to kettlewell and this has always been our favourite pub. However, while it still has its full character the blue bell stole its thunder for us this time. Guinness out of a can and not as much real ale choice. That said the racehorses is a great pub and a warm welcome is provided every time.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank archiemarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Lovely hotel , excellant staff, warm welcome . This hotel is really lovely warm welcome from staff and a lovely fire. The food was lovely with some lovely different touches. Local produced use so very tasty. The room was comfortable and lovely bathroom with ultra modern shower. Will definitely visit again

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Les346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Our last visit in October 2012 was as good as ever. We have stayed at the Racehorses numerous times over the last 10 years, spring, autumn and winter. We always have a wonderful time. The service and accomodation is excellent, the food terrific and the staff always friendly and helpful. Kevin runs a super establishment and we recommend it to anyone. The beer and wine is always first class. The whole village is a lovely, peaceful place to visit. The Bluebell across the road (sorry Kev!) is also a good place for a drink and a meal. The Racehorses is great value for a short weekend/ midweek break. We look forward to many more visits.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oilcanman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

This little gem in the heart of Kettlewell, has always been a favourite of mine and my husbands. Nothing seems to be to much trouble, even down to evening meals, one night we fancied a curry it wasn't on the menu but when we mentioned this to Kevin he said no worries if thats what you fancy then that's what you can have. I mean how lovely is that. We always take the same room having three dogs we take a large warm room, the dogs are always made welcome too. How nice it is to be able to take our much loved three biggish dogs away with us to enjoy this splendid country side. Our room has always been warm and clean, well stocked with tea, coffee and biscuits, plenty of warm water, and clean fluffy towels everyday. We have just returned from another great break of three nights back again in 4 weeks then we will spend our second christmas there. We run a bed and breakfast ourselves, and my husband would say I am a little hard to please but I am never disappionted with the Race Horses staff, food or accommodation. Keep up the good work guys you are doing a fab job. Many many thanks.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

we stopped here for 1 night at short notice for my wifes birthday, the food was top notch,the landlord (Kevin i think) even sorted a small cake with 1 candle, sent in with 2 singing waitresses made my wifes night. 'SPOT ON' the rooms were lovely,we could not praise the place enough
nothing seemed to much trouble.Thanks for a pleasent stay. (we'll be back)

Room Tip: room 23 in the annexe brand new lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terry h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Have been coming to kettlewell for over 10 years now and recently stayed for 3 nights for my father's 84th Birthday . The staff and the owner /manager (Kevin) were warm, friendly and attentive .The food was excellent and we had a brilliant break.
ps Millie says thanks Kevin for the chews and the fuss! .

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kettlewell
12.8 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
428 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Blue Bell Inn
The Blue Bell Inn
#2 of 9 in Kettlewell
207 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Kings Head Hotel
The Kings Head Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kettlewell
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Zarina's Bed & Breakfast
Zarina's Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 9 in Kettlewell
96 reviews
5.5 mi away
Ashfield House
Ashfield House
#6 of 20 in Grassington
278 reviews
0.6 mi away
B&B Lychgate House
B&B Lychgate House
#8 of 9 in Kettlewell
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Race Horses Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Race Horses Hotel

Address: B6160, Kettlewell, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD23 5QZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Kettlewell
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Kettlewell
Price Range: $123 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Race Horses Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Race Horses Hotel Kettlewell, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing