We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just wonderfull!!”
Review of Kuda Laut Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pelabuhan Ratu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kuda Laut Resort
Reviewed November 3, 2012

What a great place to relax from busy daily life, trully a great weekend getaway!
Villa's or bungalows (dont know) are situated at the beach and on hillside overlooking the beautifull bay.

The menu is great, you may choose between Italian or traditional Indonesian dishes like 'rijsttafel', both menus are great! The staff is very helpfull, friendly and speaks English.

This is your pick for staying at the east coast! Loved it!!

Room Tip: I prefer the hillside villas because the beach is near anyway and vieuw are spectecular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sander111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (24)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 24 of 24 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2012

This very moment we are returning from the resort Kuda Laut (KL), in the Pelabuhan Ratu area on Java’s south coast, four to five hours drive from Jakarta. This was our family’s second visit and again we truly enjoyed our weekend there. We have tried several resorts on the coast and this is by far the best. None of these resorts are as luxurious and streamlined as what can readily be found on Bali, but Kuda Laut is a small, clean, well-run and beautiful establishment. The beach is quiet, black and kept clean by the resort. There are medium to large waves thundering against scenic rock formations. This does require that parents keep close eyes on kids. We loved climbing the majestic rocks with our small boys when the tide is low. The resort has a large semi-infinity pool right on the beach, which offers excellent scenic swimming for young and old. Right next to the pool is the rustic restaurant with seating inside and on a wonderful wooden deck right next to the beach. The restaurant is the resort’s most significant surprise as it features exceptionally well prepared and beautifully presented dishes from a variety of cousins. Try the fish platter or the tomato soup - you should not be disappointed. The breakfast included in the accommodation is basic, but then again excellent with highlights being freshly baked white and dark bread and an excellent cup of coffee. If staying at a villa, consider asking the restaurant to barbecue your choice of fresh fish from the market and have this served in your “home”. The staff are young and extremely service minded, always trying to resolve any issue you may have. The first time we visited mosquito nets were missing over several beds, but this was resolved in a fury of activities once we mentioned it. The staff speaks basic English and communication may require some improvising. There are numerous types of accommodation available. We have only tried villa 22, which is the largest villa for ten persons in three bedrooms situated directly on the beach. This villa has a fantastic view through large palm trees of the ocean, from both a large living room and a fantastic wooden veranda. Villa 20 is just as lovely, while smaller, accommodating six guests in three bedrooms. For one large or two smaller families together we can truly recommend both villas, but we are certain that many of the other bungalows are great value too! The resort is slightly dated, but this is kind of its charm. Continued maintenance and upgrade, staying within the same concept and price, will be a great recipe for capturing guest looking for a cozy home away from home on the beach, close enough for a weekend trip from Jakarta. We already look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Take Villa 20 or 22 if you are enough folks and/or can afford it (-:
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PeterErben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2011

Grounds- rustic bamboo bridges across the creek are picturesque. The pools, one at each main location, have lovely settings. The large pool is adult and kid friendly and delightful on a hot day. The well manicured, shaded lawns front onto a clean and reasonably unpopulated stretch of beach. The sounds of the ocean are wonderfully relaxing.

Villas - the villas split 9 above the road and 8 below. Those above have stunning million dollar views. The view from villa 3 includes the ocean, hills in the distance, palm trees, verdant jungle and rice paddies. Spacious, simple, minimalist villas that still have everything you need. All have bed nets. The only downside of the incredible view is the stairway to heaven that you have to climb to get to them. A step class in paradise. Mobility impaired guests should pick those below the road.

Service- they quickly fixed things that we identified as problems. The staff are warm and friendly. Those that interact with guests have reasonable English and are happy to help in any way they can. The only beach seller, of toy boat replicas, was discrete and polite.

Restaurant- indoor and veranda seating that fronts onto the beach. Breakfast options are limited but tasty and come complete with juice, tea/coffee and fresh fruit and yoghurt. Juices are freshly squeezed and yummy. They do Indonesian and Italian foods though the Indonesian is better. Deserts are tasty.

For a truly great place to unwind this is great.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Awialusk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed August 24, 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pelabuhan Ratu
7.3 mi away
Inna Samudra Beach Hotel
Inna Samudra Beach Hotel
#2 of 8 in Pelabuhan Ratu
42 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hotel Villas Lagusa
Hotel Villas Lagusa
#3 of 8 in Pelabuhan Ratu
22 reviews
7.8 mi away
Ketapang Resort
Ketapang Resort
#1 of 8 in Pelabuhan Ratu
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Ocean Queen Resort
Ocean Queen Resort
#1 of 7 in Pelabuhan Ratu
95 reviews
6.2 mi away
Karang Aji Beach Villa
Karang Aji Beach Villa
#3 of 3 in Cisolok
3 reviews
6.7 mi away
Cimaja Beach Club
Cimaja Beach Club
#1 of 6 in Pelabuhan Ratu
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kuda Laut Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kuda Laut Resort

Address: Beach Road to Cisolok and Kuda Laut, Pelabuhan Ratu 43364, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > West Java > Pelabuhan Ratu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Pelabuhan Ratu
Number of rooms: 20

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing