We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable dining experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riverbank Restaurant

Riverbank Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Dromahair
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, European, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Business meetings, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sligo
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Enjoyable dining experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012

Was at the Riverbank last week with some family and we all really enjoyed it. Welcoming staff, nice menu selection and we couldn't complain about the quality of the food (it was worth asking our waitress to repeat the duck special that was on that night!!). It's nice to see the traditional Baked Alaska on a menu again. We will be back.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SpideySligo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    25
    8
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superb food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2012

Located in midst of W.B. Yeats country, this is a perfect place to go for dinner when staying in Sligo (about 20 minutes away). Dromahair is a very pleasant village and a trip there is a well-spent afternoon. Be sure to go before sunset so that you can see the Lough Gill (of "The Lake Isle of Innisfree" and all that), the route to the Riverbank is really picturesque. The restaurant has a small pub downstairs (not the same menu as the upstair restaurant) that is nice but not the same quality of atmosphere as Hardigan's Bros in Sligo. The restaurant is nicely laid out with excellent service catering mainly to locals for a nice night out.

Food: The slow-roasted lamb shank was exquisite. Pork belly was quite good. Reasonable wine selection. All-in-all this is a gem in the Leitrim countryside within easy distance of Sligo. Don't overdo the Guinness, however, the roads are narrow and not terribly forgiving.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PatrickfromPitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IRELAND WEST
Level Contributor
102 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“The best restaurant in the West of Ireland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

On visiting this gem in Dromahair for the fourth time I just realised that its must be the best in the West .A beutiful restored building with plenty of parking well justifies the trip to the quiet village of Dromahair . The food is of award winning standard and at 22.50 for Sunday lunch its great value as both quality and quantity is exceptional. Looking back at my four visits probably in as many years , I can definatly say the standard has remained at the levels when it opened first . Thanks also to the welcoming young Irish staff who make it so homely and represent our country well. I hope tourists visiting the region find this gem and they will return with fond memories.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PABO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2012

I visited the Riverbank Restaurant and could only describe it as fabulous! i found the need to post as i felt that the restaurant wasn't getting enough credit. we entered the restaurant and we were greeted by friendly staff and a warm atmosphere... i had the mushrooms for starters and the saddle of venison with warm beatroot jelly for main course which was different but lovely! my husband had the striploin steak which was cooked to perfection. Since my last visit to the Riverbank, i have visited the Clubhouse Bar downstairs and found it family friendly and value for money. i would recommend the chicken florentine or the thai red curry as thats what i have tried. I definitely intend to return..

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
1 review
“Nice place, friendly staff.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

I have had dinner here a few times, mailnly the bar food. Always good. would recomend it.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank benjy68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Riverbank Restaurant also viewed

Dromahair, County Leitrim
Dromahair, County Leitrim
 
Sligo, County Sligo
 
Sligo, County Sligo
 

Been to Riverbank Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing