We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Just wish we could have stayed longer - this...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Villa Jaluka

The infinity pool is 10m x 5m
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The infinity pool is 10m x 5m
View from the first floor terrace View from the first floor terrace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
The infinity pool is 10m x 5m
View from the first floor terrace
View from the first floor terrace
View from lounge into dining/kitchen area
Sunset from the first floor terrace
View from the house
House detail
House detail
Dining kitchen
The pool
Taken from inside the infinity pool
View from the house
View from the house
View from the house
Nearby Roman ruins at Aptera
Chania by night
View over the pool
Looking north from the terrace
Looking west from the terrace (the White Mountains)
The pool
From the top road
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Chania Prefecture, Crete

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
BarbaraHJ
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Just wish we could have stayed longer - this villa really is exceptional!”
Reviewed August 30, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
3
people found this review helpful

A fantastic place to stay - the views are quite simply breathtaking and the pool is fabulous. The house is well equipped and the WiFi was much appreciated by the children. The house is well equipped, it is especially nice to have all en suite rooms. The kitchen is great - everything you need.
We enjoyed gin and tonics as the sun set over Souda Bay, cooked on the barbecue and finished the evening with a glass of ouzo while star gazing. Although you definitely need a car, the local taverna is worth visiting, and we enjoyed driving down to Almyrida and Plaka to visit other restaurants and a nearby cove for snorkeling. This was such a special holiday.
The views are fantastic, the pool is incredible and the house is well equipped - what more could you ask?

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views are really something special, especially from the infinity pool
Liked least: Nothing!
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry L
Landrake, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed August 13, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Villa Jaluka is in an outstanding location and it is a lovely, well equipped villa. The view from the infinity pool is stunning. It was heaven to float around looking at the sparkling sea and mountains behind. At night you could see the lights across the whole bay. In the evening it was incredibly peaceful and we watched bats flying past and sipping from the from the pool! During the day it was the swallows and there was also an eagle who would fly just above us. Everything about the villa is beautiful. It has a lovely balcony on the top floor as well as from the lounge so you have three different locations to watch the amazing sunset. All the bedrooms have en-suite bathrooms and the villa has a lovely character. We visited some lovely beaches, did a gorge walk and took a great fun boat trip at the near by Almyrida. The only down side was the wasps which meant we couldn't eat outside when the sun was up (this was the same in the village, not just the villa). The solution was to eat after sunset and they had then gone to bed.

The person managing the property in Crete was extremely helpful and responsive and the standard of the clean after we had been there for a week was high. Overall, this villa is fantastic and I would highly recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The infinity pool
Liked least: The wasps
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BDS96Lon
1 review
“Very nice villa with amazing view.”
Reviewed June 26, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

The villa has a very good layout and design. The views of the bay are amazing. It was so relaxing to sit by the infinity pool and enjoy the view.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Husskade
b
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful views over Souda Bay”
Reviewed May 4, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Villa Jaluka was a lovely place to stay and a great base for exploring the areas around Vamos and Chania. The views over Souda Bay were stunning and the pool was amazing. The villa had everything you would need and a great selection of videos/books. A hire car is essential as the local village only has one taverna and a small, though well stocked, shop. Also reccomend the Cretan cookery classes in Vamos.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaniz
Aston Cantlow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful !”
Reviewed August 25, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
3
people found this review helpful

So after three days I stood on the balcony , glass of wine in hand, watching another amazing sunset. I thought hard about what I could do to improve the villa , including moving it ,but was left thinking it was completely perfect in every way.

Driving in Crete for the first time late at night ,even with the comprehensive instructions proved challenging , inconsistent road signs, no road names, etc etc meant we finished up reversing down a dirt track. Was the villa really down this steep hill or would we end up in the sea? The relief as the security lights hit the pool was palpable.

Children quickly to bed we opened the duty free and watched shooting stars til 2.30am. The setting is amazing , the villa is great , stocked with plenty of books, DVDs and is even better than the pictures. Kokkino Chorio is charming as are the Taverna staff, and people , just learn to slow down and be patient. It took me a few days and shame we had to come back , I now know where to go next time we are feeling stressed and exhausted. Thanks for sharing such a great property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland...
Edinburgh
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Fantastic Villa and Amazing Pool and Views”
Reviewed June 20, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We stayed at Villa Jaluka for a week in early June.

The villa is located about 25 minutes East of Chania where we flew to from Rome. From this year the airport has a number of new Ryanair flights from the UK and as this is the less commercial part of Crete we were excited to visit.

The Villa itself is set towards the top of a hill so a car is definitely required, but the views across the bay to Chania are really amazing. Each of the bedrooms opens to a terrace and the infinity pool was for us the main reason we booked this place and we were not let down.

The Villa is also very well equipped with a great kitchen, TVs in every room, extensive DVD and Book collection so we really didn't travel very far from the villa the whole time we were there.

This is definitely a place we will return to as its perfect for a relaxing holiday in the sun.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Pool and the Views
Liked least: Nothing - I couldn't find any faults.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feefeekin...
Mallaig, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Views were fab!”
Reviewed January 31, 2013 for a stay in October 2012

My husband, myself & our 11 & 8 year olds stayed at Villa Jaluka for 2 glorious weeks in October. We were very happy with the Villa and its location, the views just amazing. The area is lovely with plenty to do around if you can tear yourself away!! The pool was great all be it a little bit cold when you went in first, but we had some great fun in there!!
A car is must! We had some high winds during our stay, which was a bit nerve racking! ( just like home)
All in all I would recommend this villa as a great place for a relaxing family holiday and we would love to go back some time! Thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool & views!
Liked least: The brown worms, they were a bit of a pest!
Traveling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing