We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Amazing Week at St. George's” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. George's Retreat Village

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
St. George's Retreat Village
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing Week at St. George's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Stefano's and Roula's villas are amazing! They welcomed us like we were family. The Villa Urania was perfect for the 5 of us. They had supplied us with all the basics for our first day or two - coffee, wine, beer, bread, milk, etc. Roula had even baked us a delicious chocolate cake! Our first evening they came by with a jar of fresh peach marmalade and to give us information about the local area and where the best fish was served - and he was right on! The fresh olive oil and bottle of raki on our table was perfect! Mid week, Roula had made us baclava and they continued to be very helpful when we had questions about where to go! The pools at the Retreat were beautiful and clean! All in all, it was one of the best vacations we have had, thanks Stefanos and Roula! When we return to Crete, our first choice will be to stay again!
Steve Smith, USA

Room Tip: We only stayed in Villa Urania, but all seemed to be about the same excellent quality. All had fabu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank STVVEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We spend two wonderful weeks here....The first thing that captures your senses are the panorama views of the entire Souda Bay, the retreat is a village of 9 villas surrounded by fruit trees and flower gardens..Wow!!!
The villas are perfect size for a small family, with many commodities.
Pools, grills, full Kitchen,etc...
The Almyrida sandy beach is a short distance away, this area also has a variety of good restaurants.
Stefanos and Roula are there to make your holiday memorable and perfect!
Thank you from the bottom of our heart for your kindness, and your hospitality.
We will be back soon

Room Tip: Every villa is beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GREEKROSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

These villas are just perfect. The fruit trees and herbs surrounding the villas make for an inspiring environment to cook your own food. The villas are clean and just perfect size with everything you need for a family. The trip is coming to an end and I wish I could come every year to this very special place. I recommend to anyone who reads this post you will not be disappointed. The views are fantastic and the drive there is challenging. You need a car for the week you spend there.
Enjoy this great find!
Thank you Stefanos and voula

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ycfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faxe Ladeplads, Denmark
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

This little village of 9 independent units (houses) offers the most magnificent backbone to a honeymoon, a family vacation or a get-together vacation for friends. The experience from the very beginning was more than excellent - making the reservation and deposit payment was easy, when I requested a few preparations as this was our honeymoon, the reply was simply "consider it done"! And that is the basic attitude of the two very pleasant owners of this fantastic resort - consider it done from the get go. Such attention is paid to detail; flower arrangements, a room set up especially for our baby and necessary amenities available ready to use, locally produced marmelade in the fridge, wine, cretan Raki on the table and of course homemade oliveoil ready on the kitchen table. Nothing was missing, in fact we discovered little surprises everywhere in the wonderful house. The views from all houses are astonishing and automatically draws you to a life on your own terrasse or on one of the shared pool areAs. Everything is kept to a high standard and the atmosphere is very pleasant - in fact family-like. One of these rare places that you are sad to leave and definitely want to return to! Thank you fro the bottom of our hearts to Rula and Stefanos for making our honeymoon a dream to remember.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittany
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

The name "Retreat" is very much appropriate!, that's the word that drew us into researching and finally booking this stay at Stefanos and Roula's villas. We were made most welcome by Katarina and the Stefanos came to see us and explained the area, where to go and eat etc and where to explore, nothing was too much bother. When we arrived the fridge was stocked with bread, milk, eggs, cheese, home made cake and marmalade, chocs and wine in our bedroom, it was such a lovely touch and leant that we didn't need to seek out a grocery shop immediately on arrival. We were invited to help ourselves to the fruit on the trees, we had pomegranite, grapes, plums and lemons. The villa is well stocked with kitchen equipment etc and we also had an outdoor BBQ which we used on 2 ocassions. There is also a swimming pool and another outside BBQ area by the swimming pool. We also discovered another swimming pool which you could have had use of too. Thank you Stefanos an Roula for a wonderful opportunity to rest and recharge out batteries, and thanks for having the weather so gorgeous too!. Perhaps one day we shall get back, we hope so, don't change, you have a great formula for taking great care of your clients!, many thanks!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chemaripaud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We had a wonderful two weeks at St George's Villa Retreat. It's been said many times before, but Stefanos and Roula really are amazing hosts. We arrived at 11pm and were welcomed with open arms. The fridge was stocked with a bottle of wine, beer, homemade dolmades, cake, cheese, ham, bread, eggs etc. And some lovely touches like a bottle of olive oil and raki/ouzo. We stayed in Villa Calliope and it was spotless and equipped with absolutely everything – the washing machine was just a godsend. Our 4-year-old Sam loved it here and fell in love with Fluffy the dog (also renamed Sausages by him!!) The pools were fabulous – Sam learnt to swim here – and the views stunning. Sam also enjoyed the playground. The grounds of St George's are stunning – beautiful flowers everywhere and loads of fresh fruit trees – figs, pomegranates, pears, peaches, lemons, oranges. Also lots of tomatoes – which Roula told us to just help ourself to – delicious. You definitely need a car. Stefanos gave us details of a local firm and they were wonderful – we dealt with them directly and they were half the price of the big rental names. Someone was waiting for us at arrivals at the airport and took us straight to the car – all very efficient and hassle free. They also gave us great directions for getting to St George's. Hania and Rethmynon are both beautiful towns and worth visiting. The water park near Hania was fun – perfect for little ones and not too overcrowded despite being July. We made it to Knossos and enjoyed wandering around the ruins. One highlight was a beautiful drive through the Theriso Gorge. As for beaches, we spent a lot of time at Kalives – again, idea for little ones and generally not too overcrowded. We cooked several times at the villa – the communal BBQ was fantastic – and the kitchen well equipped. Otherwise we ate out in Plaka, Almirida and Hania a few times. Thank you Stefanos and Roula for a fabulous time. We have travelled extensively and independently (backpacking until we had a child) and this trip was just brilliant, relaxing and stress free. We plan to hopefully come back.

Room Tip: We had villa Callipo – it was next to the playground so perfect for sitting on the balcony and being...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank juliette s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Stefanos, Roula, I have been meaning to write this review for quite some time as my husband, 1 year old daughter and father-in-law spent a week at St George's last summer. If you are looking for a relaxing vacation, a private little house with breathtaking views, privacy and the kind of scenery you can't get enough of when you open those patio doors every morning, this is your escape! I remember just wandering the property and picking fresh fruit off the trees, then plunging into the refreshing pool and taking in the view of the sea on one side and the massive mountain on the other, the sound of goats wandering the mountains... This place is nothing short of magical.

The villas are beautifully appointed, cozy, spotless. Roula and Stefanos are such charismatic, genuine and attentive hosts. They would make fresh fruit puree for my daughter one morning, bring fresh eggs the next, succulent homemade jam the next...and the list goes on. I would return in a heartbeat.

On a side note, I couldn't help but think how perfect of a wedding destination this would be. There is a charming picturesque tiny white chapel right behind the complex and a restaurant with the most breathtaking views just a few steps up the hill. I couldn't imagine a more perfect place for a wedding for family and friend to stay in the villas all together.

Just go! You will not regret it!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mooonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chania Prefecture
0.0 mi away
Hotel Irini Stalos
Hotel Irini Stalos
#797 of 1,592 in Crete
4.5 of 5 stars 15 reviews
17.2 mi away
Aksos Suites Accessible Accomodation
Aksos Suites Accessible Accomoda...
#135 of 643 in Chania Prefecture
5.0 of 5 stars 15 reviews
24.4 mi away
Eriki Studios & Apartments
Eriki Studios & Apartments
#149 of 643 in Chania Prefecture
5.0 of 5 stars 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Artemis Apartments
Artemis Apartments
#352 of 643 in Chania Prefecture
5.0 of 5 stars 2 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chania Hostel
Chania Hostel
#224 of 643 in Chania Prefecture
4.0 of 5 stars 33 reviews
0.0 mi away
Zorbas Rooms
Zorbas Rooms
#286 of 643 in Chania Prefecture
4.5 of 5 stars 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. George's Retreat Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. George's Retreat Village

Property: St. George's Retreat Village
Address: Kokkino Chorio, Crete 73008, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 643 Specialty Lodging in Chania Prefecture
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — St. George's Retreat Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
About the Retreat: The Retreat Village is situated just below the famous St. George's Retreat cave. The complex benefits from extensive cultivated gardens, olive trees, a vineyard with its own wine press, and a large number of fruit trees, which the guests are free to taste. They are ideal for families and friends who would like to holiday together, but still maintain their private space. There are discounts available for groups who wish to book 3 or more villas. Contact the owner for details. There are two shared pools and a large BBQ area containing both a BBQ spit and traditional baking oven, while the tavern situated high up above the villas will take care of any appetite desire. The village of Kokkino Chorio is 5 minutes drive away while Plaka and Almyrida villages are a further 5 minutes drive each. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your St. George's Retreat Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. George's Retreat Village Crete, Greece - Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing