We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Cap Cana
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6,491)
Filter reviews
6,491 results
Traveler rating
4,747
1,073
395
157
119
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
4,747
1,073
395
157
119
Show reviews that mention
All reviews blue marlin love bar casa bella juanillo beach ocean bar taco truck monarch villa castle pool wok restaurant castle suite royalty villa main pool sexy belly room service punta espada our honeymoon ocean view
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
90 - 95 of 6,491 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I spent 5 incredible days at sanctuary. On top of the beautiful room, beachfront, food and relaxed atmosphere was the amazing service! Chocolate, Presedente, Gasolina, Betty Boo, Chicken Leg, Consiege and happy boy were amazing poolside helping us save our chairs, finding us lotion, making things fun and exciting everyday. George our butler was on top of everything else from the moment we arrived, it is so amazing to have someone like George when you are on a Holliday. By mid week I didn’t even have to order a drink, the bartender at the pool bar Carlos had my drink prepared before I even asked for it. At breakfast we had an amazing server named Careala who had a baileys and coffee, fresh OJ, with a cold glass of water every morning!
Needless to say every person we came across treated us like kings and queens

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank kevinoD9657RX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanctuaryByPlaya, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sanctuary Cap Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear kevinoD9657RX,

Taiguey!

We would like to thank you for choosing our resort as your host on your recent gateway to our destination. It was a pleasure having you and we appreciate that you have taken the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.

We are very happy to learn that your stay was a most pleasant one, and that you were highly satisfied with our service. We have strived to deliver the most memorable experience to our valued guest. We highly appreciate your gracious comments here and have shared it with our team.

We sincerely look forward to welcome you back on a future occasion and provide you with the exceptional quality and service that characterizes our brand and resort.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Here we go... Let's start with the staff. The people that work here are amazing. Everyone is so friendly and kind, even though there can be a little bit of a language barrier, they go out of their way to stay with you until your issue is taken care of. Awesome, awesome, awesome. I wish I could hire these folks here in Michigan.The rooms are probably the largest resort rooms you will ever see. We stayed in the castle section and were shocked to see how incredibly spacious our room was. We booked a junior suite ocean front and it exceeded our expectations. The food was fantastic! Don't be afraid of eating in sanctuary town, the burgers, tacos, pizza...all great! Only 2 negatives that my wife and I could think of. The beach area is very small, rocky, difficult to use. Not a big deal for us, there were always plenty of chairs around the pools. Our room in the castle was at the edge of the property and we were always walking back and forth from the room to the pools or food. Not a big deal for us, but keep it in mind if you have difficulty walking a moderate amount or more.We did a couples massage while we were there, best massage ever! The spa area is great, soothing, spotless, lots of variety, I don't know what more you could ask for. Overall, the resort is a little on the quiet side, only gets louder in the afternoon with water aroebics and pool games and such. That doesn't last too long and things get relaxing again. A great place for couples. Probably 90 % of the people there were couples. Great stay for us, wouldn't hesitate to go back! Enjoy!

Room tip: castle junior suite ocean view, huge rooms! (sitting area, living room, balcony, bedroom, large bathroom, walk-in closet!!!)
Date of stay: January 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kimcD93NE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanctuaryByPlaya, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sanctuary Cap Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear kimcD93NE,

Taiguey!

Many thanks for taking the time to leave your kind words and observations following your recent stay with us at Sanctuary Cap Cana.

I was delighted that you’ve enjoyed all the details we take pride in offering our guests. As are our regular practice, we’ve been happy to share your lovely remarks to our team who take so much pride in ensuring that all of our guests only receive the very best in service.

We look forward to have the pleasure of having you back home in the near future.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had such a great week at Sanctuary! There were plenty of activities to keep my very active husband entertained and plenty of lounge chairs for me to nap in. The food was pretty good, nothing really astonishing, but the staff was outstanding. Our butler, JT, was helpful, funny, and made sure we were taken care of the entire time. Conan, Eduardo, Betty Boop, Gasolina, Chicken Legs, and Chocolate were also amazing and kept us entertained, fed, and well hydrated. Everyone we encountered was friendly and seemed genuinely excited about their job.

The resort was also very beautiful. We stayed in the castle section, but every building had stunning decor and was very well designed. And you can’t beat that ocean view!!!

Some tips if you are planning a trip to this resort:
-bring a reusable insulated cup & straw
-bring waaaaay more sunscreen than you think you need (we went through 2 bottles)
-make your restaurant reservations first thing

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Megan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanctuaryByPlaya, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sanctuary Cap Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Megan B,

Taiguey!

We would like to thank you for choosing our resort as your host on your recent gateway to our destination. It was a pleasure having you and we appreciate that you have taken the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.

We are very happy to learn that your stay was a most pleasant one, and that you were highly satisfied with our service. We have strived to deliver the most memorable experience to our valued guest. We highly appreciate your gracious comments here and have shared it with our team.

We sincerely look forward to welcome you back on a future occasion and provide you with the exceptional quality and service that characterizes our brand and resort.

Warm Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

First time in Dominican Republic and let me tell you I’m counting down the days to go back! We stayed at the Sanctuary Hotel in Capa Cana, everything about the resort was FABULOUS! The staff was AMAZING! Had the pleasure of meeting the nicest people, special thank you to David our favorite bartender and Erika the coolest hostess! Our rooms where always clean and fresh towels daily! Thank you Mildred for the best room service! The food was muy delicioso!!
Definitely recommend having lunch at the Blue Marlin, the food was always delicious and the waiting staff where always on point!

To make this short you will not go wrong staying at this resort you will fall in love with everything about it!
Don’t look any further make your reservation trust me you will not regret it!

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank 608zulemag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanctuaryByPlaya, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sanctuary Cap Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear 608zulemag,

Taiguey!

We appreciate you have taken the time to share such an enthusiastic review about your recent visit.

Please be confident that we’ve shared your kind comments with our team as motivation to keep up with our commitment to offer truly remarkable experiences in our guests. We thank you on behalf of our team and Management.

We sincerely hope we can have the honor of being your hopes in not too distant future.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed at Sanctuary Cap Cana for our honeymoon in October 2019. Everything was fantastic from the moment we arrived! We were greeted with a refreshing beverage and our luggage was taken to our room. Everyone was very accommodating and friendly. The food was incredible and the service was even better. While we were there, Kenny with Expedia guided us in the right direction for a few excursions and checked in with us each day to see how things went! We don't have a single complaint. Best vacation / honeymoon ever. We will definitely be back again with friends next time!! Highly recommend to everyone I know.

Date of stay: October 2019
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank AlexAndEricPaulz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanctuaryByPlaya, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sanctuary Cap Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear AlexAndEricPaulz,

Taiguey!

Many thanks for taking the time to leave your kind words and observations following your recent stay with us at Sanctuary Cap Cana.

I was delighted that you’ve enjoyed all the details we take pride in offering our guests. As are our regular practice, we’ve been happy to share your lovely remarks to our team who take so much pride in ensuring that all of our guests only receive the very best in service.

We look forward to have the pleasure of having you back home in the near future.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews