We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“peaceful haven”
Review of Auberge du Fel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Auberge du Fel
Ranked #1 of 1 Le Fel B&B and Inns
kinross
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“peaceful haven”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

once we found the signs it was well worth the twisting drive up the hill. Our room had a balcony overlooking the valley which at night had a wonderful sunset followed by twinkling lights from distant villages. The evening meal was outside on the terrace. Our half board menu was more than sufficient with a wonderful local cheeseboard and wine. After a peaceful night in our quiet room breakfast was served outside if you wanted. Madame Elizabeth has english and she is charming.The village has 2 excellent wineyards and you are made welcome at any time. If in the area again we would not hesitate to stay.

Room Tip: If the room on the top floor with the veranda is available this is a better option as it has an umbr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marrob48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    28
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
9
40
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We arrived to find no record of our dinner booking but the owner finally said this was no problem (reasonably large party so that was a relief!). By the time we sat down and managed to get a drink, however, we were gasping!. Lovely setting in this tiny, peaceful hamlet. Dinner was well cooked and tasty but not exceptional. The cheese was the triumph, a superb selection.
We rated it very good for the area and by the end the rather awkward atmosphere had thawed but let's just say it was long way up and down the hill!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spritzabubba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

This sweet hotel is well-run and good value and, best of all, is located in a lovely village looking over the hillsides above the gorges du Lot. Conques isn't far away. Our room had a great view and plain but cheery furnishings. Relative to similar places we stayed in during our trip, we thought it was good value. We weren't that impressed by the restaurant (except for an excellent cheese selection and a delicious, Fel appellation wine) but at least the menu is inexpensive. The well-priced breakfast had good bread and jams as well as decent coffee. Friendly service.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bpch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower Mound, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

We felt like we had "discovered" this lovely, remote village and hotel. We had a wonderful dinner in the beautiful dining room (and asked to take a photo of the chef, who graciously consented). The rooms overlook the Lot Valley, and at night you can see other villages' lights twinkling across the valley. In the morning, breakfast was set in a different dining room, and the colors alone got the day off to a wonderful start.

The whole experience was a huge treat!

Room Tip: We asked for a room with a nice view, and ours was on the front and had a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onecentworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2009

I wasn't sure whether to write this review, after all, do I want everyone knowing about this place? However, it is a business and this business deserves all the recognition it gets.

To enjoy your stay here you must have your own transport, the village of Le Fel is high high above the Vallee du Lot (you wind your way through the vinyard terraces) and quite a way from anywhere of significant size.

You must enjoy stunning scenery and not desire shops, neon lights or anything louder than a cuckoo. The views are fantastic. I have no idea where the nearest shop is. They do have a huge stack of paperbacks (in many languages) for the guests to enjoy.

We had a double room with terrace overlooking the valley. The bed was extremely comfortable, the shower was steaming and the radiator was pumping out heat (useful as the weather was terrible).

If you do stay here, please eat here at least one night. This is not a restaurant to try if you are on a diet, but if you want to taste food that is excellent, that captures the local flavours and where the menu has been put together with incredible forethought, this is very good. Residents can have the menu for 25 Euros (there is also a vegetarian one), for which you get 5 courses. The menu is the menu for the week (there is another for Sundays) so perhaps you wouldn't want to eat there every night for a week, however, to miss it altogether would be nothing short of a sin. And, as someone who thinks the path to heaven is paved with French cheeses, I met a Blue D'Auvergne (one of 11 cheeses on the cheeseboard) that will live in my memory for the rest of my life.

Breakfast is not cheap, but it is delicious.

The hotel seems to be favoured by French, Catalans and Brits alike. It is a quiet place, the service is very good but understated, this is the place to come if you want to get away from it all and appreciate some of the simpler but finer things of life. And the area around is simply stunning.

And if I can't get in next time I want to stay there due to it being fully booked, I will sulk. If it was that good in the cold pouring rain, I simply can not imagine it in summer. www.auberge-du-fel.com

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mad194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Le Fel
6.5 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Sainte Foy
2.8 mi away
Hotel La Riviere
Hotel La Riviere
#1 of 5 in Entraygues-sur-Truyere
384 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Du Centre
Hotel Du Centre
#4 of 5 in Entraygues-sur-Truyere
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel les 2 vallees
#5 of 5 in Entraygues-sur-Truyere
35 reviews
11.3 mi away
L'Auberge du Chateau
L'Auberge du Chateau
#1 of 1 in Muret-le-Chateau
81 reviews
6.4 mi away
Auberge Saint Jacques
Auberge Saint Jacques
#1 of 4 in Conques
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge du Fel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge du Fel

Property: Auberge du Fel
Address: 12140 Le Fel, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Aveyron > Le Fel
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Le Fel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Auberge du Fel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Auberge du Fel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Du Fel Le Fel, Aveyron, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing