We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dinner only experienced”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Logis Le St. Eloi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Logis Le St. Eloi
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Solignac
England
Level Contributor
99 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Dinner only experienced”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

Felt I had to write a review of the restaurant in this hotel. When we arrived early in the village, we decided to have a drink in the courtyard of the hotel. The English speaking male owner could not have been more accommodating, so we decided to stay for dinner.
The owner's wife(?) dried our table after a brief shower. Thank you.
When we had finished the bottle of wine and I was wandering around looking to order another, she looked up from the book she was reading and completely ignored me.
Dinner was even better! Whereas the young male waiter and female 'bringer & clearer' had made an effort with their appearance, Mrs Owner was still in the old 'T' shirt she had had on earlier. When we asked about the steaks and how did we order 'pink' she reeled off half a dozen French phrases with absolutely no explanation. Bear in mind, we were all English, no language barrier here.
Quite frankly, she seemed totally disinterested in her job and couldn't have been ruder.
We only had dinner there and wouldn't dream of staying there when we next visit France.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank HighAird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    24
    10
    9
    6
See reviews for
10
36
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2011

The reviews were varied but as we were driving down to the South of France it made sense to stop in the area and we are so glad we did. The hotel is in a very pretty little village right next to a medieval Abbey. The rooms were very clean and the bed comfy and breakfast was good, continental style. We ate in the restaurant the night we arrived rather than drive all the way into Limoges (although it is only a 15 minute or so drive) . We had a set menu for around £25 and had 3 courses which were delicious and the menu even said where the beef was from (all local). And staying in the hotel meant that we were able to try some of the very good wine on the menu!
I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sianybleog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
81 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2010

We stayed here for 1 night prior to a flight out of Limoges and were disappointed.
The town was uninspiring as was the hotel.
I didnt realise there were hotels that didnt open their reception until 5pm - as a result we and some other guests wanting to check in found ourselves lined up waiting to get in (reminded me of earlier youth hostel back packing days!)
The room was very basic and not very clean - on a positive note it did have a comfortable bed and a good sized shower with hot water.
We didnt eat at the hotel so cannot comment on the food.

Of the two owners, the gentleman was very friendly and helpful while the woman was abrupt.

We paid 75 Euro for the room and I'd like to think our money would have got something much better elsewhere.

I would not choose to stay here again and would not recommend it to others

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mothie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Solignac hotels

Fife, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2009

Lovely little hotel in a beautiful village, only minutes away from the motorway south of Limoges. Excellent for a stopover on a long trek to the south of France or Spain. Everything is neat and tidy and the restaurant is recommended. Good breakfast. Rooms a tad small, but brightly furnished, and ours had a pleasant roof terrace which made up for the lack of space.
Owners are English, which comes as an initial surprise, and I suppose lends an air of quikiness to what is otherwise a very French hotel in a very French setting. We found them very friendly and helpful in every respect.
There's plenty of parking just over the road, so it's great for that stopover in a haven of peace just a few minutes off the motorway.
The village itself is a delight, centred on an old abbey, right across the road from the hotel. On our evening walk, every single local we passed, without any exception, wished us "Bonjour" or "Bonsoir", including those out of breath on evening runs.
If you've had a tiresome day on the long run south from the ferry ports, this is a great step into France.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mandelbrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2009

Loved the building and the village, the room was spacious and perfectly furnished for the right atmosphere. The food was excellent but I must agree that although our welcome from the male owner was very friendly, we found the lady of the house rather "prickly" It did put us off a little but nevertheless I would still go again but be wary of discussing the food!

  • Liked — Well furnished room, lovely old building, great food, nice village
  • Disliked — Slightly prickly customer service in the restaurant.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alverbig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2008

We were made to feel most unwelcome from our arrival to our departure by Mrs Ashton. Although English speaking herself, she was very unhelpful in every way and reluctant even to explain the menu in English. A strange attitude to customer relations. It was the most unfriendly service during our entire stay in France. By contrast we found the local Frech people very warm, friendly and welcoming wherever we went.

  • Liked — Food
  • Disliked — Customer relations
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank onesteenbras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2007

We arrived at the hotel at 6.30pm on a sunny Saturday evening and lucklily for us, they had just had a cancellation. We required a hotel for 4 nights having just left an extremely unsuitable hotel 4 nights early. We originally booked for two nights but ended up staying for the whole four nights.

On Saturday evening dinner was served outside on the terrace, a lovely experience. The hotel wasn't open for dinner on Sunday or Monday but the very helpful English owners gave us alternative suggestions, which we took them up on.

The decor in the hotel was light and bright. Our room, I noticed, was the cheapest in the hotel but clean and adequate anyway.

Overall, our experience was very good. There was an excellent choice for breakfast - which at 9Euros each was good value.

  • Liked — The decor.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank traceywFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solignac
3.8 mi away
Inter-Hotel Apolonia Limoges
3.9 mi away
Hotel du Golf
Hotel du Golf
#8 of 44 in Limoges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
4.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Richelieu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Comfort Hotel Limoges Sud
9.2 mi away
P'tit Dej Hotel Limoges Nord
7.6 mi away
Campanile Limoges Nord
Campanile Limoges Nord
#11 of 44 in Limoges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Logis Le St. Eloi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Logis Le St. Eloi

Property: Logis Le St. Eloi
Address: 66 avenue Saint Eloi, 87110 Solignac, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Haute-Vienne > Solignac
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Solignac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Logis Le St. Eloi 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotel.de so you can book your Logis Le St. Eloi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing