We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Star
Post
Inbox
Search

“Great local with amazing food and lovely staff ”
Review of The Star Inn

The Star Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Star
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $23
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Been twice this month and not disappointed on either occasion. Had the mushroom starter and himself the Arancini balls with Stilton. More than enough Stilton in them for me but himself would like a little more. The poached pear and spinach sauce were lovely. Mains were not steak Rossini with a rump and mixed grill. Both well Cooked and tasty. On the second visit with had the belly pork special as a starter to share. This needs to go on the menu. With pork popcorn and chorizo and black pudding. I wanted more. We both had the star burger for mains. These have got a little smaller but to be honest they are still large enough for us. The staff are really friendly and service was good. Highly recommend a visit.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank lawrencelins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (348)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 348 reviews

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Went for a family meal it’s about 15 of us including kids and he staff and food was fantastic they accommodated is perfectly,the staff couldn’t do enough for us to make us feel welcome!and the food was fantastic highly recommend this pub or a family meal

Date of visit: January 2020
1  Thank paulyp84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2020 via mobile

Met a friend here for lunch today. We couldn’t understand why it was so quiet in the restaurant, as the food was delicious. Great choices on the menu and the specials board. We both had the mushroom vol-au-vont for starters. I had the lasagne which came with the best garlic bread I’ve had in ages. My friend had the salmon with new potatoes, chorizo and black pudding and loved it. The dessert menu was limited, but the caramel apple tart was fantastic. Staff were very friendly and polite. Reasonably priced for the quality of the food. Would go again

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank emmac584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2020 via mobile

Myself, partner, 16 year old stepson, his girlfriend, 1 year old and 3 week old daughter went last minute to The Star.
We forgot my daughters food as we came out last minute so asked if they had a child’s menu.. they didn’t (so it isn’t really a family restaurant) however they were so kind and offered to do her something from the kitchen. They did a cheese roll! It was so helpful!!!
We had our food and all of us loved it! Great quality food.
Service was amazing. They gave us a warm welcome when we arrived and was fantastic all the way through.
We would definitely recommend this place!

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank N4117JAlouisep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2019

Haven't been to this pub for years so what a great surprise it was. Excellent food, great service and lovely decor. The food is reasonably priced and was a very good quality. Six of us have varied meals and all of them were great. The food was beautifully presented. Lots of gluten free options. Well done to the landlords and the chef. Will definately return here.

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank janice s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Star Inn also viewed

 
Churchill, Somerset
 
Churchill, Somerset
Weston super Mare, Somerset
 

Been to The Star Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing