We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks are deceiving”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Auberge Cote Jardin
Reviewed August 13, 2011

Decor and overall ambience on first impressions provide a sense of encouragement. A boutique hotel hidden away in the French countryside. The rooms are modern and comfortable and the air conditioning much needed.

The swimming pool has been poorly designed with dark tiles that burn your feet the moment you leave the pool and with four solid walls and therefore no breeze it feels more like resting in an over at 160 degrees than a zen pool side experience.

The food is interesting. Expensive and exotic it delivers style over substance and we did not repeat the experience.

Customer service is random veering from polite and mannered to the belligerent.

Overall not a disaster but definitely room for improvement.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (210)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 210 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2011

In February, the surrounding countryside may not be at its best, but the main impression when driving towards this hotel is that the surroundings are bleak at best. Being on the main road towards town, it couldn't be easier to find (well, in fact it could if the signs for it were facing out of town rather than in).
We arrived to find the hotel completely closed up at four pm and had to rustle up the attendant via the parking lot, not very obvious and also not the best start to our stay. Neither were we impressed by the fact that our allotted superior room had only been done up for one, and the replacement, while looking nice, had only a small window from which we could glimpse a small garden in between the buildings, and a jacuzzi tub with no functioning jacuzzi. The hot water also malfunctioned within an hour.
Having said that, the premises themselves are quite nice, and possibly it would be much nicer in the spring/summer with proper access and appreciation of the pool and garden. As was, the main draw was the restaurant, which we found delightful. If we were to go back, we would make sure we were in a room with a terrace overlooking the vineyard (a separate annex). Certainly avoid anything that may face the road - it's a main throughfare and truck traffic seemed abundant.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thatsmystuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2010

Reading some of the other reviews, I feel like I must have stayed at a different hotel. This small hotel (12 rooms) has a wonderful personal feel to it. I think we had Superior Rooms which had plenty of space, separate bathroom (shower & bath) & toilet, plus a balcony overlooking a vineyard. There was also free WiFi. The restaurant in the hotel was a real find - great food, good wine list and reasonable prices. All the staff were helpful (despite our lack of French), and the two Sophies created a very friendly atmosphere. Conhilac Corbieres is very small. Apparently there are several other good restaurants in the area, but you will need to drive. Carcassone is an easy 20/30 min drive.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OzSooty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2010

Had lunch here last Friday. The food was only ok-- not a great choice. one of our party had duck and it was good; I had fish and it was fine, nothing impressive. The dessert was very disappointing--like a posher version of Angel delight. Laughable that this has a Michelin star???
The service was ASTOUNDINGLY bad-- surly, pretentious. Unprofessional. We ordered a bottle of wine that didn't arrive. We were still waiting after the first course for our wine, for a carafe of water-- ANYTHING liquid to help us eat our meal. We had to remind the incredibly rude waitress for our wine-- no apologies were made; eventually she came out with it, slopped it into our glasses (no tasting it here, evidently); not a word said.
Another surly waitress came to serve the main course, dropping a steak knife on my knee. No apologies, nothing. Amazingly bad service and hideously pretentious. Same surliness shown to all the other guests-- is this a restaurant policy? ! NOT Recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dogyoungone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2010

We stayed here for two nights as we were flying home from Carcassone. Our room was lovely and we had one night in a brand new room with a terrace overlooking the vineyards. It was in a very small French village about 30mins from Carcassone and if you are looking for somewhere different to stay this hotel is very nice.
The restaurant is lovely but beware the 'demi pension' option as it is no cheaper than the room and dinner separately and there is no choice. The chef decides on your meal from the fresh food available on the day. This choice is made from the Menu Terroir and the waitress told us in French what we would be having.
The first night our meal was very good and disappointing on the second night, particularly for no extra cost we could have had a choice.
Overall we enjoyed our stay and the young couple who own it were very friendly.
We would recommend this hotel but avoid the 'demi pension' and choose your meal!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JMacDonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2010

Many of the staff are untrained and abrupt. The food has pretensions to a star but the reality is somewhat different. The worst meal I have suffered for some time in France.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank embeeStockport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Si les chambres sont comme le repas, n'hésitez pas une seconde !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmlebussy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Conilhac-Corbieres
1.5 mi away
Le Mas de Gaujac Hotel-Restaurant
Le Mas de Gaujac Hotel-Restauran...
#1 of 1 in Lezignan-Corbieres
52 reviews
11.5 mi away
Hotellerie du Chateau de Floure
8.1 mi away
Le Top du Roulier
Le Top du Roulier
#1 of 1 in Capendu
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
La Residence du Chateau de Jouarres
10.7 mi away
La Bastide Cabezac
La Bastide Cabezac
#1 of 1 in Bize-Minervois
172 reviews
16.9 mi away
Chateau de Palaja
Chateau de Palaja
#1 of 1 in Palaja
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Cote Jardin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Cote Jardin

Address: 7 Avenue 113, 11200 Conilhac-Corbieres, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Aude > Conilhac-Corbieres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Conilhac-Corbieres
Price Range: $91 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Auberge Cote Jardin 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Auberge Coté Jardin, a gourmet experience in the heart of the Corbières. Midway between the Mediterranean and the Black Mountains, in the very heart of the richly diverse Corbières, nestles a building with hidden charm. This former Napoleonic coaching inn with heated swimming pool and secure private parking offers 12 bedrooms equipped to the highest standard, each with air conditioning, mini bar, TV and internet access.Young owner and chef of the restaurant David Prevel adheres to the maxim "exceptional food requires the finest ingredients." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Auberge Cote Jardin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Cote Jardin France/Conilhac-Corbieres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing