We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You cannot find anything better in Belur”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Mayura Velapuri Belur
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Belur
Pune, India
Level Contributor
86 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“You cannot find anything better in Belur”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed here for one night in Jan 2014. Belur lacks good hotels. If you want to stay here, you have no other choice than this property. If you want anything better, you have to stay in Hassan.

Pros:
- There is simply no better choice in Belur
- The property is recently renovated. Rooms are spacious and big. Bathrooms were big as well.
- Tariff is positively cheap
- You are in the middle of town. So it is very easy to find transportation right at your doorstep. It is a 10 to 15 min walk to the temple.
- By KSTDC standards, service is pretty good.

Cons:
- The food is bad. But we could not find any better restaurants in Belur. Maybe for Belur, it is above average.
- Bathrooms could have been better. For a newly renovated property, there were far too many stains. The bath area lacked a shower curtain (a common feature in all govt hotels).

Room Tip: You may as well choose the suite (S4) given that the overall tariff is pretty low for the place offe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rmanoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    61
    36
    8
    1
See reviews for
79
19
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

We friends of 4 members stayed in the hotel for a holiday manily due to the non-availability of rooms in Madikeri, but we then realized its better to stay in Belur, so that we can cover good number of places...

Hotel Mayura Velapuri is a part of Karnataka tourism and its a very good maintained hotel.

Good Points of hotel:

1) Location- just before Chennakesava temple
2) Hotel staffs are warm and provided information without any request(Ex: when we are there on Dec month, checked in late in night we are informed chikmangalur because of riot there).
3)Food-Costly for its taste but acceptable,restaurant opened till 10.30pm is good news and may be till 11.30 will be appreciatated
4) Room-Clean and Spacious(room booked for our stay is AC Deluxe for 4 people) and affordable as well
5) Car Parking-Ample amount of space is available for minimum 8 to 10 cars.
6) Room Service- We are in the search of more adventurous travel, so no experience with room service as we reach hotel at odd times.


This review is subjected to stay of 4 friends for 2 nights and based on those 2days!!!

OVerall we prefer to stay in this place instead of Madikeri or Mysore to explore more roads

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vijay_2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

This hotel is at 5 mins walkable distance from Belur Chennakesava temple. The AC deluxe rooms costs Rs. 1250, are very big and clean. Room S2 has an extra single bed also. Bathrooms are big and clean. Ample parking inside the hotel complex. There is a restaurant inside, which serves multi-cuisine food, though I would recommend you to go for south indian food here as they tastes much better compared to others. Restaurant also a bar.

Room Tip: S2 seems to biggest with extra bed. S1 and S3 are also good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kkaviraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

We enjoyed our stay (2 nights) at this quiet place close to the temple. The room was comfortable and large, bathroom is simple but OK, and the indian food was very good. The service is a bit slow, but it was OK, and so I recommed this place for visiting the temple of Belur.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KatharinaL85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Three of us shared a family room and were surprised to find this cheap hotel to be clean and spacious . A lovely place to overnight while passing through Karnataka . Sunset at the temple is magnificent . A joy to find such a nice room in a tiny Indian town

Room Tip: Family Rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ancientsecrets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

I had recently been to Belur, and happened to stay in Mayura Velapuri. Stayed in AC double (1250 each) including everything. Room choices should be S1, S2, or S3. These are 3 rooms in the new unit of theirs. Liked everything:

1. Absolutely clean
2. Huge rooms with big beds
3. Mr. Manjunath - Manager a sharp middle aged man, who understands your needs quickly.
4. An open area that the kids will love.
5. Ample parking space
6. Geyser at your control for warm water
7. Nice restaurant serving hot food
8. Pretty quick room service
9. Very secured
10. Private dinner area adjoining the complex as well (we did not use it though)
11. Very reasonably priced against the amenities.
12. Heart of Belur, 500 mts from the Chennakeshava Temple. So location is also just right!

Seriously thinking of staying here even when I visit Chickmagalur. Much affordable and comfortable stay only 20 kms away. Makes sense to travel up/down and cover Chickmagalur.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sanjoyganguly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

Very close to the temple.From the hotel Gate you can see the Temple Vimana.For weekend trip it is advisable to book it in advance.As it is a government hotel do not expect any kind of room service.But stuffs are very friendly.The attached restaurant is quite good and one can find any kind of north Indian food.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ami_ek_jajabar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belur
18.7 mi away
Hotel Mayura International
18.7 mi away
Hotel Raama
Hotel Raama
#3 of 21 in Hassan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
12.1 mi away
Hotel S.K. Regency
Hotel S.K. Regency
#8 of 16 in Chikamagalur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Chikmagalur
The Gateway Hotel Chikmagalur
#2 of 16 in Chikamagalur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
19.2 mi away
Pavanputra Resort & Spa
Pavanputra Resort & Spa
#13 of 21 in Hassan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
12.0 mi away
Crystal Inn
Crystal Inn
#5 of 16 in Chikamagalur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mayura Velapuri Belur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mayura Velapuri Belur

Property: Hotel Mayura Velapuri Belur
Address: Temple Road | Nr. Chennakeshava Temple, Belur 573115, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Belur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Belur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mayura Velapuri Belur 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the capitals of the Hoysala dynasty, Belur is renowned for its magnificent Hoysala temple architecture. The major attraction here is the Chennakesava Temple built by Hoysala King Vishnuvardhana, to commemorate his victory over the Cholas. It is the only Hoysala temple still in active use for worship. The temple stands on a platform and has exquisite art work on its outer walls, with bracket figures of dancing girls in various poses, carved to perfection. The other equally impressive monuments are the temples of Chennigaraya, Viranarayana, Sridevi and Bhoodevi, all in the same complex. Karnataka Hotels, Belur is literally a five minute walk from the temple complex and ideally located for those seeking to spend more time admiring the beauty of the temples. The hotel's 13 rooms include a suite as well as air-conditioned and non air-conditioned options. A restaurant and bar completes the facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Mayura Velapuri Belur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mayura Velapuri Belur Karnataka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing