We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting and fun, and rum!”

Casa Bacardi Visitor Center
Book In Advance
More Info
$60.00*
and up
Mixology Tour of Casa Bacardí
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Catano
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Learn about the past, present and future of the world’s most awarded rum and Spirit. Relive the history and see how Bacardí evolved from being a small rum manufacturer to becoming the Untamable Spirit that it is today. Conoce el pasado, el presente y el futuro del ron y el espíritu más premiado del mundo. Revive la historia y aprende cómo Bacardí evolucionó de ser un pequeño fabricante de ron para convertirse en el Espíritu Indomable que es hoy.
Reviewed 1 week ago

I got quite the education on rum during the rum tasting portion of the tour. Walking through the factory was interesting and educational.
The factory is opposite of El Moro at the mouth of the bay to San Juan, so the views are awesome.

Great food at the cafe near the visitor greeting area.

The 18 and 21 year aged rums are amazingly good.

Thank Chuck H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liana B, Reservation Agent at Casa Bacardi Visitor Center, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Greetings from Rum Paradise..

Thank you very much for such a great review!
The team here at Casa BACARDI is thrilled to hear such good feedback, and we’re proud to be one of the best vacation attractions in Puerto Rico.
Thank you for your visit! Hope you enjoyed rum paradise and visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,373)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"mixology tour"
in 417 reviews
"free drinks"
in 516 reviews
"gift shop"
in 609 reviews
"mixology class"
in 197 reviews
"cuba libre"
in 161 reviews
"rum tasting tour"
in 156 reviews
"historical tour"
in 161 reviews
"basic tour"
in 118 reviews
"drink tickets"
in 84 reviews
"souvenir glass"
in 73 reviews
"rum making process"
in 60 reviews
"free tour"
in 134 reviews
"welcome drink"
in 84 reviews
"old san juan"
in 551 reviews
"great tour"
in 262 reviews
"puerto rico"
in 333 reviews
"cab ride"
in 54 reviews
Filter

5 - 9 of 4,373 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

A short 10 to 15-minute drive from Condado. There was plenty of parking. Once you arrive, if you purchased your tickets online, then there was a fast track. Prices were pp excluding tax:
1. $15 for museum tour with one drink
2. $50 for a 30-minute tour with 5 1oz tasting & 1 drink.
3. $60 for an experience, (I think it was called mixology) - mix your own drinks & 1 drink. Not sure if you get to drink your mixed drinks. We did not go on this plan.

We did the $50 tour but I don't think it was worth $50. If you can find some online deals, then go for those.

The history was interesting and the tasting was cool. We tasted one blend that was only available at the Bacardi Store and it was very smooth. A hefty $160 for a bottle though.

I have added some pictures, so take a look. I really liked the limited edition (the black bottle), but for that kind of money (lady said $80 at the store), I would just get a bottle of Zacapa 23 years (much smoother and a better rum).

The place was actually relaxing and it was a nice little half day trip. There was a cool bar with rum drinks but the restaurant was closed (not sure when it will reopen). The view of Old San Juan was nice, albeit the fences blocking the view a little.

Tips:
1. If you are coming from Old San Juan, take the ferry across, the view is beautiful. It is difficult to walk from there to the distillery, so get an Uber or find a taxicab.
2. If you do have time, there is a restaurant right across the ferry terminal called Don Tello. I heard the food is good. There is also a little chinchoro selling Lechon on the weekends only. The lechon is good.
3. If you can, make sure to book in advance and be there on time. Puerto Rican time does not work and you may lose your spot.
4. Bring your own straw (preferrably not plastic) since they don't give you any unless you get the bottled plastic.

I have been to 155 countries and if you would like to know more about my trips, check out pinchetravels.com

Thank pinchetravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liana B, Reservation Agent at Casa Bacardi Visitor Center, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you very much for such a great review! The team here at Casa BACARDI is thrilled to hear such good feedback, and we’re proud to be one of the best vacation attractions in Puerto Rico. Thank you for your visit! Hope you enjoyed rum paradise and visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I was a little nervous to drive and do this tour solo but it was easier than I thought it would be and well worth the price of admission. I enjoyed the tour and would recommend it for solo travelers. The drink mixing class was fun and informative. Three cheers for Bacardi’.

Thank DBHusker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liana B, Reservatio Agent at Casa Bacardi Visitor Center, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you very much for such a great review! We are committed to offering unique, fun and educational experiences and are happy to see that reflected on your visit. We will make sure the team knows that they are doing a great job.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

If the tour offered by Bacardi can impress a non-alcoholic person like us, it would definitely be worth a visit for anyone! It is not time consuming. If you have car, you can park it at the parking lot and the tour has their own trolley which takes you around. The tour itself is fun and the guides are super dedicated and knowledgeable. One of the best attractions of San Juan, must visit.

2  Thank Ruchi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liana B, Reservatio Agent at Casa Bacardi Visitor Center, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you very much for such a great review! We are committed to offering unique, fun and educational experiences and are happy to see that reflected on your visit. We will make sure the team knows that they are doing a great job.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Loved our visit and tour. Eric was such a great tour guide and full of personality. The tasting was so much fun and the outdoor bar made some very delicious drinks!

Thank vivazumba41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liana B, Reservatio Agent at Casa Bacardi Visitor Center, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you very much for such a great review! We are committed to offering unique, fun and educational experiences and are happy to see that reflected on your visit. We will make sure the team knows that they are doing a great job.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Bacardi Visitor Center also viewed

San Juan, Puerto Rico
Fajardo, Puerto Rico
 
El Yunque National Forest, Puerto Rico
Culebra, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Casa Bacardi Visitor Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing