We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Neat and tidy”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Marulan Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Marulan Motor Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Marulan B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Neat and tidy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

Lovely place to stay , great service .. We pnly stayed one night ... bed was king size and bery comfy Would come back again had a quick meal in Chinese restaurant - as we were pretty tired .... Food and service good .

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Krisy64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    15
    7
    0
    3
See reviews for
14
14
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney Mines, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

5 star Michelin star / Shanghai jade chopstick index. Tao's in NYC cannot compete. The lazy susan worked overtime. Had a crack at the capilano honey prawns, beef blackbean and broccoli aka 'Mr B' stone grill stir fry and the discreet off the menu shun tung chicken. Yum cha dumplings loaded with prawns, take that sandro5000. Washed it down with two bottles of Dynasty Great Wall 'Ningxia' (aka Bordeaux) and a lychee Chateau Changya dessert wine chaser. As good as the smorgasboard at the Tianjin province under 20s table tennis tournament. Chan's chinese at Liverpool is now rubbish. Right wing liberals from Fitzroy Falls welcome. Gong hei fat choy.

Room Tip: Chinese lucky room number 8. Yeah boy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Van F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Ali's Motel and Restaurant has had some changes.

There are now professional motel managers in charge and Tommy has opened the Meridian Chinese restaurant.

The restaurant is proving to be very popular with locals and travellers and recently took bookings for a wedding reception and a 40th birthday.

The motel now has managers on site 24/7 and a new reservation system so Sandro5000 can book with confidence that her room will be waiting for her on arrival.

All 22 rooms are currently being audited to rectify and problems missed when the motel was built in 2010.

So if you are looking to break your journey or have business in Marulan, Ali's can offer clean comfortable rooms at reasonable rates.

The ducks and geese are doing well with 2 separate nests expecting the quacking of little beaks and no, there will not be any restaurant specials for Peking Duck

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank justin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

I had booked 3 rooms in June 2012 via Natasha and the Ali's Motel online reservation system for 3 rooms for 10 people, I did this 4 months in advance, no email confirmation was received at the time so I rang the motel just to make sure they had received my email booking. She confirmed this.

I then rang the motel 3 weeks before we were to stay there and I was told by the 'relief manager' that there was no such booking and the motel was now full that night. Absolutely disgraceful organisation from Natasha, if this is the standard set for the simple task of taking a booking then I can only imagine the standards of the place in general. But no, I didn't get to stay there and will never even consider it in future. Some people just shouldn't be in business.

Be careful, you may book a room but have the unpleasant shock of not having one when you get there.

Room Tip: There isn't a lot in Marulan so Ali's Motel has a monopoly, but last year we stayed at Marul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandro5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

Also frantic to find accommodation in Goulburn area. We stayed there in December, for 1 night. We also arrived late, which was dealt with in a very efficient and friendly way. Beds comfortable, bathroom and room spotlessly clean, tea and coffee facilities very welcome. The waterhole (pond)? with its resident ducks and geese was big hit with my little granddaughter and her cousin. We stayed there in December. Very happy and would be happy to stay there again.

Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ACR_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goulburn , Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2011

i would just like to say thanks to Mick, and Natasha for the great Service and perfect meals we have encounted over the past 12 Months whilst we have been frequent vistors at Ali's.
Having kids that are Fussy eaters, we have found that Mick & Natasha, always go out of there way to cater for our needs. We have had various functions held at Alis, Birthday Parties etc , and nothing is a bother.

Keep up the GREAT WORK guys.....We will be back for sure.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wozza86288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narrabri, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2011

I was frantic when I couldn't find accommodation in Goulburn..I rang Ali's and got a room. THEN I read the reviews,I was terrified and thought 'oh well, nowhere else to go'....BUT...we arrived late,this was NOT a problem and on entering our room...it was beautiful, ample room, clean linen. I checked the bathroom after reading the review..it was spotless. My niece had her young daughter with us and she was very impressed (she is very hard to impress!) We stayed 2 nights. Would stay there again!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debtar_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marulan
15.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Goulburn
BEST WESTERN Goulburn
#2 of 16 in Goulburn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
22.2 mi away
Peppers Manor House
Peppers Manor House
#1 of 1 in Sutton Forest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
17.6 mi away
Bundanoon Hotel
Bundanoon Hotel
#3 of 3 in Bundanoon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Willows Motel Goulburn
Willows Motel Goulburn
#3 of 16 in Goulburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
17.9 mi away
Mercure Goulburn
Mercure Goulburn
#1 of 16 in Goulburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
15.3 mi away
Lilac City Motor Inn
Lilac City Motor Inn
#8 of 16 in Goulburn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marulan Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marulan Motor Inn

Property: Marulan Motor Inn
Address: George Street | (Off the Hume HIghway), Marulan, New South Wales 2579, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Marulan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Marulan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Marulan Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marulan Motor Inn is conveniently located just off the Hume Highway, halfway between Canberra and Sydney. Whether you are travelling with family or for business, Marulan Motor Inn has a range of affordable rooms available for short or long term stays. With a restaurant and bar onsite as well parking at your door, all rooms offer a 50" flat-screen TV, a desk with wireless internet and all the usual amenities you'd expect from a recently renovated motel. Crisp linen and quality towels are also supplied for your comfort and each individually controlled, air-conditioned room features a refrigerator and tea/coffee making facilities. Each room also contains a private bathroom with a shower, hairdryer and complimentary toiletries for your convenience. With Goulburn and the Southern Highlands a quick 20 minutes away, and a range of cafes and eateries nearby, Marulan Motor Inn is a warm and welcoming home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Marulan Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marulan Motor Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing