We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Place to stop”
Review of La Tavola Rotonda

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Tavola Rotonda
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chiavenna Landi
Certificate of Excellence
uk
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Charming Place to stop”
Reviewed November 18, 2011

We stopped off here with our dogs on a return trip to UK, from the road it does not look much but once in the grounds this is a well restored medieval manor house. The bedroom was spacious and airy, and the bed comfortable, but the air conditioning unit had seen better days - it took three telephone calls to get the guy at reception to fix it, but he did in the end (bless him - I think he was scared of using step ladders) and thereafter it stayed cool throughout the night. WLAN was a complete mystery to get to work, not much help from reception. There is quite large back garden to walk the dogs around. We had the court yard to ourselves and had a good meal (Pizza, salad, fries and beer - the simple things in life are the best) The service was a but touch and go but was part of the flavor of the place.

Room Tip: If you have a room overlooking the court yard it could get noisy in the evening
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Happydays46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    144
    49
    28
    19
See reviews for
40
261
1
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Katowice
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We had large apartment there (over 100 sq. m) - very nice two bedrooms with kitchen an dining facilities. Apartment was moderately clean, but at ehole make a perfect impression (beautiful wooden ceilings). Good breakfast. One thing you must do is eat pizza in local pizsery below and taste their red table wine!!! Amazing. Service could be better (italy, italy...)

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kamil77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Very nice hotel with a great big room. They could provide a babycot for us but charged us 15 euros extra for that (which is the policy of the website we booked through). The restaurant was nice, especially the pizza. Staff was quite helpful and friendly (except for one waitress in the evening, but the pizzaiolo was really nice). Breakfast was Italian style (sweets, chocolate croissants, etc.) but nice ans sufficient. The wireless Internet was working only in the lobby near the reception.
There is a nice park but many flies do not make it pleasant to stay outside for a long time.
The night was particularly quiet. The room's windows were on the "cortile" and not on the road... so the only possible noise could have come from there but it was really quiet.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vegigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinross Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2011

Driving back to the uk from Rome we stayed at the Rotonda for one night. I had picked this hotel as the thought of staying in a beautiful former medieaval castle appealed to my partner and myself. Initially we were not disappointed, the room was very spacious with a large bathroom and the building was indeed beautiful but the service was non existent. The receptionist wasnot very welcoming nor very forthcoming with information. Perhaps Monday is a quiet day for restaurants but we chose to eat in the the hotel pizzaria and were only one other couple were there as well. Despite this, the service was very slow and we both felt disappointed. Would we stay here again? Definitely not.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peter202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
huddersfield
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2010

found this on expedia, husband was sceptical, had to eat his words!

A superb hotel and meal for the price and helpful staff, would recomend to friends and definately go again on our drive down to tuscany

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janethyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2010

We stopped at La Tavola Rotonda for one night on our way between our homes in Devon and Umbria. Convenient for A1; beautiful building; good value at the discounted rate we had - 50%; exceptional restaurant with the option of some interesting medieval recipes.

Large, airy room with all modern comforts in an atmospheric setting.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flautaio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiavenna Landi
14.4 mi away
Residenza Torre di San Martino
16.7 mi away
Antico Borgo di Tabiano Castello
Antico Borgo di Tabiano Castello
#1 of 1 in Tabiano Castello
790 reviews
2.5 mi away
Relais Cascina Scottina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Hotel "La Maison de Vi"
Hotel "La Maison de Vi"
#1 of 1 in Carpaneto Piacentino
79 reviews
10.3 mi away
Hotel Ovest
Hotel Ovest
#1 of 12 in Piacenza
755 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Le Ruote
Hotel Le Ruote
#1 of 2 in Cadeo
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Tavola Rotonda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Tavola Rotonda

Property: La Tavola Rotonda
Address: Via Piacenza 35, 29016 Chiavenna Landi, Italy
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Piacenza > Chiavenna Landi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chiavenna Landi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Tavola Rotonda 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your La Tavola Rotonda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Tavola Rotonda Italy/Chiavenna Landi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing