We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (79)
Filter reviews
79 results
Traveler rating
33
32
8
5
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
33
32
8
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fixed price argenton sur creuse annex range pool terrace
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 79 reviews
Reviewed April 11, 2018 via mobile

A 5* review for a 3* hotel. Seems fair.

Have stayed there 4-6 times a year for more or less ten years.

Rooms in the annex are perfect for us and two dogs. Own little terrace with direct access front (by the car) and rear, direct to the pool.

Annex rooms being refurbished now (April 2018). Comfortable king size beds. Impeccably clean.

Shower room (plenty of hot water) and adequate towels - and separate lavatory.

Dinner copious and good quality (various fixed price plus a la carte). Lots of choice. Good cheese board if you have room!

Good range of wines. Bottle, carafe or by the glass. The white Menetou very nice.

Last Saturday evening the restaurant was virtually full with, as far as we could tell, local French people. “Eat where the locals eat.”

Ten minutes off the autoroute - North- or South-bound.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Bill_and_Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2017

En route to the south of France, this hotel was ideally situated for our stopover and it didn't disappoint. We were pleasantly surprised to find the swimming pool and were the only ones using it. The welcome was friendly, the restaurant had obviously been busy at Sunday lunchtime but was quieter in the evening and the food was tasty. Our room was quiet and comfortable although the wi-fi reception only worked in the restaurant. Breakfast was plentiful and fresh.

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Patsyp182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2016 via mobile

For our trip to the Southern part of France, we stopped over for one hotel night. A lot of hotels were fully booked and also this hotel was nearly full. The friendly lady improvised a room with four beds for the night. The swimmingpool was perfect and refreshing. The A/C is a must and works perfectly. Very nice hotel for stopping by.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Traveller_Tomasco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2015

Location seemed ideal for a stop over. The welcome was adequate but not friendly. The room was fine, although we couldn't access the wifi. The big let down was however, the evening meal. The service was poor, no smiles or checking that we were ok. The food was less than average. We visited the local town and that seemed past its sell by date which was a pity as it had a lovely setting on the river. There was a lot shut and up for sell. We won't return to either the hotel or the town - France has so much better to offer.

Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EileenM755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2014

We have been coming to this hotel for the last ten years on our way to and from the south of France.
It is in a very pretty location alongside the river Creuse near to Argenton.
It is very good value,.and the food is excellent. The rooms are spotless. All rooms have A/C and T.V.
The family always make you feel welcome.
When we first came the hotel was 2* and is now a 3*.
They have improved the hotel year to year. The first time we arrived there were only rooms in the main building. This was a little difficult for anyone with mobility problems, as the stairs were steep.
The second year we came back, they had purchased some houses next door making this a small annexe and turned them into family rooms and also a room for people with disabilities including wheelchair access and a wet room.The next year an extension to the dining room was added, doubling the capacity.
The following year a swimming pool was added.
The year after a roll back enclosure was added to the pool for when the sun doesn't shine along with a spa/jacuzzi. and loungers. Lovely.
The rooms in the annexe have a small terrace with table and chairs which lead directly to the pool.
Then another year the front terrace to the hotel was remodeled making dining alfresco much more possible. Also the rooms in the main hotel were remodeled to include a large family room with a large terrace.
This year we found a larger back patio had been added by the side of the pool.
We wonder what next!
Should I be writing this review as I would like to keep it a secret, however when something is good we need to say so.

Room tip: All of the rooms are of a good clean standard, but for those with mobility problems the rooms in the annexe are a good choice also the rooms in the annexe are family rooms, which can and are used by couples if there is availability.
Date of stay: August 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Mars46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews