We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm welcome and delightful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Les Chambres de l'Abbaye
Certificate of Excellence
Lewes, United Kingdom
1 review
“A warm welcome and delightful stay”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Five of us were cycling from Paris to Dieppe and had selected Les chambres de l'Abbaye for our overnight say. We arrived at 7.30pm and were given a warm welcome by our host Chloe. Our bikes were safely stored, and we were given a tour or Jean-France's artist studio. The house is full of his impressive paintings.
Chloe provided a wonderful home cooked meal with wine and a delightful Vin de nuits as an aperitif. Chloe and Jean-France were very generous with her hospitality and really made us feel welcome.
A heart breakfast was ready for us next morning, and we were well set for our final leg to Dieppe.
A delightful but short stay. Mike Miller

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
55
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Five of us were cycling from London to Paris and had ridden some 55 miles from Dieppe on our first day in France. Our route (using Donald Hirsch's invaluable low-traffic route guide) took us very close to St Germer de Fly, so we had booked the family suite (sleeps 3) and a double room. The location is beautiful, with the ancient Abbey nearby and nestling in a sleepy village. Chloé Comte and her famous artist husband Jean-Francis made us very welcome. The rooms were beautiful with pleasant views and comfortably furnished. And there is a secure stable in which to tether your bicycles. Chloé cooked our evening meal (pre-booking a meal is essential) which was simply superb, including an apéritif of homemade walnut wine and several delicious courses of home cooking. We spent some time looking at the paintings in Jean-Francis' studio - very interesting figurative work often using what he calls "accelerated perspective". All in all I'd highly recommend les Chambres de L'Abbaye to anyone wanting a break on the journey to or from Paris or just enjoying a weekend away.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We were warmly welcomed by our host. She took good care of us : showed us a place to store our bicycles, made us breakfast and even a laundry ! For dinner we had a pic-nic ine the garden, it's a nice property. But the most incredible was our room. It was actually a small apartment ! It had a hall with a library full of interesting books, a very large room and last but not least a big and beautiful bathroom with a nice tub in the middle ! Everything was decorated with care and taste. We felt at home though, but the kind of home you can only dream of.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tomboy75019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Stunning rooms and excellent food and wine. And if you like art you are in for a treat. So you really should not miss the opportunity of staying with Chloe and Jean-Francis the two most gracious hosts.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JBHenley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austria
Level Contributor
70 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2012

The house is in a small and charming village with nice and helpful people. Mme. Compte was very nice to let us in as fast as possible to our room, due our baby (less than two months old) was desperate to finish to eat and have his bath to sleep without problems. Huge room and clean bathroom. The breakfast was delicious and home made bakery. Placed on the table with a nice hot chocolate.
It is the perfect place to avoid overcrowding and to relax ourselves.

Room Tip: We booked a room for three people and we got one kind of a mini apartment in the first floor with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FabyRuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 18, 2011

This is not going to suit all but for our purposes it was exactly what we needed. There were five of us cycling from London to Paris over the course of 2.5 days. We'd landed at Dieppe at 15:30 and had 80km to cycle to get to Les Chambres de l'Abbaye. I estimated 3.5 to 4 hours - it exceeded 5. Chloe, the host, was providing dinner but our delay would surely throw a spanner in the works. Nothing of the sort. We were greeted very warmly by Chloe and Jean Francois. Beautiful accommodation, beautiful food and drink - and lots of it. Rural, rustic charm at it's very French best. If you're cycling I'd definitely recommend extending yourself to get here - bikes are locked securely undercover and the village is beautiful - probably the best we saw on the route. If you're in a small group then this should be fine for you. There are only 3 bedrooms and me and my mate had to share a double bed - though there is a 3 single bedded suite available the others slept in - thogh there's a slightly scary small room. The advantage of the double room was a bathroom just as big. In the centre of the room is a bath you won't want to get out of after a long day in the saddle. Price for our stay was more than reasonable - it was excellent value. Things to watch out for - Jean Francois' artistic bent. It's alluded to in the photos on the website - quite possibly not to everyone's taste but it will certainly stimulate conversation. Chloe and Jean Francois will likely sit with you for dinner so brush up on your French, JF particularly has had a very interesting life. If your French is rubbish - don't worry - their English isn't.

Room Tip: The rooms have different benefits.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevvers1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Germer-de-Fly
7.9 mi away
Chateau du Landel
Chateau du Landel
#1 of 1 in Bezancourt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
11.4 mi away
Le Moulin des Forges
Le Moulin des Forges
#1 of 1 in Saint-Omer-en-Chaussee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Le St Aubin
Hotel Le St Aubin
#2 of 3 in Gournay-en-Bray
3.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hotel de Normandie
Hotel de Normandie
#3 of 3 in Gournay-en-Bray
3.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
14.2 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#1 of 13 in Beauvais
4.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
16.0 mi away
Forges Hotel
Forges Hotel
#1 of 5 in Forges-les-Eaux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Chambres de l'Abbaye? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Chambres de l'Abbaye

Property: Les Chambres de l'Abbaye
Address: 2 rue Michel Greuet, 60850 Saint-Germer-de-Fly, France
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Oise > Saint-Germer-de-Fly
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Germer-de-Fly
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Between Normandy and Picardy, 90 kms from Paris, a property with much character and charm, only 200 meters from a magnificent Roman Abbey.The three very spacious bedrooms, offers a view of the Abbey or of the vast gardens of the property. The furniture invokes the charm of a family home and the succeeding generations.Jean Francois Comte, your host, has constructed his studio alongside the house and invites guests, to discover his paintings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Les Chambres de l'Abbaye reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing