We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flabergasted”

Clancys of Glenfarne
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Clancys of Glenfarne
Ranked #1 of 1 Glenfarne B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Booked into the guest house on the 13 March 2013 at about 15:30 hrs and first impressions were good, a clean and well presented place. On settling into the room we noted that the room was very cold (winter time - outside temp around 6degC) with no heat from the radiator. Looking at the guest guide we noted that the last orders for dinner was 18:30 hrs which we thought was a little early but since we were hungary and had not had lunch we went down at 16:30 hrs and ordered tea/dinner. We advised that there was no heating in the room and were told that they would check and fix. A young lad came to tell us that he had switched the heating on as it was on a timer.
We finished our meal which was edible and went back to the room and found the radiator was on. My wife was not feeling well so our plans to visit the pub over the road recommended to us by a business acquaintence were cancelled and we retired early to watch TV. The room was begining to heat up but after an hour we noted that the heating had been turned off. We tried to call reception from the room but no answer. My wife then eventually went down stairs to advise that there was no heating and again she was advised that it was on a timer. On her return to the room reception called us and I stated that I was aware that the heating was on a timer but that the heating should be left on since the room was so cold. I was then advised that we should find alternative accommodation if we found the room cold. I was astounded at this response so at 20:30 hrs we packed up and left. Just prior to leaving the male proprieter went to the room and stated that it was not cold. Well he had come from downstaires where it was very warm and cosy and was only in the room for a few seconds. I have never experienced such arogant and diaboilical customer service anywhere in the world. The proprieter requires hospitality training and should be ashamed of his behaviour. In my experience temperatures in hotel rooms can be adjusted by the guests and not by accommodation providers with a scrooge mentality.
At 20:30 hrs we had to travel a fair distance to find other accommodation but ended up in a nice hotel with a very cosy warm comfortable room and which was cheaper than the 70 Euro that we would have paid in the guest house.

Room Tip: Take your own electric heater with you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimclancy, Owner at Clancys of Glenfarne, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Where there is no prior reservation, the room heat is turned on only as it is needed. This room then takes a while to reach the temperature of the rest of the building. Normal economic sense dictates this policy. Once on, it is controlled by thermostat set at 23 degrees. We had other guests staying on this night and they did not raise any issues. I am forty years running a successful business and not once has it been recommended that I need ‘hospitality training’. I value each and every customer’s business, and the large number of repeat guests would appear to uphold this.
I respect everyone’s opinion however, but in this case I stand over our record, as per previous reviews.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (89)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 89 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2012

Stayed here when going to dinner in mc neans up the road. Could not speak highly enough about the place.. Fantastic welcoming hosts, lovely breakfast, best soda bread since my grannys own one 30 years ago. Pub across the road is legendary.. Full of characters and so friendly... Got dropped and collected from mc neans... There's service for you. Rooms are nice.. Clean with massive comfy bed. Not ultra luxury but more than fitted the bill. Would stay here again for sure when next down for mc neans

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShivGalway_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Eight of us stayed in Clancy's, whilst visiting McNean Restaurant last week.
Thanks to Jim & Assumpta for a great welcome to your establishment. We really enjoyed our stay with you and will definately return. Great hospitality, lovely people, nothing was a problem, thanks again for "taxi" service to / from Blacklion - nice touch and much appreciated. Great little pub across the road also!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eithne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Stayed again for a couple of nights, a year since my last stay.

Breakfast, rooms and service still superb, without fault. The restaurant and resident's lounge have had a refurb, nice touch.

I really cannot recommend Clancy's high enough!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ger72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We found the staff exceptionally friendly in every way. We were using Clancys as a base for visiting MacNean Bistro in Blacklion. We had tried to book a room in MacNean but it was booked out. I am glad that this was the case now, as we absolutely loved Clancys. The price of the rooms was very reasonable. Much cheaper than a hotel, and more homely too. Breakfast is served till noon, so there is no major hustle to get out of bed in the morning. The rooms were homely, and the staff so friendly, especially for the breakfast and the dinner service. The breakfast was a little on the dry side - rashers hard and sausages a bit small, but the staff more than made up for it. It says a lot when you are handed a newspaper by your server. We enjoyed MacNeans and were given a lift up and back by the owners of Clancys ! That was wonderful service. Another thing we loved was that Clancys was on the road to Sligo, close to Enniskillen, and very close to the Marble Arch Caves and Florencecourt Gardens. If you are staying in Clancys, you should head over to McHughs pub across the road, and make sure to head for the bar. The locals are a scream, and the beer is lovely. Overall we really enjoyed our stay, and we will be back again in August for a longer visit.

Room Tip: Maybe ask for a room to the rear of the premises, although at the front is not bad, as the road outs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BurstYourBubble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stopped off here on the road home from Sligo for Sunday dinner, the food was amazing wholesome home cooked dinners which u where given plenty of and was very well priced,all our family loved it, the service was great and even though there was eight of us the food arrived quickly and all together, an amazing little place x

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Stayed at Clancy's for several nights visiting family near Glenfarne. This place is a jewel in the rough. Jim and Asumpta were the most gracious hosts making us feel like family. The rooms were clean and the meals were good home cooked meals and the "homemade brown bread is to die for" This place is a great spot to stay if you are in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beck87k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Clancys of Glenfarne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clancys of Glenfarne

Address: Brockagh, Glenfarne, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Leitrim > Glenfarne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Glenfarne
Price Range: $102 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Clancys of Glenfarne 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Guest House accommodation consists of 8 tastefully decorated en suite bedrooms, all with television, telephone, tea/coffee and free broadband internet access. Satellite channels available. A two bedroom apartment is also available and this provides ideal accommodation for families.We present a perfect base for exploring this undiscovered part of the country and special discounts are available for groups. Children's discount is also available when sharing with adults. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Clancys of Glenfarne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing