We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning hotel, wonderful hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chateau de la Resle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights at the beginning of August 2013 - 2 adults with 2 children. Johan's welcome was as warm as the weather, and he struck just the right balance between being there when you needed him and giving us space. The house itself, its grounds and surroundings are stunning. We stayed in the Chateau suite, which comprised a sitting room with sofa bed (a big one) which gave plenty of space for the 2 children; a large bedroom, en suite bathroom and a small kitchen. All 4 rooms were beautifully decorated and furnished, really well equipped, and had amazing views over the grounds and/or surrounding countryside.

It is a very grown up place - although at 12 and 9, our children were old enough to cope with this, and Johan's recommendation to visit the medieval construction project at Guedelon was inspired. He even gave advice on the journey home which was very useful.

Room Tip: The Chateau suite is in the attic and gets very hot in fine weather, hence our 'sleep quality...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank the992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (110)
There are newer reviews for Chateau de la Resle
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 110 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

How does one find rest amongst the culinary delights of the gorgeous Burgundy countryside? Truly the rigors of eating, wine tasting and being awed by the many beautiful vistas can be exhausting... Where to find Solace? Here in this charming Chateau with your friendly and generous hosts Johann and Peter. Their addition of some modern flair and art blends surprisingly well with the delicious crunch of the gravel courtyards and beautiful grounds that accompany this amazing property. They welcome you here amongst them as instant friends. They are friends I will miss until my next inevitable visit.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pusher19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We spent 2 nights here as part of a tour of Yonne over the long Ascension weekend. The location is splendid, with Chablis, Pontigny and Auxerre all very close. Johan and Pieter have done a wonderful conversion of the chateau - so wonderful in fact we were amazed that they would want to share it with the public. We had the Blue Room, which had an extremely comfortable bed, classic decor and high ceilings. The bathroom was nice but, although private, was situated along a corridor and not in the room. If you have a choice, go for one of the other 3 rooms/suites. Also, somewhat bizarrely given the nightly rates, they don't accept credit or debit cards so you'll need to come with a cheque book or sufficient cash.

Come here as a couple for a romantic break. Absolutely don't come with a small child, as we did with our 8 month old daughter. Theoretically, the owners cater for such, with cots available and no infant restrictions mentioned on the website or after specific email enquiry. Practically, however, they really don't - to the extent that one of them knocked on the door and asked us to put something in the baby's mouth after 10 minutes of crying. (We were close to putting something in his mouth at that point.) A year ago we would probably have sympathised with their reaction but now, as parents with a young child, we felt "on pins" for the rest of our stay - constantly worrying in case the baby made a noise - and that obviously detracted from our overall experience. We'd advise Johan and Pieter to just implement a blanket policy rejecting young children so that nobody is made to feel uncomfortable. Otherwise, the other comments on this website are reasonable enough.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Edwin and Kitty N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johan B, Owner at Chateau de la Resle, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Again thank you very much for your feedback. This review is very helpfull. I do need to point out that our website clearly states that our B&B is NOT suitable for children under 8. Children older than that are very welcome but we leave it to the parents to decide if this place is suitable for their children. In your specific case you mentioned having a baby only after the reservation was confirmed, saying the baby was very quiet and easy to handle. If people are really motivated to stay at our chateau, I have a hard time cancelling a reservation. But we have to be more strict in the future and will be. Personally I don't mind a crying baby as tend to go to bed late. In this specific case another customer came to see us around 23.00 saying they woke up and could not sleep due to the crying. It is not our habit to knock on people's door late at night but we had no choice for the sake of our other clients. Sorry for that.

As for the payment; being a privately kept B&B the bank won't give us a credit card machine of course, but our structure is being changed at the moment and as from this summer credit card payments will be possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Johanne and Pieter were the perfect hosts. Chateau de las Resle is beautifully decorated and furnished - a wonderful place to stay. We started and finished our trip to France here and it made our holiday. Really good breakfast and coffee!! Thank you both!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

I have been wondering how to write a review without repeating all the detail and compliments which have already been written about the chateau and its charming owners. All I can really say is that our stay was all we wished for and given that we spend hours picking the perfect accommodation when we travel, this is a tall order. We loved the house itself, the attention to detail both artistically and for the guests' enjoyment, the stunning art, the beautiful grounds, the comfortable bed, the peaceful atmosphere, the funky background music, the views. I'm not sure what else would enhance this experience. The icing on the cake was the welcome from the hosts and their enthusiasm for what they do. I hope this conveys some idea but I can assure you a stay here will not disappoint.

Room Tip: There are 2 rooms and 2 suites. We had the bleu room which was spacious and very comfortable.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank acinspa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

No tired 70's/80's country decor here! Johan and Pieter offer guests the experience of a vibrant art collection complementing the edgy interiors whilst being true to the original structure of Chateau de la Resle.We stayed in the Green Suite which offered all the comforts we could have wanted.Breakfast was wonderfull regional produce and Johan also made a booking for us at Le Jardin Gourmand restaurant in Auxerre....what a memorable degustation it was.
Take time to explore the gardens at la Resle,meander around the lake viewing the various pieces of sculpture.....great for photos.An ideal place to access and explore the northern Burgundy region of France without staying in the centre of a big city.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

This is a very individual and unusual travel experience. This is not just an elegant, beautifully restored manor home in a magnificent and tranquil setting with warm and congenial hosts-it is an art museum. Johan and Pieter are discerning art collectors with a wonderful array of impressive contemporary art that fills all the public spaces of this very gracious home.

Ch de Resle is well located for the sights of northern Burgogne which has a great deal to offer historically and architecturally. But little of it beats the experience of returning to the peace and beauty of Ch. de Resle at the end of a day of sightseeing. The trees, the pond, the hillside, the windchimes, the songbirds. The house is set in a forest and views have been cleared.

This is definitely not a hotel but a wonderful and sophisticated private home which accepts visitors. Take advantage while the opportunity is there.
Thank you so much Johan!

Room Tip: There are only a few rooms. Any one will do.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Abra39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montigny-la-Resle
6.8 mi away
L'Hostellerie des Clos
L'Hostellerie des Clos
#1 of 4 in Chablis
550 reviews
15.8 mi away
La Cote Saint Jacques
16.2 mi away
Hotel Auberge de la Beursaudiere
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Hotel Normandie Auxerre
Hotel Normandie Auxerre
#1 of 21 in Auxerre
346 reviews
19.3 mi away
La Borde
La Borde
#1 of 1 in Leugny
64 reviews
24.5 mi away
Hameau De La Fausse Sauge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de la Resle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de la Resle

Address: Rue des Buttes | Lieu dit La Resle, 89230 Montigny-la-Resle, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Yonne > Montigny-la-Resle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Montigny-la-Resle
Price Range: $220 - $426 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowning a hill in the renowned winemaking region of Burgundy, Château de la Resle has the charm and personality of a well-loved private home. The six elegant rooms and suites are taken care of by Dutchmen Johan Bouman and Pieter Franssens, who invite guests to share the French, ivy-wrapped manor house they painstakingly restored. Adding to the feeling of romance and exclusivity is Johan and Pieter’s personal collection of contemporary art and design, which attracts fellow connoisseurs from around the world.From the château, which sits on the edge of an 800-hectare hunting forest, there are bucolic views down the valley of Montigny la Resle. The wine village of Chablis – that gives its name to one of the most famous white wines in France – is also just a short drive away. Exploring the area is a delight, but guests are equally happy to unwind at the château’s spa, soak in the azure pool, or relax by a sizzling open fire with a glass of the château’s own Chablis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Chateau de la Resle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing