We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A clean place with good WiFi”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bahia de Los Angeles
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Costa del Sol Hotel
Reviewed August 19, 2013

The average quality of accommodation in Bahia de Los Angeles is very low, and this is probably the best place where you can stay. Don't expect resort location and services, but a good place, with big and clean rooms, a smiling host, a good restaurant, a nice patio and good WiFi connection.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank marco_mazzei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (34)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 34 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2013

Lodging options in Bahia de Los Angeles are slim pickings. As far as we saw, this was the nicest in town. It is a very pleasant place - rooms nicely decorated and they seemed quite clean. The patio area is great, where drinks and or meals can be served. The little restaurant was very good. Our main issue was the smell - our room smelled very strongly of bleach. It was quite overwhelming, almost like they were trying to disguise something. Our eyes were stinging the next morning. Other than that, the place was very nice for the area.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chemoangellaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed.We stayed here after reading other reviews. The property is right on the Malecon. She has a cute little on site restraunt with very good food as well as some outdoor patio seating. The grounds are quite pretty and relaxing. Victoria, the owner is very nice and speaks a reasonable amout of English. We paid $600 pesos ( about $47usd at the current exchange) which we thought was a good value. It was nice to just get off our motorcycles and be able to eat all of our meals on site. This is a small location, although she is currently adding a second building that is about half finished. I recommend trying to call or email for reservations. I will post a picture of her business card. She does accept Visa/Debit cards which is kind of rare in this town since they don't have a bank or any cell service in the area. She does have free wifi but you have to be pretty close to the restaurant or office to get a good signal if you want to use skype or something. We stayed here on 2 separate occasions and in different rooms. The beds are quite firm. The pillows are fine. The comforters and bedding are newer and tasteful with knotty pine headboards. She has a nice little cherry stains tables and two chairs in each room. She also has a bamboo type mirror and vanity in each room. The rooms are clean, but like most hotels in the area, it is not perfect. Things like doors hinges and anything metal get corroded easily. One sink had the hot and cold water reversed. The other sink only had one faucet that worked but it was the hot side. They acutally have a bath tub but lack a tub spout or drain plug. The plumbing at times leaves you scratching your head, but again this is not a suprise, and still much nicer than anything else in the area. To accommodate the hot water supply, she has the water heaters turned WAY up to scalding but that requires some fine tuning your shower. Some little movements on the hot water go a long way. If your desperate and cold like I was, we stuffed a plastic bag in the tub drain and just let the shower fill up the tub so I could soak.
We needed to stay an addittional night for some unexpected repairs but she was booked. We ended up checking out every other hotel around town and were very disappointed. She recommended we stay at a neighboring hotel call Las Hamacas. It wasn't even close to being as nice as her place. Dont ever get a referal. The crabby old man at Las Hamacas charged us $600 pesos! He said when it is a referal he charges the same rate as the hotel that refered you! That is BS! I will review other hotels seperately

Room Tip: Room 1 is the cutest and has just one queen bed. All rooms are pretty comparable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BounderBaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed here for several nughts in mid
September on our trip tp see the whale sharks. Wonderful place! The hostess is very nice. The air conditioning was wonderful! Very good value. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank BigJonson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

My husband and his friends enjoyed their stay at the Costa del Sol Hotel in Bahia de Los Angeles recently. This is my husband's review:

"The Costa del Sol Hotel is small, with 7 rooms, which are clean & comfortable. The staff is friendly, and the hotel is a good value. It has central AC, which worked very well during the hot weather of our visit (over 100 degrees outside.) We appreciated the fact that they could accommodate us at the last minute.

There was plenty of hot water in the shower. The beds were clean and comfortable, although the pillows were a little hard for my taste.

We had breakfasts and dinners in their restaurant, which were tasty and prepared with TLC.The food was a good value and they were very attentive.

It was a nice location. I will stay there again on my next trip to LA Bay."

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Melissa5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Bahia is not a hot bed of quality hotels. That being said the last time I stayed a Costa del Sol it was by far the most comfortable and US Standard in the area. Nice clean rooms with A/C. Your host s formally from the LA area are very friendly and willing to assist. They make a mean margarita and cook up your catch of fish if asked for a small fee. Last visited July 2006. Friends go every year and say quality remains same.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank PHOENIXFISHGUY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2005

As a frequent Baja traveler (this time with my family in tow) decided it was time to look into a hotel other than the usual haunts. We were at the Costa Del Sol three nights during the Christmas holidays. The room, while very clean (for Mexico) was quite bland. The beds sported new mattresses and water pressure was more than acceptable. The front desk staff was friendly and was responsive to our requests for additional towels, pillows, blankets, and the like.

The hotel's restaurant had shortened hours (likely because of the holidays), but we found the food quite tasty and service was quick.

All in all we were pleased with the Costa Del Sol. The price was hard to beat...$55/night. They have a secure (but small) parking garage. I would not recommend on-street parking, especially at night.

11  Thank NikonJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Costa del Sol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa del Sol Hotel

Address: Carretera El Parador-Bahia Km. 66, Bahia de Los Angeles 22980, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Norte > Ensenada Municipality > Bahia de Los Angeles
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bahia de Los Angeles
Price Range: $65 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Costa del Sol Hotel is a small but comfortable hotel located in middle of town of Bahia de los Angeles. The hotel is constructed with super insulated walls, making it nice in summer and winter. We have a nice and cozy restaurant with the best food in town, we concentrate on quality. Soon we will have a swimming pool. Best hotel in town. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Costa Del Sol Hotel Bahia De Los Angeles, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing