We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Giants' Table and Cottages
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
National Park Hotel(Mount Field National Park)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Willow Court Motel(New Norfolk)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
Junction Motel(New Norfolk)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Tarraleah Estate(Tarraleah)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Mona Pavilions(Berriedale)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (74)
Filter reviews
74 results
Traveler rating
34
22
16
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
34
22
16
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe cottageswe stayed in a two bedroommemorable stayfun feedingmt field national parkgreat spotplatypussaintsgoatsstyxhostspropertyaccommodationcabingeesecaveslinda
Filter
Updating list...
59 - 64 of 74 reviews
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Large, spacious loggers houses.
Toys and games provided to keep the kids busy.
Proper sized milk cartons and plenty of tea and coffee provided as well a some breakfast provisions.

If you can, request a house overlooking the little lake. Its wonderful to sit on the deck in the evenings and watch the animals!

It was great to

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig_tas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiantPlatypus, Owner at Giants' Table and Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Bless you. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

Our group thoroughly enjoyed our second stay at Giants Table, both trips incorporating bush walks, Mt. Wedge the first time and Lake Judd the second. Very comfortable and clean accommodation with everything in the house we needed. It was lovely to have a crackling fire burning when we arrived.
We enjoyed our meal in their restaurant although some of the girl's found the meals salty.
We spotted the platapus which was great.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kez93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

Fantastic! We stayed for one night, and enjoyed a delicious, home cooked meal on the deck at the dining room. Our accommodation was spacious, clean and well maintained. The location was gorgeous - old miners cottages with a fantastic pond in the grounds - with plenty of fish, birds and platypus! Our evening meal was superb - and Anne and the chef went out of their way to cook up a delicious meal that catered for my gluten free diet requirements. We would highly recommend a visit to Giants Table and Cottages, along with a trip along to the Gordon River Dam.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2012

Huge old well reovated logging cabins. Great for a family. Great parking. Walk to the RSL

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mattoboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

We stayed at the 2 bedroom cottage Stiniel in January 2012. We are a family of 4, one of the children being a teenager.
We found the accommodation spacious, and particularly suited to the younger child, as there was a toybox, books and outdoor play equipment. The kitchen had a portable 2 hob cooktop, a small portable oven and a microwave. Breakfast was bread, spreads, cereal and milk. This cottage was connected to another one and had no outlook from windows - some were opaque. I liked the location of the group of cottages, but if I returned would choose one of the cottages with a view of the lake. We were given plenty of information on where to go in nearby area. For our family this did not turn out to be as good value for money as most other places we stayed in Tasmania because we were charged an extra $50 pn for our teenager (currently halved I am pleased to see). This cottage would be better value for families with young children.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiantPlatypus, Owner at Giants' Table and Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to sit down and consider your stay with us, we appreciate your feedback.
We do indeed tend to aim our market at young families, groups, couples and conferences and we haven't really considered the older child. We do put in games and books for all ages, but I imagine the main point you are making is the price for teenagers. We are considering keeping the halved price on offer at the moment as a permanent fixture, which may help attract families with older children. It is the old conundrum of when is a child still a child and a teenager an adult, the work required is the same.
We will mull it over again!
Thanks for your honest opinion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews