We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWESOME”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Maydena Country Cabins
Caboolture, Australia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“AWESOME”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Wow,
This is the 2nd time we have stayed here and it has only got better.
Anthea offered us great advise about our travel up to Strathgordon and when we returned late and cold we found the cabin already heated and some garlic bread ready in the refrigerator for us to cook.
Next minute a knock on the door with Anthe coming down to our cabin in the cold to give us an Apple and Raspberry Tea Cake.
Breakfast supplies were fit for Royalty.
If you run an establishment in Tasmania then spend a night at Maydena Country Cabins and see how it should be done.
AWESOME......thanks Anthea

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank avromark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
27
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

This was definitely the best accomodation (out of 10 in total) on our Tassie Trip. If we had known how lovely it was, we'd have loved to stay another night and just enjoy the wonderful view and quiet.
The cabin was large with everything you could possibly need and sooo many delicious things for breakfast. We cooked our dinner there, too, as there are not many options around - so stock up! If the weather have been a bit warmer, we would have loved to have or meals at the great veranda. The interior was cozy and clean, lots of DVDs to chose from. If you like Tassie, DO watch "The Hunter" which they provide in the cabin - fantastic pictures of the island. The Alpaca were too cute and the dog was well behaved (not a big fan of dogs, but was ok as this one lets you alone if you don't like to cuddle). Definitely recommended!

Room Tip: We had the rose cabin and loved it. Sure the other ones are just as nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nique10115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

Had an amazing time here, can't fault this place at all!
Where to begin? Excellent location, completely in the middle of nowhere, peaceful grounds, hilarious alpacas (so much fun to feed) great hosts, fantastic accommodation, all mod cons, TV with DVD (DVDs in the cabin to watch) BBQ to have, comfy beds....I could go on forever.
Favourite by far would be the view from the cabin, second to none, incredible!
Thanks Anthea and Derek, had a great time!
My parents shall be visiting soon.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellingmookshow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mornington Peninsula, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

We stayed in the smaller of the two cabins which was perfect for 2 people. The owner, Anthea, has made the cabin very comfortable with lots of extras that one normally does not get such as chocolates on arrival and port. All the other little extras are there too so that self-catering is made easy. The cabins have a lovely view to the mountains and the alpacas. From here we visited Ida Bay railway - the most southerly railway in Australia - and Russell Falls in the Mt Field National Park. Do stock up on your food etc on the way (New Norfolk) as there is only a general store at Maydena offering the basics.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussietraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

Best place to stay in Maydena - hands down. Quiet, clean, safe (...very safe in fact since about a block from ambulance/fire & police ....but don't worry as you won't hear sirens in this very quiet town.) Anthea is also such a great host & very informative.

Re: Fishing - If you looking for a place to go fishing the small river at the bottom of the hill (Tyenna River) is one of the very best in the state for trout. Had no luck catching them ....but did see a few so I can assure you they are there. Get your gear in New Norfolk - (Winstons I believe - the owner invented the original Tassie Devil lure believe it or not!) Also saw 3 platypus (platypuses/platypodes?) in river while fishing. You can walk along river through a great agreement Tassie has with landowners. Must go & see Salmon Ponds while in area - feed the trout and they are enormous & voracious eaters! Even if you are not in to fishing my wife & I got such a thrill watching them jump and swarm to the surface to eat the pellets - it may sound corny but it's hilarious! :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra, Queensland, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

This wonderfully comfortable and welcoming place was the absolute best discovery during our trek around Tasmania. We have stayed in many different places around Australia, however this place really was the very best! Comfortable, cosy, stunning views, wonderful and helpful hosts!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
213 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2012

Would love to have stayed longer. This place was just so welcoming. From the friendly owner, to all the touches and extras in the cabin, the wonderful breakfast provisions & the cute alpacas
Absolutely loved it here. Loved the cheesecake too

Room Tip: The drive out to Strathgordon is highly recommended. The views of the mountains & Lake Pedder ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dags111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maydena
6.8 mi away
National Park Hotel
National Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mount Field National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.3 mi away
Giants' Table and Cottages
1.1 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Duffy's Country Accommodation
Duffy's Country Accommodation
#1 of 7 in New Norfolk
5.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
10.9 mi away
Sassafras Springs
Sassafras Springs
#1 of 1 in Ellendale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
19.1 mi away
Tasmanian Wilderness Experiences - Base Camp Tasmania
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maydena Country Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maydena Country Cabins

Property: Maydena Country Cabins
Address: 46 Junee Rd, Maydena, Tasmania 7140, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Maydena
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Maydena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Maydena Country Cabins 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maydena Country Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maydena Country Cabins Tasmania, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing