We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely rural setting, excellent chef - accommodation OK.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Postales Boutique Wine Hotels - Valle de Uco
Certificate of Excellence
Lichfield
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely rural setting, excellent chef - accommodation OK.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2011

We spent three days at this wine lodge in October 2011, and found it to be a convenient base for visiting vineries in the Valle de Uco and walking in the foothills of the Andes.
We were welcomed with drinks, and members of staff were friendly and helpful throughout.
Breakfast was basic, but the chef was excellent and dinners were tasty and beautifully presented. He also made a breakfast tray available to us when we had to make an early departure.
Accommodation is arranged along a veranda, which unfortunately gives the impression of a motel rather than an up-market establishment. Our room was very dark and furnishings, which included one easy chair and one desk chair, lacked coordination. The bed was very comfortable. There was no coffee table and the only mirror for hair and/or make-up was situated in the shower-room, which is something I particularly dislike. Wifi did not reach our room, but one could use the guest lounge which was very comfortable.

Room Tip: Room one, at the far end of the veranda, has no sun after mid-afternoon because of proximity of tree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank retiredteacherstwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    33
    9
    0
    6
See reviews for
22
46
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2011

Made the mistake of staying here for just a day and that too during winter when the temp dropped to 5 celsius and there wasn’t much greenery around. Despite that, it was a great place to stay. The whole property is very well taken care of and attention to detail is high. Very cosy set up, decently sized room with a spacious bathroom, great seating area outside although we couldn’t make the most of it given the cold. Indoor seating area has a tv/dvd/reading setup and makes u feel at home. No tv’s in the room so I guess these guys were serious about relaxation. The one down-side, if u can call it that, was that the wifi signal wasn’t strong enough to access the net in the room, which I guess is a good thing and ensures you focus on what you are there for..relaxation.

But here is the best part, the manager at this property (formerly worked with the Marriott) was simply too good at her job. Lucky for us, she even spoke English. Had lots of valuable advice, helped us plan everything and since we were keen on driving, she even suggested an alternative route, off the main roads and through the mountains, for our drive to Los Penintes to ski.

She guided us to the local winery too which was a great experience. The only thing that didn’t work out was the horseback riding which we didn’t book in advance coz we were told it could be done last minute given the off-season. That, unfortunately didn’t happen.

While chatting with her that evening and exchanging stories, we happened to mention how in all of the hotels we stay in, in latin America, none of them have offer a jug of water in the room. In the same conversation, we also happen to mention how the brownies the chef had made were absolutely we’ve had…ever. Guess what, by the time we got to our room after dinner..we found water and brownies by our bedside. Mind you, we didn’t ask for either of it and it just happened to be part our conversation.

However, here is the best part, the chef. I’m vegetarian and this place has a chef coming in specifically to cater to guests here and he makes pretty much whatever you want. In Argentina and in Latin America for that matter, finding vegetarian food can be challenging let alone good veggie food. This dude totally impressed us. The taste was amongst the best food I’ve had anywhere in the 14 countries I’ve visited and not just in Argentina. In fact, it was so good that the next time im around, I’ll probably visit this place just to have his food, if im not able to stay here.

I left this place with only 1 regret..not having stayed longer.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wannabrb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, CT
Level Contributor
153 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2011

I cam upon this hotel because of the high remarks I read on tripadvisor. However, this is the third owner, who was never there the 5 or 6 days we stayed there. The hotel could be really cool, if the new owners gave it a little TLC. The owners have another property closer to Mendoza city. This hotel has a beautiful back drop of vineyards and a nice little pool. Rooms are comfortable with a nice touch of a turn down service with water and cookies at night. Staff is very friendly and accomodating. Breakfast hit or miss. Some days they had some food and some days not so much food. One breakfast extremely disappointing because there was a huge group occupying the entire hotel. When my husband and I sat down for breakfast everything had been eaten and the place was a mess. Dinner-there are not too many options. Although good, the hotel is out in the middle of nowhere. If I had to do this trip all over again, I would stay here only a couple of days and then a couple of days closer to the city of Mendoza. Also, be sure to make whatever winery reservations ahead of time. It is helpful to the staff. As far as finding wineries, we kind of got lost the first day but after that, we got the hang of it. You just have to get used to their way of signage. Also, this hotel is after a highway and then a 2 lane road with lots of small moving large trucks carrying grapes and other vegetables. So leave plenty of time to drive. The hotel is about 1.5 to 2 hours away from the airport.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DandMRidgefield_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina Mountains, North Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2010

Wanted to stay somewhere off of the beaten path for a couple of nights and am so glad we did. Flowering vineyards were 30 feet from our door, and the snow capped Andes beautifully visible from our window. The staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. Dinners came with the room, and the new chef (started in Fall 2010) was fabulous, accomodating our vegetarian tastes with imagination and enthusiasm and serving us by candlelight under the stars. We splurged on massages: they were given to use in the middle of the vineyard at sunset ... one of those rare experiences that makes ones top ten ever. In fairness -- the rooms are simple, the location remote, the continental breakfast fairly plain ... but if one wants to just relax in a simple place with almost fairy tale beauty, I could not recommend anywhere more highly.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cinnabar01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2010

New owners took over three months ago, so the previous reviews won't be helpful. My Husband and I stayed here for one night when we explored the Valle de Uco wineries and it was a perfect place to getaway from it all.

We were greeted by Raymond, the new owner who offered us a glass of wine and gave us a tour of the property and vineyard which has gorgeous views of the Andes. The place is extremely peaceful and has numerous sitting areas to enjoy a glass (or bottle!) of wine and just soak up the beautiful landscape or relax.

Breakfast and dinner were included with the room and it was delicious! The place is spotless and all the staff who worked at the hotel were incredibly friendly and helpful. Before we even arrived, Claudia helped book us a driver, a horseback ride, reservations at wineries and lunches. My only regret is that I wish we had stayed another night instead of going to Mendoza.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HSGKKG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
166 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2010

This place is great. It is off the beaten path in the up and coming Uco Valley. The property is quaint, authentic and peaceful. I felt like I was staying on an old Argentine Estancia - gorgeous wood and tile details, with a magnificent view of the Andes foothills and the vineyard. The service is impeccable, extremely personable and accommodating. Dinner and breakfast in the main room is delicious and relaxing near the roaring fire in the fireplace. I would love to return and would highly recommend this for anyone touring the Mendoza region. There is even a very sweet dog, Noel, that lives on the property.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelSneak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayern
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2010

My husband and I spent a couple of days at Valle de Uco lodge. We definitely found peace and quiet. Vineyard, pool and room also fulfilled our expectations, but the food... For USD 200/night we were totally disappointed. Even the cheapest restaurant in town would have performed better than this lodge. I have never eaten worse pasta or chewier beef than there. The breakfast buffet was o.k., but also not high standard. Really a pity!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schnucki73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tunuyan
9.1 mi away
Casa de Uco Vineyards & Wine Resort
2.3 mi away
Fuente Mayor Hotel & Resort
16.6 mi away
Auberge Du Vin, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Posada Salentein
Posada Salentein
#3 of 5 in Tunuyan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Vines Resort & Spa
The Vines Resort & Spa
#1 of 5 in Tunuyan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
6.5 mi away
Cabanas Tierra de Sol
Cabanas Tierra de Sol
#11 of 15 in Tunuyan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Postales Boutique Wine Hotels - Valle de Uco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Postales Boutique Wine Hotels - Valle de Uco

Property: Postales Boutique Wine Hotels - Valle de Uco
Address: Tabanera s/n | Colonias Las Rosas, Tunuyan 5505, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Cuyo > Province of Mendoza > Tunuyan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Tunuyan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Postales Boutique Wine Hotels - Valle de Uco 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our premises in Valle de Uco has an exclusive 38 acres wine area to enjoy, relax and explore. You are invited to walk through our Malbec vineyard, patios and green garden, surrounded by ancient trees that involve the swimming pool with BBQ area and our nine spacious rooms, with a remarkable view to the Cordon del Plata (Andes Mountains). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Postales Boutique Wine Hotels - Valle de Uco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Postales Boutique Wine Hotels - Valle De Uco Hotel Tunuyan
Postales Boutique Wine Hotels - Valle De Uco Province Of Mendoza, Argentina - Tunuyan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing