We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth every penny”
Review of Alpasion Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alpasion Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
George Town, Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Worth every penny”
Reviewed May 11, 2014

To sum it up: great service, great staff, comfortable surroundings, breathtaking scenery, fantastic food. We will be back.

I have visited Argentina/Mendoza three times and stayed in Valle de Uco two times, and I feel like we hit the jackpot with Alpasion! From the first moment, we were greeted by Ursula. Federico took great care of us before we arrived (making reservations) and while we were there. There was not a moment that we didn't feel welcomed and comfortable in this beautiful lodge.

The design of the building was done with an eye to blend in with the surrounding landscape. It fit incredibly well with the striking scenery of the Andes mountains and vineyards. Our room (Agua) was so nice...last room in the building. It had a sunken bathtub/shower that had a window to the outside, so you could shower while still enjoying the scenery. My favorite part of the room for sure! The bed was unbelievably comfortable, too.

And the food, prepared by the chef, was as good as any high quality restaurant. Apparently, the chef used to be the chef at the Park Hyatt in Mendoza City, so it really isn't a surprise that the food was so good. I don't know if I liked the risotto or the chicken with provolone & balsamic was my favorite...

All that is great, but what really made the stay that much more impressive/nice was the attention to certain details that were evident throughout our stay. First, the floors were heated (yes, there were HEATED FLOORS!)-which is good when you are walking on concrete floors in the fall. But they could have taken an easy route and had throw rugs everywhere. I loved the heated floors!

Next, our room (and the lobby, and maybe the other rooms...I am not sure as I didn't go into any other room) had a 110 volt outlet. So while we had 1 converter with us, this allows us to charge two things at once.

And the other thing that was incredibly helpful was that they had a GPS we could use during our travels around Valle de Uco. This was exceptionally helpful as our rental car company had none available for us when we picked up our car. As roads are not well marked, this was a bit of a life saver...or at least saved Federico from having to receive phone calls from us saying we were lost...again.

In all, I can't say enough about how you should stay here on your next visit to Valle de Uco. They have a great set up and a team that genuinely takes pride in providing their guests with the best possible experience. Many thanks to Federico and Alpasion for our fantastic stay. We will be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bermudababe76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
59
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Al Pasión is so incredible that we had to return a second time. We first went in October, and recently returned in April with friends. We originally chose to stay in Valle de Uco because of the breathtaking scenery, but I can honestly say that the Lodge and the people made our trips amazing.

Lodge: The lodge is spectacular. Since there are only 5 rooms, you have an amazingly boutique feel with the utmost privacy. From the hammocks on the patio to the enormous rooftop, no details were spared. The lodge and the pool (with hot tub) sit at the base of the Andes mountains, giving you a view like no other. The king sized beds are extremely confortable, allowing for the best night sleep of your life. This place even goes above and beyond with the bath products as well. The earth toned accents and unique features around every corner truly make for a homey feel. We stayed in 'Water' both times. The bathroom is incredible!

Food: Not only is the food outstanding, but the people who prepare it daily and nightly are extremely talented as well. The cook, along with Federico the Manager, have service down to an art. You are given various choices of what you'd like to eat for breakfast and dinner each night, paired with the tastiest wines of the region. Each morning, an array of choices await you at the breakfast bar including pastries, cheeses, meats, cereals, fruit salad, and eggs cooked any kind of way you'd like. We were out at wineries all day and regret never having the chance to try lunch, but I can assure you it's just as delicious. As for dinner, you'll need to decide on chicken, trout, asado, or pork for the evening. I highly recommend the chicken - you won't regret it. Have dessert on the rooftop overlooking the stars accompanied by a fire with a glass of Malbec...am I selling it yet?

Manager: Federico is exceptional. He is extremely nice, and very informative. He has worked in the hospitality business for a long time, and it definitely shows. Without a doubt he made our stay at Al Pasión special. After staying at Al Pasión twice, I definitely consider Federico a friend, and we can't wait to go back.

Both our stays at Al Pasión were perfect. We cannot wait to go back for a third time.

Here is a go pro time lapse of the sunrise: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8iun45Fxscc&feature=youtu.be

Room Tip: Water is the best room. It has an amazing bathtub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WWP9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

Our stay at Alpasion was outstanding. Fede (the manager) and Jorge went above and beyond to make sure we had everything we needed and felt at home. The accommodations are top notch -- modern, spacious, and clean. The food was incredible as well (some of my favorite meals in Argentina). The views surrounding the hotel are of the beautiful snow-capped Andes mountains.

If you are visiting Mendoza/the Uco Valley, this is undoubtedly the best place to stay. Our friends who referred Alpasion to us have already gone back for a second visit and we will surely do the same in the future.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank aek45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Federico Y, General Manager at Alpasion Lodge, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear dough & kacey, thank you very much for your visit and for your time to write these review.
Hope to see you soon with some friends, and remember, Alpasion is your home away from home.

Best Regards

Federico and Alpasion Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston
Level Contributor
112 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Outstanding once again. Fede and his staff do an excellent job to make everyone feel comfortable. You couldn't wish for a more comfortable and pampered experience. The roof top vista is second to none in the valley.

Room Tip: All 5 rooms are comfortable and well appointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NC11A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Federico Y, Manager at Alpasion Lodge, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Nigle, thank you very much for taking the time to write these beautiful review, and thank you again for choosing Alpasion Lodge again.

Hope to see you and the rest of the group in a couple of months again.

Federico and Alpasion Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

We recently spent four nights at this fabulous luxury lodge! The bedrooms were very well appointed with amazing views of the Andes. All the public areas were beautifully furnished. The staff, namely Federico, Jorge and Alicia ensured our stay was seem less. We arrived very late in the evening and a fabulous 3 course meal was freshly prepared for us. Likewise when we departed at 0600, again they were all up to see us off and again breakfast was prepared. We enjoyed having our desserts in the evening served on the roof with the fire pit roaring whilst we watched the stars. An incredible little hotel, we loved it.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ejwoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Federico Y, Manager at Alpasion Lodge, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Emma, thank you very much for your nice words, it a pleasure for us at Alpasion to recieve such a nice guest like you.

Hope to see you soon.

Kind Regards

Federico and the rest of Alpasion Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia, pa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Alpasion is one of those rare and special places that you hope to find but rarely do. The rooms are large and comfortable with incredible views of the Andes. Its a treat to sit on your private porch and drink some of the great wines of the Uco Valley. Or to lay in your private hammock and daydream.
Sorry to spoil the surprise, but they serve dessert up on the roof under the stars and with a fire. That was just spectacular. We could see the entire Milky Way...Wow!The best part tho, is Frederico, the manager. He is warm and friendly and helpful and charming. And he plays great music!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank w0rldtravel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
324 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Our stay at Alpasion Lodge was a highlight of our 8 week trip in South America. It feels more like you are staying in a friend's wonderful home than in a hotel. There are 5 rooms, each with simple but lovely furnishings, huge bathroom and great views. The inside common space includes a den/library, a more formal living room, and the dining room. Outdoor common space includes patio area behind the indoor common space and behind the kitchen, plus the entire rooftop. Views of sunset and of sunrise over the Andes are like none elsewhere. Federico (Fred), the manager, treated us like royalty, as I imagine he treats each and every guest. He also helped plan our winery visits as we (foolishly) had not reserved in advance. The chef, Alicia, prepares incredible meals and pastries for breakfast and dinner. The 3rd staff member Jorge, is always quietly there to help in any way necessary. We choose to have dinner here both nights of our stay to enjoy the atmosphere, the excellent food, and of course, the Alpasion wine. I highly recommend you treat yourself to a stay at this lodge while visiting the Uco Valley.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank booptraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tunuyan
0.6 mi away
Casa de Uco Vineyards & Wine Resort
15.6 mi away
Auberge Du Vin, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel
9.1 mi away
Posada Salentein
Posada Salentein
#3 of 5 in Tunuyan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Vines Resort & Spa
The Vines Resort & Spa
#1 of 5 in Tunuyan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
8.1 mi away
Fuente Mayor Hotel & Resort
9.1 mi away
Postales Boutique Wine Hotels - Valle de Uco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpasion Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpasion Lodge

Property: Alpasion Lodge
Address: Ruta Proviancial 94 s/n, Tunuyan M5560, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Cuyo > Province of Mendoza > Tunuyan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Tunuyan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alpasion Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alpasion Lodge is an ideal place for unforgettable experiences...The lodge is located in Uco Valley, Mendoza, Argentina, just an hour and a half away from the city of Mendoza.Our facilities include a Wine Cellar, to taste an excellent variety of wines from the region, a large dining room, cozy living room to unwind and a library with a fireplace where you can enjoy reading our collection of books. Outside there is an infinity pool with a jacuzzi and a relaxing private garden patio surrounded by olive trees. Our roof terrace, with outside fireplace, is an ideal place for an afternoon drink, offering you a beautiful view of the impressive Andes Mountains. Our cuisine has a distinctive Argentinian style with a gourmet touch, making our meals unique. Alpasión lodge is your home away from home.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alpasion Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpasion Lodge Province Of Mendoza, Argentina - Tunuyan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing