We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place with amazing service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel La Capellania
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in San Asensio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights during our trip to Rioja's Wine Festival and visiting many wineries (one of my wife's favorite La Rioja Alta ), and enjoying visiting small cities around. I need to thank Mercedes and Carla for every advise for restaurants, places, and cities to visit. They knew exactly what we were looking for, and help us with every detail. This Hotel is beautifull and fully restored house from 1789, with every modern comfort inside. Clean, quiet, relaxing, welcoming. I think is a litlle heaven...and if you looking to visit Rioja, stay at this place, you won't regret...

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VladimirNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capellania H, Propietario at Hotel La Capellania, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Hello from La Rioja!
We are really happy to know that you enjoy visiting wineries, small towns, tasting food and wines, the landscape, and, as well, the Hotel La Capellania. We do our best to get that our clients enjoy the hotel and as well, the área.
Thanks a lot for encouraging people to visit us. Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (201)
There are newer reviews for Hotel La Capellania
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 201 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2013

It would be difficult to find a more charming place to stay in the heart of the Rioja wine country. A wonderful atmosphere in a building dating from the 1700's, beautifully decorated and filled with lovely furniture. Large tasteful rooms, modern bathrooms, exposed stone work and beams throughout.The very welcoming hostess could not have been more helpful including aiding with language, highlighting local sites and even suggesting and booking restaurants! I First class all round and ticks all the boxes!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Judith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capellania H, Propietario at Hotel La Capellania, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Hello!
Thanks very much for your time, explaining about your stay at our hotel. Ve are very happy to know that our help and our suggestions made your trip in La Rioja succesfull.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed here in august 2012 and, although it has been over a year since we stayed here (life gets hectic sometimes), I still feel like I need to write a review. This bed and breakfast was one of the most memorable parts of our trip. The owners are so helpful and kind. The building is beautiful. It was an overall amazing experience to visit such a quaint town and be welcomed by such an amazing host. If you are looking to get off the beaten path and see some non-touristy culture, this is a great place. The wineries are just a bus ride away, and the owners of the hotel were extremely helpful in helping us plan our tours of the wineries. AMAZING AMAZING AMAZING! Highly recommended. I hope we have an opportunity to return here someday.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daija P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capellania H, Propietario at Hotel La Capellania, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Hello from La Rioja!
It is really very kind that, even one year later, you write on such nice words. We feel very happy to know that for you, your stay at La Capellania hotel has been unforgetable. We do hope to see you once again in the future. Thanks a lot and best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

After spending a night at La Capellania as part of our honeymoon I can only describe the experience as truly amazing. The first thing you'll notice on arrival is the building itself. But it's through the beautiful front door where the experience really starts. Mercedes and Carla will firstly help you remove your jaw from the floor back to its correct position before showing you around the stunningly refurbished house. Each room is finished to the highest standard whilst in keeping with the natural and historical charm of the old building. Mercedes and Carla happily arranged a fantastic trip for us to the Marques de Riscal winery along with lunch and dinner in the quiet little town of San Asensio. This is possibly one of the very best hotel experiences I've ever had, and it's all down to the way it is run. Carla and Mercedes make you feel welcome and are more than helpful without being invasive. This is How a hotel should be run. BRILLIANT.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capellania H, Propietario at Hotel La Capellania, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Thanks a lot for your writing! We are are really happy to know that you have enjoy a lot your stay in La Rioja, and that you feel at home at our hotel. Anyway, clients like you make our job very easy. Thank you very much and we hope to see you again in the future. There is so much to enjoy!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We spent 3 fantastic nights at La Capellania during the San Mateo festival weekend (Mid Sept). The town is not a touristy place and that added to the experience of visiting this region. Carla and Mercedes could not have helped us more with planning our stay and nothing was too much trouble for them. The rooms are immaculate, quiet and peaceful and the breakfast is a delight. We did lots of vineyard tours (one on horseback) and packed a massive amount into 3 nights thanks to our hosts help.
There are other wonderful towns/ villages in the area but I cannot imagine you will find a better hotel to experience this region.

Room Tip: Our room was great but I imagine they all area
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pwhelan73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capellania H, Propietario at Hotel La Capellania, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

Hello again from La Rioja, and thanks a lot for your kind words. It has been a pleasure to have you with us at the hotel and it is great to know that our suggestions for the visits and the restaurants help to make your stay a successfull.
Clients like you make our job very easy.
Best regards and thank you again for your kindness

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

A charming and exclusive small hotel with 8 rooms for a charming experience at low prices. The hotel is in an ancient house that has been refurbished and decorated with great taste. The staff is professional, really friendly and tries to help before one asks without being invasive.
San Asensio is very well located to tour around the beautiful region of la Rioja
Iñaki G.

Room Tip: Every room is excellent.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guijarro I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capellania H, Propietario at Hotel La Capellania, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013
Google Translation

Hola Iñaqui:
Muchas gracias por el comentario. Esto nos ayuda mucho. Fue un placer tenerles en el hotel durante esos días, son todos encantadores. Como le dijimos a Augusto, esperamos volver a coincidir en otra ocasión. Un abrazo para todos.
Clara y Mercedes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in Rioja Alta and it was a great first exposure to this massive wine region. With over 800 Bodegas in the region, one could spend a lifetime exploring.
The hotel was excellent for our stay and the owners, Carla and Mercedes could not have been more accommodating. The hotel has been restored very nicely and the room was spotless and very comfortable. Very hard working and gracious hosts.
They helped us with reservations for wineries and showed us on the map which towns and historic sights were good to explore.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Dave F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capellania H, Propietario at Hotel La Capellania, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2014

Hello Dave:
Thank you very much for your opinion. It was a really pleasure to meet you.
Thank you again an good luck.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Asensio
15.6 mi away
Hotel Calle Mayor
Hotel Calle Mayor
#1 of 16 in Logrono
529 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel El Mirador de la Chana
Hotel El Mirador de la Chana
#1 of 2 in San Asensio
118 reviews
7.5 mi away
Hotel Los Agustinos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Parador de Santo Domingo de la Calzada
Parador de Santo Domingo de la C...
#1 of 4 in Santo Domingo de la Calzada
640 reviews
5.8 mi away
Real Casona de las Amas
5.5 mi away
Hotel Villa de Abalos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Capellania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Capellania

Address: Calle Cruz 14 | La Rioja, 26340 San Asensio, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > La Rioja > San Asensio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in San Asensio
Price Range: $96 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Capellania 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 3 stars charming hotel in the heart of the "Rioja Alta" region. The building is a stone house of the XVIII century which has been completely renovated in 2007. The hotel is specialized in wine activiries. Situated in a closed distance from The Santiago's Way, the Monasteries of San Millan de la Cogolla, the "Rioja Alavesa" region, and near all points of interest in La Rioja. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Hotel La Capellania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing