We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
$62
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/15/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
FindHotel
$17
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/16/22
Booking.com$28
Priceline$40
Travelocity$62
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (409)
Filter reviews
410 results
Traveler rating
51
171
122
36
30
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
51
171
122
36
30
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
217 - 222 of 410 reviews
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Our stay was summed up when we learned that the ubiquitous complimentary sachets of Nescafe actually cost 50 baht. Add that to 300 baht for 24 hours Wifi use, ant infestation in my room and carpets that had been stained by a dozen years hard labour and you can see how this 'cheap' stay is hard on your wallet. Have lived and travelled in Southeast Asia for ten years and honestly this is the worst hotel (except flee pits in the middle of nowhere) I've stayed in. Absolutely disgusted by it.

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BibbyPhnomPenh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Starhotel_CM, Manager at Star Hotel Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2012

Thank you for your remarks. We take all comments seriously, especially negative ones, as it helps us to get better. We sincerely regret that we did not meet your expectation. Our policy is in line with similar properties in a 3-star range. We offer what we can, however, in your case it appears that we failed to meet your expectations and for that I am truly sorry. As you know, we are renovating the hotel and the renovation will be completed by November 2012. After renovation, I would like to re-invite you to stay with us in a newly renovated room , please feel free to contact us directly at www.starhotelchiangmai.com. Please accept my apology and really looking forward to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

We only stayed one night in Chiang Mai, but we really enjoyed our stay at this place. The room was large, clean, and comfortable, and a great value. The hotel is close to the night market and the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. I would stay here again.

Date of stay: April 2012
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
3  Thank NanPan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

Nice rooms, clean and confortable. Bathroom ok, also clean.
Don´t have safe in the room.
Good location near enough the market but without the noise of it.

Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ilandere
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

If you pay rack rate for this hotel it is over priced at 2000 baht however they seem to have good promotions on their website and also other hotel booking sites have good prices.

The hotel rooms are clean and comfortable in a kind of normal hotel room way. There is nothing spectacular but you are not paying spectacular prices.

The hotel is in a great location for the night bazaar (2 min walk), which tourists seem to love, it's close to the river (5 or so min walk), and about an 8 minute walk up to the moat area. There are loads of restaurants and laundries and everything nearby so it really is a convenient place to stay. If you don't want to use taxi's you don't need to. If you do then they are close by.

Breakfast is a buffet breakfast and not super fantastic but it has cereals, toasts and croissants and your standard egg and sausage plus a selection of asian dishes, which are actually quite good.

Knowledge of local prices for taxi's by those at the front desk would be helpful instead of just saying I don't know and trying to edge people towards the in house tour company but that is probably the only disappointment I found.

Room tip: I chose a deluxe room and it had a nice big window looking out to the mountains around Chiang Mai with a (very) comfortable sofa to sit on and relax. I looked into a superior room and whilst it looked nice the view from a deluxe was better
Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BTTPres
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews