We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book now! This hotel is likely to sell out soon.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
ZenHotels.com
$175
View deal
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Official Hotel
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,826)
Filter reviews
1,826 results
Traveler rating
1,666
110
34
10
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,666
110
34
10
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rock bar beach villa special thanks fish pool party our honeymoon special mention sunset bar main restaurant grill restaurant lemon sharks kids club turtle bay a la carte restaurants chef rana main pool main island
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,438 - 1,443 of 1,826 reviews
Reviewed October 3, 2018

We would like to say a huge thank you to everybody on Sangeli for our recent holiday of a lifetime. Everything about the resort was perfect. The transfer from the airport was easy and efficient. Upon our arrival, we were immediately shown to our room after a quick guide around the island.

The food was outstanding at the buffet and at the a la carte restaurants. As mentioned in many reviews, Carlton and his team are wonderful. He organised a meal on the beach for us and it was so romantic. We found that there was a wide variety of choice and we thoroughly enjoyed every meal.

The drinks selection was equally good. The cocktails and mocktails were exceptional as were the wines. The rock bar which only opens at sunset is a lovely way to start the evening by watching the sun drop quickly below the horizon whilst spotting sharks and sipping prosecco.

The water villa itself was very spacious and as we didn't have a pool we had a view away from the lagoon which would be my preference and the best for snorkelling. We found the access from the water villa to be as easy as climbing in and out of a swimming pool. We saw sharks, eagle rays, sting rays, an octopus, moray eels, puffer fish and turtles all on the house reef as well as an enormous variety of fish. The colours on the corals were beautiful, especially the regrowth.

The staff at the dive centre were always helpful and friendly. We went on the Turtle Bay trip which was excellent. I am not confident in open water but the staff helped me and put me at ease. A special thank you to Iris.

The main island has a lot of lush vegetation and we saw geckos, lizards and bats. We didn't see any insects and didn't get bitten at all. It is possible to walk all around the island on the beautiful beaches whilst the crabs scuttle ahead of your bare feet (there really is no need for shoes except on the jetty at midday). Our room was spotlessly clean on arrival and cleaned twice a day thereafter. All of the public areas were also immaculate.

The easiest way to truly express how much we loved our stay is to say we are already planning our return trip hopefully in February.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Boomer-mum42
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBLUSangeli, General Manager at OBLU SELECT Sangeli, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2018

Dear nalas-mum42,

Warmest greetings from OBLU Select at Sangeli, Maldives!
Thank you so much for having taken the time to share your feedback of your recent stay with us to all our TripAdvisor readers.

We are truly grateful to know that you had a perfect and magical experience enjoying the comfort of your villa, our culinary and beverage offerings, the great service provided by the entire staff and how you enjoyed the underwater world of the house reef. Also, as you have mentioned the lush vegetation and the wildlife abundance in the island that truly added to the magical experience beyond.

I will personally ensure that your appreciation for our food & beverage and dive centre team will be shared to them and the whole team to keep us more inspired and motivated.

It was wonderful to have you with us and as early as now we are all looking forward to welcoming you back in February 2019 to create more OBLU Select Sangeli magical memories!
Warm regards,

Jorge Amaro
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2018

Where does one start we have been to the Maldives on 7 occasions this one is by far the best holiday island you could wish for. We were met at the airport by the rep then past us to another person who looked after us and our luggage. We had around 15 minutes wait for the boat then off to paradise. We were met by the staff and nimesh who was our butler. We had a water villa with pool would recommend this to anyone then we went for dinner and met some absolutely wonderful staff then we met Carlton the food and beverage manager who was a star full of energy joking every time we saw him he should be proud of what he has accomplished with his staff. I have to mention all the bar staff they were brilliant our room boy kept our room spotless. We had dinner on the beach provided by Carlton this was a great experience thank you.

Room tip: Water villa with pool is the best option.
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank redhondaj16den
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBLUSangeli, General Manager at OBLU SELECT Sangeli, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2018

Dear redhondaj16den,

Greetings from the sunnier side of North Male Atoll; OBLU Select, Maldives!
We appreciate the wonderful review very much that you have shared to our TripAdvisor followers of your recent stay with us. On behalf of the entire team of OBLU Select, a very huge thank you!

We are so happy to know that your entire resort and guest experience while you were here has been a wonderful one. And to be recognized as the best island holiday of the guests who have been in the Maldives 7 times is truly an honor!
I’ll make sure to share your wonderful feedback to the rest of the team, I’m pretty sure they’ll be all please and will motivate us more to maintain the quality of service we are providing our discerning guests.

We are looking forward to welcome you again sometime soon. Thank you once again for your wonderful feedback.
Kind regards,

Jorge Amaro
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2018

Only with a boat trip for 45 minutes from Velana Airport. Welcomed by the Oblu team cheerfully. I placed it in the water villa room. where there is glass on the floor so you can see the bottom of the beach. Dinner at THE CORTYARD with a complete buffet selection with great taste.

Date of stay: July 2018
5  Thank YudhoP12
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBLUSangeli, General Manager at OBLU SELECT Sangeli, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2018

Dear YudhoP12,

Warm greetings from the beautiful island of Sangeli, Maldives!
Thank you for sharing your beautiful experience of your recent stay at OBLU Select.

We appreciate your kind words and we are delighted to know that you have enjoyed the comfort of your water villa and the amazing selection of our culinary offerings.
I will be sure to pass on your lovely feedback to all the team members who went above and beyond to create memorable experiences for you.

We hope to welcome you back sometime soon.
Warm regards,

Jorge Amaro
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2018

This resort is amazing. We had booked for our honeymoon. Upon arrival we were met by the very helpful Ashraf who was our Butler whilst we were stopping there. He had already planned out a itinierary for the 6 days which was brilliant as it saved us doing it, and he also brought fresh fruit and made nice little gestures throughout our stay.

They honeymoon villa we had was amazing, overlooked the sea, had its own pool, amazing bedrooms and a stunning bathroom, the room was out of this world.

The three restaurants were awesome. The sand bar was a buffet meal type, with Just Grill and Simply Veg having set courses for people to choose from. The food and beverages manager Carlton was very helpful and all the staff were very helpful and friendly by sometimes going out of their was to accommodate things. Nishan at the Just Grill bar was awesome, he was very chatty, interested in what we had been doing over the day, and really informative when it came to drinks and food choices.

The excursions we did were great, full moon cruise, and the best by far was the trip to turtle bay Island. The tour guide there was awesome and went out of his was to let me take my life jack off during the trip (reluctantly as I am a strong swimmer) to enable us to catch a stunning photo.

Would definitely recommend to anyone when planning on a honeymoon on this resort. a massive 10/10 from us.

Room tip: Honeymoon Water Villas
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
9  Thank Ian U
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBLUSangeli, General Manager at OBLU SELECT Sangeli, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2018

Dear Ian U,

Warm greetings from OBLU Select at Sangeli!

Allow us to extend our heartfelt thank you for the beautiful kind review that you wrote for us here at TripAdvisor.
We are delighted to read that our services and facilities met your expectations, thus summing up for an amazing holiday that you had with us.

Thank you for appreciating the food offerings in our a la carte restaurants. It gives us great pride in the team and each of them is a credit to the exceptional service we are providing our discerning guests.

I will surely pass on your compliments personally to all the team members especially to those you have taken time to mention, I am very sure they will be pleased to know.

Thank you for your full recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back sometime soon.
Kind regards,

Jorge Amaro
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2018

Paradise! Just one word to describe our holiday :)

The staff were incredibly friendly and took care of our needs like no other - Special thanks to Carlton (for being the most amazing chef), Sri (planning our stay), Faroukh (for taking us around, doing all our bookings, planning our itinerary), Priya (who was willing and happy to pair our dishes with wine), The Guy at the Bar (who wanted me to have Vodka but I refused)...They were all so amazing...

Unforgettable because: This was our pre-10th Wedding Anniversary trip and we planned a few things leading up to the 10th. They just helped and assisted us in every possible way to make things happen.

The beach is clean and lovely. The snorkelling experience was unforgettable.
We stayed at both beach and water villas (both with pvt pools). The rooms are spacious, clean and have a mini bar that gets refilled everyday. We dived and the lagoon was just okay. Diving at the snorkelling side of the cliff would be a better experience. And do you believe it - we saw sting ray and eagle ray while walking out of our water villa....

The food choices were great. What stood out was a dedicated vegetarian restaurant (very few resorts globally offer this). The food was really delicious.

The Rock Bar is personally my favourite. The sunset view is mindblowing. We got to see Black Tip Reef Shark, Octopus, Parrot fish and many varities of marine life from the view point.

Overall - fantastic blue water, unforgettable memory and definitely a paradise on earth. I will surely revisit this place...

Room tip: choose both beach and water villas - great choice!
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Amrita7
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBLUSangeli, General Manager at OBLU SELECT Sangeli, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2018

Dear Amrita7,

Greetings from OBLU Select at Sangeli!
We are delighted to know that you had an amazing anniversary celebration with us.

Thank you so much for your kind words you have wrote for us. It is heartwarming to read that you enjoyed every aspect of our resort especially our food offerings, the comfort of the accommodation and the service of our staff.

I will surely pass on your compliments to all the team members most specifically to those you have mentioned.
I am sure they will be happy to hear your appreciation.

We hope to welcome you back sometime soon.
Warm regards,

Jorge Amaro
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews